We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Up there with the best.....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sutherland House

Sutherland House
Ranked #2 of 47 Restaurants in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sutherland House is not just Southwolds only seafood restaurant, it is also a neighbourhood restaurant which serves local food for local people.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Up there with the best.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

As regular customers we would unreservedly recommend this restaurant. The cooking is of the very highest standard, consistent and always beautifully presented. There is a warm welcome on arrival and the restaurant is spacious and very comfortable. Very cosy in winter with big log fires. Andy, the Manager, goes out of his way to make the evening a memorable occasion, without being over-attentive - a fine balance and his head waiter is equally delightful.

Must book as it has become known as one of the best for miles around.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    912
    180
    51
    17
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and a 50th birthday to remember!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Many thanks to Andy and his team for enabling us to have a great celebration for my husband’s 50th – the food was lovely and we appreciated your attention, flexibility and good service – we had a great evening.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cathymk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Had lunch at Sutherland House last Friday and was thoroughly impressed. The fish chowder and pan roasted sea bass were utterly delicious. The manager and waiter were very welcoming and served us well. My Partner went for the steak which just melted in the mouth. We will return when we can.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkChilledout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccles, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Solid cooking, well worth a look”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We went here for Sunday lunch last weekend, having walked past it hundreds of times but never gone in.

Well, we'll be going in again!

We were early for lunch, which was useful as almost all the tables were booked. A pretty good menu, with much of it devoted to fish as per the billing on the chalkboard outside of the "only fish restaurant" in town, although the starters were rather meh looking. Two courses for £15 was pretty fair though, with plaice on the bone fine and the pork looking very nice indeed. The kids menu is good as well - and unadvertised outside.

Desserts were excellent - real quality after solid main courses. Entirely reasonable service as well and overall much better than the normal Sunday lunch stuff you get in places. Well worth a go.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueSquareThing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A beautiful location...restaurant....service...and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We ate at the Sutherland Hotel with friends on Groupon vouchers. The service was warm and welcoming....the surroundings old worldy.....the food and service were exceptional. My Thai fish cakes....sea bass and butterscotch cheesecake were to die for. We will definately return and would highly recommend it to anyone.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carolesea56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sutherland House also viewed

 
Southwold, Suffolk
 

Been to Sutherland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing