We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Average hotel, but what a view!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cooden Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cooden Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bexhill-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level Contributor
148 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Average hotel, but what a view!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel a little while ago for one night and our experience was average in parts, but great in others. The location is great - quiet and relaxing by the sea and not far from bigger towns like Hastings. We did not get a view from our room and even if we did our windows were too tiny to look out. The view from the dining room was lovely though - you could see right across the water.

Our room was an average double room - no personality but clean and enough space to move around and unpack your things. The bathroom was a good size, although we were not impressed with the waterflow, or lack of hot water in the evenings. If you want a shower after 9pm forget it. Parking can be a little tight in peak season - it seems there are more rooms than parking spaces so check in on the earlier side to grab one.

I can't comment on dinner as we could not eat here. We did go to the dning room but were ushered out as there was a wedding party there (not something stipulated when we checked in), but there was food available at the bar. It looked like below average pub grub so we decided to go out for dinner (if you have a car there are lots of nice restaurants closer to the centre of town). We really enjoyed our breakfast looking out across the water. Breakfast is a self service affair but we actually enjoyed that more than self service.

Overall we had a relaxing weekend, however, little touches of character in the rooms and maybe an overhaul of the bar menu are small changes that can be made to improve this hotel and its great potential.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view/water view room when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lel_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    234
    118
    67
    37
See reviews for
239
260
55
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We have passed this hotel on several occasions and had a drink I the bar, so decided to stay for the week end on our wedding anniversary.
I booked a sea view room which as expected was more expensive than a standard room.
We were allocated room 112. the room is large with a modern bathroom and very large and impressive shower, but the water took a long time to get hot.
The room itself was quite dated and fixtures such as the white spot lights and faded prints above the bed did not help.
Very small tv fixed to wall difficult to view from bed and expected better given room cost.
great bed with Tempur mattress and lovely views from windows, some light traffic noise if windows open, but suggest may be noisy in summer as several outside tables for the bar directly below this room.
Room very clean.
Breakfast cooked to order and good quality , but cold buffet section lacked items. 1st day 1 piece of cheese ,no cold meats and a rather tired looking fruit salad.
Great location 1 minute from beach and railway station next door.
Overall a great place and clearly they are spending on updating public areas.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iprodrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Live locally and called in for bar meal at lunchtime, to see whether it would be worth returning to eat in the restaurant. Waited ages (and I mean ages) in the bar to be served. We both chose to eat the "posh fish and chips", but were told that the owner doesn't like guests eating hot food in the bar. Strange then that he puts hot food on the menu! We were told we could eat outside (on a blustery April day we didn't want to eat hot food outside), or we could eat in another bar. We went there, saw plates left on tables, that hadn't been cleared and decided to leave. Sorry, we won't go back and glad we hadn't ordered drinks.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Harry4Sammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We are local and are aware that the service at the Cooden Beach Hotel can be slow but today was a step too far! Firstly let me say the bar person that served us was extremely polite but somewhat embarassed that he was left with an impossible task of preparing and serving coffee, serving drinks, waiting and clearing tables and dealing with complaints. (earned his tip twice over)
We entertained our daughter and grandaughter to a bar snack which was doomed from the start. Firstly we waited over 12 minutes for someone to appear behind the bar and he had 3 people to serve before us, well this soon reduced to 2 as one gentleman got tired of waiting and walked out. Finally we ordered 3 rounds of sandwiches, chips, a Panini and drinks and paid. The sandwiches and chips arrived but not the Panini and after 2 trips to the bar it finally arrived but not before everyone else had eaten. The bar person apologised and admitted the kitchen had forgotten the Panini despite our previous reminder and whilst all this was happening we witnessed virtually everyone else asking for either their order or trying to find a member of staff. I'm afraid this was all too reminiscent of Faulty Towers and if you do decide to try it out, imagine John Cleese is somewhere behind the scenes and your visit may become an amusing farce! Such a shame because the building is in such an ideal setting being right on the beach.
The problems besetting this establishment rest firmly with the management who are putting profit and budgetry controls before their customers and certainly forgetting the wellbeing of their staff.
We shall return with friends to see if things can possibly get worse??

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

I stay here loads and generally it's ok. The staff vary in skills and abilities but are generally keen to please.
Bar staff are often 'missing in action' and the whole place needs to be updated to a 2012 look - especially the bedrooms .
B.Fast is excellent value for money if on the BB rate - don't pay separately.
Excellent sea views from restaurant and terrace bar is great in the Summer.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunlovverjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biddulph, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Ate here last summer whilst holidaying in Bexhill. The food was hot and tasty and the atmosphere lively and friendly. Not somewhere you would go for an a la carte type meal but absolutely fine for a casual bar meal. The night we visited they had entertainment on which just added to the enjoyment.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Relaxed33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We booked a one night DBB for 3 of us. On arrival, check in was organised chaos with a receptionist who didnt appear to know what she was doing. The room was reasonable but a bit dated. As we were here to celebrate a special event, we went to the bar and waited and waited for someone to serve us, it too one of our party to actively go and find a member of staff to serve.As we were due to meet friend in Bexhill we asked the receptionist to book us a taxi, she couldnt find any numbers ( we were rescued by a patron in the bar ( hardly the standard of service from a hotel such as this) Dinner was ok, though the attitude of a blonde haired "waitress" left a let to be desired ( it was like we were a nuisance to her) so we tried to avoid catching here when we needed something.
When we retired to bed, the room was cold and the beds uncomfortable!!
We went down to breakfast and were greeted by the blonde haired "waitress", we made several very simple requests and NOT one went right. We went to check out to be faced with the same receptionist who had checked us in the previous day and she confirmed our thought of her not knowing what she was doing.
We have known the hotel for many years ( having lived locally) but can honestly say we will think VERY long and hard before returning

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank t1gerly12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bexhill-on-Sea
8.0 km away
PowderMills Country House Hotel
8.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel
14.1 km away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
25.8 km away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
12.1 km away
BEST WESTERN York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cooden Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cooden Beach Hotel

Property: The Cooden Beach Hotel
Address: Cooden Sea Road, Bexhill-on-Sea TN39 4TT, England (Formerly Jarvis Cooden Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Bexhill-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bexhill-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cooden Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1928 the Hotel is a building of character which has undergone several changes of ownership in its time. The beginning of 2005 was the year the current owner took over the hotel and refurbished at that time also adding a beautiful beachside terrace to enjoy refreshments overlooking the sea and stunning sunsets over the Sussex Downs. The Hotel continues with an upgrade plan throughout all areas. The Beachside Restaurant with its sea view, Traditional English Menu and Sunday Carvery also The Cooden Tavern is a Bistro style eatery to cater for all guest requirements as well as a bar and lounge. For those who would like to relax with a swim the Leisure Club with heated pool, sauna, spa, steam room and gym is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Cooden Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cooden Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing