We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
41
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fresh milk little extras kippers biscuits room was spacious place to stay julie walberswick hosts
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 44 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2016

This was my second stay at Wellesley House. It was a very short visit, but I had a great time. I had the comfortable room with wonderful views of Southwold Common and Walberswick. The whole of Southwold is within walking distance. Julie (and Bruce) made me feel very welcome! I will certainly go back!

Room tip: Great view, cleanliness, hospitality, breakfast, etc. etc.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elsnijsten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2016

Julie made us welcome. The B&B, a short walk from the town centre, is very conveniently situated to explore Southwold. From our room we could see the sea and it was a pleasant walk to the ferry at Walberswick. At night when the sky was clear the stars were brilliant.
The kippers served for breakfast were really terrific!

Room tip: Ask for a view of the sea.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 23, 2016

I spent four nights at Wellesley House in "Seaview Room". First class comfort in the room and excellent breakfasts and chats with Julie. Southwold is a beautiful haven by the sea. Wellesley House's location is superb, with great views, but only a very short walk from the centre. Lots of good quality restaurants and shops. A grand base for enjoyable walks, short in length or more stretching walks, if desired. I'm looking forward to returning!

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenGJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2016

We stayed last year and decided to again this year, Southwold itself is a beautiful relaxing seaside town with super pubs and restaurants.
Julie and Bruce are very warm and friendly and know all there is to know about the area. The room was bright, airy, well decorated and clean, same nice touches, the fruit bowl and plenty of shortbread biscuits. The breakfasts are delicious, good choice and freshly cooked, the kippers are yummy. All in all a very good stay and we will not hesitate to return. (PS - ask Julie how the house building project is progressing!)

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holtimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jb1207, Owner at Wellesley House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2016

Thanks for the review I will let you know when we put in the foundations for the house

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2016

We have just spent two nights at the Wellesley House and had a fab time in Southwold.
The room was lovely and just as seen on the website. Julie soon made us feel at home, as did Bruce. The property is in an ideal location and near to all the amenities. There are some lovely touches such as fresh fruit and shortbread in the room and fresh milk so you can have a drink when you like is a really nice idea. The breakfast was very good too.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Deaders51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jb1207, Owner at Wellesley House, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2016

Thanks very much - Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews