We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch at the Crown, Southwold”
Review of The Crown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Crown
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 January 2012

5 of us decided to eat at The Crown on New Years' Day and we can't recommend it enough. There was a set menu on the day priced at a very reasonable £20.00 for 2 courses. The food was amazing and the service was fantastic.

We loved it that much that we went again the following day for a light bite and a bottle of vino!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie-Mau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
There are newer reviews for The Crown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2012

Our friends were celebrating his 50th in Southwold so we were invited to join them as a suprise. They had an apartment, we booked the Crown.
As my husband said he had booked a very expensive hotel which ought to be very nice, we arrived Saturday afternoon and I was recovering from a rotten cold and still feeling rough. Checked in, reception staff lovely, very friendly, went up to the room and must say first impressions were 'overpriced and over-rated'. The room was fairly basic and FREEZING so husband went back to reception (lots of stairs) to ask for heaters and heating. Lady apologised, brought two heaters up, plugged them in and left. I walked across the room then BANG & BLUE FLASHES - heaters blew up. By now I'd had enough. Lovely receptionist de-camped us to sister hotel The Swan - MUCH better. Got into hot bath to heat myself up then sat wrapped in luxurious towels and dressing gown only to find BOTH TV's not working. Sent for maintenance man. He couldn't fix them and suggested we changed rooms. To be fair this was not his fault and he was very helpful. No, we didn't want to change rooms - I'd just got warm! So no TV. They gave us complimentary sandwiches and a drink, which was very nice of them. Went to the Crown for the meal to meet our friends. When they arrived, they were approached and asked if they had booked, which my friend told them she had. The waitress said 'Yes, there are four of you' (This was supposed to be a surprise!). Eventually had the meal which I would not rush back for. The 'birthday boy' had to ask for his chips which should've accompanies the steak. The waiters were great - nothing was too much trouble but obviously the kitchen is not in sync.As our friend treated us, we felt we couldn't complain.
Southwold is lovely, but honestly, the hotel(s) are vastly overpriced. We missed breakfast (latest 10 am) and were still charged the full price of £220. We've stayed in Gleneagles for less with much superior accommocation/food/service.Next time we will rent an apartment -oh, we recommend the Sole Inn - great hospitality and food (friends went next day for lunch, we had a drink there).
Apparently the Adnams tour is wonderful (friends went next day) and I can vouch for the toffee vodka which they brought back.
LOVED the evening with our friends, but so disappointed that my husband's first trip to Southwold was probably his last!

Room Tip: Go look first!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lizi090411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed recently, paying £173 for a standard room!!. The room was a lovely size,large bathroom and warm. But considering the price, we were disappointed with the state of the rooms. The bedroom area had large dried up wet patches on the wall and mould marks on the ceiling where a pipe once leaked. The bathroom was worse. The shower screen was almost falling off the wall, extremely tatty and falling apart from the bottom. It was filthy along the lower level too (damp sludge). The tiles by the taps were falling away from each other leaving dirty greasy gaps. The electric shower hose was untouchable!. The bathroom never had any toiletries replaced over 3 nights. We had to ask.
Having said that, I know the place is now closed for a huge refit and update to all the rooms. Boy we must have heard that a hundred times from the staff, but that didnt help us paying so much money at the time. I felt cheated.
The food doesnt seem to have the same quality to it in the evenings.My husband had the most expensive steak and it was the size of a small burger. My waldorf salad did not have all the ingredients as stated on the menu.It seems picky but we paid alot for the food.
But the breakfasts (cooked were very good), the bed extremely comfortable and the best of all were the staff, they were great.
To stay here again, I would go when there are offers on. It was very expensive for the poor quality rooms. (Regardless of being reminded so many times about the refurb!!)
I hope The Crown can get itself back on the map as a good quality hotel.
,

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cambridgegal67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We did not stay, but ate in the restaurant last night, and although a shockingly grubby carpet, and slightly tired decor, had a fantastic meal! My partner is a vegetarian, and she adored the bubble & squeak cake. I had the sirlion steak, which was cooked to perfection, and although originally thinking £22.00 was a bit over priced, discovered it was worth every penny. The wine list is up there with the best, packed full of choice. The service was friendly and welcoming. I strongly advise you to visit, we will certainly return.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We used to spend a lot of time in Southwold some years back, and The Crown was our favourite place. The food and wines were always great, the atmosphere bright and buzzing. We’d stayed there a few times, and always enjoyed ourselves - the rooms were plain, but clean and unpretentious. So, when we were looking for a much-needed Christmas treat, it made sense to go back, and we booked two double rooms, one standard, one superior. We booked for two nights, the minimum allowed over the festive season.
There was little difference in the rooms - apart from size, despite a difference in cost. The superior one (ours) was chilly, the bed was seriously poor, the carpet was stained - the standard room, although more out of the way, was smaller, but actually nicer. The member of staff who showed us to our room commented how cold it was and apologised - she tried to get the radiators working properly, with no lasting success. There was a portable heater under a table - obviously this was not a new issue with this room, and we discovered from other guests that they had abandoned this room on previous stays thanks to the cold... that was disappointing to hear.
The bathroom was a decent size, and had plenty of very nice toiletries available, quality white towels and bathrobes. But the ceiling over the bath was badly marked with mould, the glass folding shower screen was in very poor condition, and there was peeling paint above the shower. Not exactly welcoming for a long soak with a glass of Christmas wine and a good book! We were told that neither The Crown nor The Swan (Adnam's main hotel in Southwold) was full over Christmas, and we began to see why this might be. We were also told that the hotel would be completely refurbished in 2012.

The food was good, as were the wines. We ate in the bar on Christmas Eve - it was not possible to book a table, and that had been the cause of worry on the journey up - where would we eat if we couldn't get a table. In the event - we needn't have worried - there were plenty of tables available. Oh dear...
We knew there was nothing organised, apart from Christmas lunch, and that suited us fine. We went for long walks - the town and its surroundings are brilliant for walking. We had booked Christmas lunch for 3 pm - and came back from a walk to find the restaurant and bar were packed, the atmosphere much much better than the evening before, and the kitchen served almost 100 very decent lunches, plenty of choice - and certainly not all turkey. Much enjoyed - and the staff were happy - cheerful, a pleasure to be around - even though they'd given up their own Christmases. The chef came out to say hello - he'd been up since 7.30 am with his own kids...a nice touch and much appreciated.
The cooked breakfasts were very good indeed. On Christmas Day we were offered a complimentary buck’s fizz on the house - but again, something felt wrong - the cereals and so forth looked a little sparse on their table - a single dish of yogurt, a small dish of compote, and a jug or two of juice... not really very exciting. However - a nice touch - boiled eggs came in gorgeous, amusing hand-knitted cosies. I asked if I could buy them, and that didn't present a problem.

On check-out, I mentioned the chilly nature of the superior room (I'd been reading wrapped up in a duvet - there is no sitting room at The Crown -) - and said how poor the bed was. Suggested the staff ought to try them out ...and I was expecting a token reduction in price as a result. Hmph. Wishful thinking!

Overall - we enjoyed our stay, but felt that for what we paid, The Crown did not deliver value for money. Those who stay after refurbishment will benefit - and the prices now probably reflect the correct levels for a fresh, fully-functioning building. The staff are very good - but we reckoned they were working in a lovely old building which has been allowed to slip. And when you are paying £205 for two for bed and breakfast, I'm afraid you can't get away with that without comments.

Our advice might be to wait until refurbishment is completed - and if not - avoid Room 2 unless you like a cold room with a bed that lurches like a trampolene each time your partner turns over.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We stayed here for a wedding. We paid £300 for two nights. The room we stayed in was more out of a corporate hotel than a seaside Inn. The bathroom was mouldy and the whole feel of the room was quite uninviting. The saving grace of The Crown, however, were the staff. They could not be more helpful especially as we were staying with our one year old. Helpful hint, if you are staying with a baby and can bring your own travel cot, do. They charge for hiring one and it's the same travel cot as you would bring!
Would we stay here again? Maybe, as the service and food were excellent, just let down by the dated decor.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1000greenP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

My wife and I stayed 2 nights in Southwold 1 in each of Adnam's sister hotels The Swan and The Crown. This review applies to both hotels. Both were priced at £160 B&B for a "standard room" for 2. Neither offers good value for money at this level providing accommodation that is small, modestly equipped and at (The Swan) or below (The Crown) average charging a huge premium for location and for being owned by the town's dominant commercial enterprise. Service levels matched the accommodation, as did breakfast. The Town has some excellent B&B and Guest House Accommodation that offers vastly improved value for money. We will not return to either hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimandLynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
1.4 km away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
338 reviews
0.1 km away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
601 reviews
0.5 km away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 km away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
670 reviews
20.6 km away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,036 reviews
9.8 km away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown

Address: High St, Southwold IP18 6DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Price Range: $291 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exciting and intimate combination of small hotel, wine bar, pub and restaurant, Adnams Crown Hotel is always buzzing with a lively informality. The food is famously good and the wine list wonderful. You don't have to take our word for it - The Crown is an award winning hotel and was named Suffolk Dining Pub of the Year by the Good Pub Guide in 2013 and 2014. Situated on Southwold's High Street in Suffolk, The Crown is at the heart of activities, and just a few moments away from the seaside. Relax before lunch or dinner in our snug 'Back Bar' with a pint of Adnams famous beer. Free WiFi available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your The Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Southwold
Crown Southwold
Crown Hotel Southwold

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing