We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish n Chips on the beach”
Review of Flora Tearooms

Flora Tearooms
Ranked #2 of 2 Quick Bites in Dunwich
Price range: US$31 - US$31
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed September 22, 2017

Fish and Chips are superb. The place is always busy with coach parties calling in as well - a true sign of great food at reasonable prices. Tables are available in side or al fresco in the area facing the huge car park or you can take your plate down to the beach

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank PaulCIPswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 291 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2017

Having just walked out of an unfriendly dog café a little up the road (see my other review), it was a nice and pleasant welcome at Flora Tearoom. The weather was up and down with sun, but then heavy showers, and I mean heavy! We walked up to the front and my wife took a seat with our dog, while I went inside to see if we could bring the dog in. The owner (I think), said, "if I was your dog, I would bite you now for leaving me outside"!!! "Of course the dog can come in" We dually sat down and had a look at the menu, wasn't quite sure what to have as we are eating tonight, we had a look at the sausage roll (looked homemade) and the scone looked very scrummy, but then my wife spotted fish fingers and a roll further down the menu and asked if we could have a fish finger roll, of course was the answer! Now, I'm not sure if they are homemade, but they are longer than your normal fish finger and tasted just fab, so well done on customer service and your food!
Thanks you.
Chris and Donna

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Gunnerchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2017 via mobile

We hadn't been here for at least 15 years so decided to take a trip and see if the fish and chips were still as good as before. We weren't disappointed.......in fact I would say they were even better than previous. The chips
were to die for, all golden and extremely crisp and fluffy and the fish was absolutely delicious. Much better than the Aldeburgh fish and chip shop......sorry Aldeburgh. It was a bit on the expensive side £25 for 2 x cod and chips and a pot of tea for tea but there was plenty of it so worth the money. The building itself is nothing to write home about but its warm, dry and comfortable with great staff. I would definately recommend this place even though it is a little on the dear side but well worth it. Both my husband and I would rate it 20 out of 10....and some

Date of visit: September 2017
1  Thank jennyclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2017 via mobile

78 of us from the Sawston U3A had the most delightful fish and chip lunch at the Tearooms.
We were all served within 30 minutes with freshly cooked food.

The meal was perfectly cooked...very fresh fish, served very hot straight from the fryer, huge portions sizes, delicate light batter, big portion of chips with more offered as we ate.
The staff were obviously kept very busy but all freely smiled and chatted clearly enjoying being so busy.

Our group all praised their amazing ability not only to cope with such a huge influx of guests but to serve such freshly cooked delightful food at very reasonable prices.

Ignore the moaners...this is excellent tearoom is first class value and it's on the beach.

Yes, life a beach!

Date of visit: September 2017
1  Thank Gerald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile

It has become a tradition for me to have Fish and Chips as a birthday treat.Full marks here at Dunwich! Top notch, tasty, proper haddock (not just "Fish"), crispy batter, efficient service, couldn't be better!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank singletraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flora Tearooms also viewed

 
Southwold, Suffolk
 

Been to Flora Tearooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing