We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sail Lofts(Southwold)(Great Value!)
US$242
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Swan(Southwold)
US$286
US$278
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Crown(Southwold)
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Randolph Hotel(Southwold)(Great Value!)
US$154
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blyth Hotel(Southwold)(Great Value!)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Heathside Lodges(Wenhaston)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
41
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh milklittle extraskippersbiscuitsgarden roomplace to stayjuliewalberswickhostsflask
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 44 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2016

Julie made us welcome. The B&B, a short walk from the town centre, is very conveniently situated to explore Southwold. From our room we could see the sea and it was a pleasant walk to the ferry at Walberswick. At night when the sky was clear the stars were brilliant.
The kippers served for breakfast were really terrific!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the sea.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 23, 2016

I spent four nights at Wellesley House in "Seaview Room". First class comfort in the room and excellent breakfasts and chats with Julie. Southwold is a beautiful haven by the sea. Wellesley House's location is superb, with great views, but only a very short walk from the centre. Lots of good quality restaurants and shops. A grand base for enjoyable walks, short in length or more stretching walks, if desired. I'm looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenGJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2016

We stayed last year and decided to again this year, Southwold itself is a beautiful relaxing seaside town with super pubs and restaurants.
Julie and Bruce are very warm and friendly and know all there is to know about the area. The room was bright, airy, well decorated and clean, same nice touches, the fruit bowl and plenty of shortbread biscuits. The breakfasts are delicious, good choice and freshly cooked, the kippers are yummy. All in all a very good stay and we will not hesitate to return. (PS - ask Julie how the house building project is progressing!)

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holtimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jb1207, Owner at Wellesley House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2016

Thanks for the review I will let you know when we put in the foundations for the house

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2016

We have just spent two nights at the Wellesley House and had a fab time in Southwold.
The room was lovely and just as seen on the website. Julie soon made us feel at home, as did Bruce. The property is in an ideal location and near to all the amenities. There are some lovely touches such as fresh fruit and shortbread in the room and fresh milk so you can have a drink when you like is a really nice idea. The breakfast was very good too.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Deaders51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jb1207, Owner at Wellesley House, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2016

Thanks very much - Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with my daughter in the Garden room. The house is airy , peaceful, bright and spotless. Great location - we walked everywhere . We really enjoyed our spacious room and the generous beverages and fruit in the room. The landlady is friendly and helpful and relaxed about us coming and going . She goes the extra mile eg providing a flask of milk overnight , loan of maps etc. would definitely try to stay again if we come back to Southwold . Thank you for a lovely break .

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank 506melanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jb1207, Owner at Wellesley House, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to do a review, glad you enjoyed your stay Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews