We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“what nice people.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Best Beech Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Best Beech Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Wadhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“what nice people.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

I had the pleasure of staying here for four nights.

That was good because there is a real home from home feeling and the menu is a particularly nice surprise.

Tracy and Nathan run a extremely friendly and well run establishment.

I would most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin63y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    20
    7
    1
    8
See reviews for
17
33
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

The current owners have only been running this place for 3 months, I greatly enjoyed my stay and would stay here again.I originaly made my booking and due to cicumstances beyond my control could not stay on the night i booked. I contacted them and spoke to Nathan who is one of the owners and explained the situation and he allowed me to use this booking for another night within the next 2 weeks.I was extremely greatful for this

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ambrogiowilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

Set in a glorious part of the Sussex Weald the Best Beach Inn was an excellent choice for an overnight stay for a nearby family event. The room and bathroom though not large were well equipped and very clean. The breakfast was excellent - freshly cooked using local produce. Evening meals are available son, though not all nights, so phone ahead to check. As they were not serving dinner that night they recommended a pub restaurant less than a mile away which was also very good. Though a bit higher than might be expected elsewhere the price was reasonable in relation to those in the area and in nearby Tunbridge Wells.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PB1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We are from Sussex and now live in London so know the county quite well. This old pub is not very nice and it s horrid owners were quite rude to my children when we visited. It is not child friendly. Rooms and toilets were dirty. Smoking everywhere ! We thought this was not allowed now ? I would not go back if it was even cheaper. Best bit was the worm in my sandwich.

Room Tip: Room at the side smells of the owners smoking and you can see them doing it too
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinniw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed in the Best Beech as an alternative to the Smart and Simple and Hotel du Vin in Tunbridge Wells where we normally stay when visiting family. We will definitely be prioritising the Best Beech in the future. The room was charming, bathroom a little dated but more than made up for by the generosity of toiletries, tea and coffee facilities in room and warm environment. Breakfast was really good and we would highly recommend eating there based on the lunch we enjoyed. The ploughmans platter was frankly memorable and we are quite difficult to please. The wine list is reasonable and the inn is located in a very picturesque setting. Lovely locals too. We felt well looked after and even one might left us very relaxed. Professionally run but laid back.

Room Tip: Room 7 is large but does overlook the smoking area. Lovely bed linen
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank f1geac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

When we arrived we had a warm welcome from David which was continued by his staff. The room was very nice and clean, and we liked the attention to detail in the toiletry and refreshments presentation. The breakfast was excellent, my husband commented one of the best he had had, We invited family to dinner there and it lived up to the awards for good food. It is all cooked to order and well worth the wait. Altogether we felt very comfortable there and would return if visiting Wadhurst again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Stayed here last week (aug 2011) and thought our bedroom was ok - perhaps a little noisy due to the road outside .. It was fairly hot when we stayed and thought we would eat outside - but there were too many smokers for this to be poss. So we went to the Mark Cross in up the road - very good food and didn't get to eat here. Did learn that the landlord was leaving by someone at the bar - he said they had not been successful and wanted to move on - seemed to account for the lifeless in the place - shame as we rather liked the pub.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamfrompowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadhurst
9.1 km away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
8.2 km away
Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club
8.1 km away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 km away
The Roebuck Hotel
The Roebuck Hotel
#1 of 2 in Forest Row
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
8.7 km away
Smart and Simple Hotel
Smart and Simple Hotel
#10 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
3.4 km away
The Old Vine
The Old Vine
#2 of 8 in Wadhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Best Beech Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Best Beech Inn

Property: The Best Beech Inn
Address: Best Beech Hill, Wadhurst TN5 6JH, England (Formerly The Best Beech)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Wadhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Wadhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Best Beech Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT 2016. The Best Beech is a beautiful country inn located on the outskirts of the village of Wadhurst in East Sussex. The Best Beech offers a relaxed, welcoming atmosphere and is the ideal place to catch up with friends or relax with family. The restaurant offers traditional dishes and uses local suppliers wherever possible. In addition The Best Beech offers six well appointed en-suite rooms, all equipped with flat screen televisions, and tea making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Best Beech Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Best Beech Hotel Wadhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing