We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of the best holidays ever - wonderful cottage!”
other travellers have booked this property
Loom Cottage (far side)  Weavers is next door, nearside. Garage for 'Loom' is further down the lane.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Loom Cottage (far side)  Weavers is next door, nearside. Garage for 'Loom' is further down the lane.
Loom Cottage (far side) in  Spinners Lane.  These are the 1st cottages on the right as you enter.   Loom/access to rear entrance via wrought iron gate (on right).
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Loom Cottage (far side)  Weavers is next door, nearside. Garage for 'Loom' is further down the lane.
Loom Cottage (far side) in  Spinners Lane.  These are the 1st cottages on the right as you enter.
Loom/access to rear entrance via wrought iron gate (on right).
Wifi, Blu ray DVD player, 40in flat screen TV, great (up to date) films and books, plus games.
Comfy front room. Leather John Lewis sofas.
Loom Fireplace, Loads of quality books/games available.
3 Seater Sofa Bed, 2 seater sofa, armchair, footstool. Seats 7.
Home from home, tasteful décor. Quirky touches everywhere.40 ins TV, great DVDs!
Bathroom on the right of hallway, kichen/diner at rear. Stable door leads to back yard.
Hallway leading to kitchen/diner
Downstairs Bathroom with power shower over bath, shower switch in hallway. Shower switch in hallway.
Kitchen/Diner   Seating for 4. Stable door to back yard/ outdoor seating. Have breakfast outside!
Well stocked kitchen/diner. Electric touch control hob/ electric oven/ washer/dryer. Ample crockery.
Kitchen/Diner, stable door table and chairs outside
Have breakfast outside! Exit kitchen through stable door, sit in back yard
Stairs from kitchen leading to bedroom, enclosed, handrail, 10 stairs only.
Double Bedroom,  Comfy bed, cotton bedlinen, tranquil setting = a good nights' sleep!
Double bedroom, ample space
Cosy....
Twin Bedroom, comfy mattresses, headboards, 2 side lamps, quality cotton bedding.
Cosy and homely 2nd bedroom, entered via landing from stairs (not steep) with handrail.
Weekly stay Christmas/New Year Hamper
Short Stay (min 3 days) hamper for Christmas/New Year period. Lovely decorations also!
Lovely Christmas decorations in Loom.
Past Blyth Hotel, straight on past Crick Court,  shops (other side). 300m to Spinners Lane turning.
Turn right at John Bennetts Shop into Spinners Lane. Marks Fish + Chip Shop is further on the left.
The far end of Spinners Lane leads to nearby S-wold Common,  where there is additional free parking.
The garage is clearly marked, about halfway straight down The Lane, a few metres from Loom Cottage.
You are here! The first cottages you will see on the right in the lane! Watch the world go by...
Award winning Southwold Pier, see the quirky amusements, try the putting green, or the boating lake.
Take a Lighthouse Tour! See the inland (still in operation) lighthouse.
Gun Hill, famed for its' role in 'The Battle of Sole Bay..
Near the Pier, early evening.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Southwold, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ShirleyCo...
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“One of the best holidays ever - wonderful cottage!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Myself and my husband stayed at Loom Cottage last week and it was one of the best holidays we've ever had in this country. The weather was fantastic which certainly helped and the cottage was gorgeous. From the moment I booked the cottage back in January everything was dealt with very professionally and the owner was extremely helpful and provided all the information you could possibly need. The cottage itself was exceptionally clean and well presented with lots of little extra personal touches which made the cottage feel even more cosy. You can tell that this cottage is loved and well cared for. The location is fantastic - it is in a quiet lane with no through-traffic, and at the far end of the lane is access to the golf course and fields which takes you to the estuary - it is a lovely short walk and there is a good pub at the end of the walk (The Harbour Inn). The other end of the lane is the start of the high street, so you are literally only a minute from all the shops and restaurants and only 7mins to the beach! My husband and I had planned to go walking every day and took all our wet weather gear with us only to find that we had a mini-heat wave so spent the entire week on the beach! We will definitely be booking for next year when we will be less lazy and do some of the Adnams Pub Walks to walk off all the good food we consume!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving - we didn't want to go home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2013
My husband and I were actually staying next door at the same time so we had the pleasure of meeting this lovely couple (we were trying to stay incognito as we didn't want to be intrusive but they realized it was us)! It's lovely to receive a review like this, it's informative as well as so appreciative! So glad you had a great holiday, and thank you so much for these comments! It is true, Loom Cottage is loved, and I'm so glad it shows!It's also great that the service beforehand was mentioned, as I do try to be as helpful as possible.We just want everybody to have the best holiday possible!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGoblin...
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Charming, cosy cottage in great location”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Loom Cottage is a real 'home from home'. Very well appointed and ultra convenient for town, common and beach. Very clean with all mod cons. Downstairs bathroom can be a little inconvenient at night but curtails the need to 'go'. All in all a very pleasant stay in a lovely area of Suffolk. Would return in future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Downstairs bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2013
It's lovely to receive a review like this, it does highlight the convenience of the location really well! It's also great that the cleanliness was mentioned, as often these points go unmentioned unless it's a negative! I'll pass it on to the housekeeper, she will be pleased her good work is noticed! Downstairs bathroom cannot be helped I'm afraid but on the other hand, it saves going upstairs during the day! I must say We are so lucky to get such lovely, appreciative guests...so thank you all for the kind words! If I win the lottery I promise I will install an 'en suite' upstairs!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cosy & Comfortable”
Reviewed May 31, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We've been renting houses in Southwold for many years, but this was our first visit to Loom Cottage - and won't be our last. This is a very cosy and comfortable cottage situated in a small and quiet private road just a couple of minutes' walk from the High Street in one direction and Southwold Common in the other.

The cottage is thoughtfully furnished and well equipped, with an extensive library of books and DVDs in case of a rainy day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2013
Thank you so much for these comments..we like to provide the additional 'homely touches' and it's great that this attention to detail is noticed. As we visit regularly, we are very aware of what needs updating/changing. My husband tells me off for my non-stop purchasing!We look forward to your next visit, and thanks again for your apt and descriptive review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H R
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a lovely part of the world.”
Reviewed June 15, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We've stayed in many cottages / villas and Loom Cottage is as good as any. Comfortable and cosy, well equipped and tucked away from the main road. We thought the location was ideal, sufficiently placed away from the seafront to avoid any noise (not that there was any) and close enough to enjoy an evening stroll without traipsing for miles before getting anywhere. Having a garage to park the car was a bonus.
We had a terrific week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good beds
Liked least: No Wi Fi, but not really a problem.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2012
Thank you so much for your comments, I'm so glad you enjoyed the week. I know there were loads of events over the Jubilee, and the weather was much better than in London so I'm sure it was a special week! I'm really pleased the location was perfect for you, we think it's a great spot and yes, perfectly summed up as ' a lovely part of the world!' I would also like to say that I love the rapport with the guests, and I think I am lucky to have so many lovely people stay in Loom Cottage!!!!!!!!!!!!!Thanks again for your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Reviewed May 6, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position
Liked least: Lack of wi fi, but that's being picky!
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 May 2012
Thanks very much for this review, and for the 'well appointed' comment, I'm also very pleased you found the cottage very comfortable. Yes, kitchen is quite small but nobody has ever passed comment before so(as you stated) it can't be too much of a problem!. It's rather like myself, small but perfectly formed (joke)! I do think all the other rooms are a fair size, and of good proportions, certainly Loom Cottage compares well with other 2 bed cottages we've stayed in/looked at/ for general space/regular features etc. It must have been cosy with 4 adults and 3 dogs! I'm really glad you all enjoyed yourselves and I hope you visit us again! As a matter of interest not so long ago ( about 20 years) a family of nine(yes, nine!) lived in Loom Cottage... now that must have been a challenge!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 24, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt totally at home....
Liked least: Having to go back to work!
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Apr 2012
Thank you for these kind words, I do agree with the heading! It is really cosy. The beach is less than 10 mins walk, and it is in a great location. I love the fish and chips, lovely crispy batter and proper chips..yum, yum! We do try to keep the cottage in good order, downstairs was decorated this year and next year (hopefully) we'll do upstairs. We love sitting outside at the front watching the world go by, just generally relaxing! Hopefully we'll see you again soon, almost all of our visitors come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 19, 2012 for a stay in January 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy and comfort.
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Jan 2012
It's really good that guests appreciate the homely additions, it's very important to me that people do feel totally relaxed and comfortable whilst staying in Loom Cottage. The location is one of the main reasons we bought the cottage so we're so glad you liked it as well!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing