We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red Lion Willingdon ROCKS ❤️”
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Willingdon
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed April 25, 2022 via mobile

After a disappointing Sunday lunch booking for my fathers 70th birthday elsewhere locally, we arrived at The Red Lion at 2.15 on a beautiful sunny Sunday afternoon, without a reservation, hoping for a sunny spot in the garden and a roast dinner. The staff were accommodating, charming and exactly everything you could possibly hope for. Despite the fact they were clearly busy, we were offered a perfect table and served the most fabulous Sunday roast. In hindsight, I wish we had just booked The Red Lion in the first place. Wonderful customer service, wonderful garden and wonderful food. Thankyou all for saving the day for us and being totally unaware that you did xx

Date of visit: April 2022
1  Thank adisneyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 231 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2022

Booked in for Mothers Day '22, was a fantastic meal, great menu and lovely service.

We have been before and thoroughly enjoyed it and this time was no exception. We had our dog in tow and they made such a fuss of him, he was loving it as much as we were. The girls were very friendly and explained the menu, checked out the back for how much was remaining of the specials and everything was done quickly and with smile. Will be back very soon!

Date of visit: March 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank chrishalluk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 23, 2022

We recently booked a table to celebrate my birthday, and what a good choice that was! We've not eaten here for over twenty years (Having been in Shropshire in the meantime...it's a long way to come for even an excellent meal), and naturally things have changed. For the better, I should add.

This not the sort of pseudy eaterie where the portion sizes decrease in direct proportion to the size of the bill - nobody, surely, leaves here hungry. The atmosphere is just right, and the bar serves a good pint too. It's a sensible menu, with plenty of daily specials. So, something for most tastes. The food arrives hot and tasty, and the service is both friendly and efficient - an ideal combination.

Check out the menu, and if this is your sort of meal out, you can book with confidence. We shall certainly return!

Date of visit: March 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank christinebQ3286LP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 7, 2022

I have visited this pub on a number of occasions recently and each and every time the food has been fantastic. Good portions, well presented and tasty. The outside area is also great with heated pods. I couldn't recommend this pub more highly

Date of visit: February 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Helenhorsman2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 6, 2022

One of our locals that we don’t visit enough! We’ve been here a few times since moving to Eastbourne a couple of years ago and have always enjoyed the food there. My partner is quite a fussy eater too so it’s always nice to find somewhere he likes! I even found a new favourite gin here, I’d never seen Boe’s passion fruit gin before but it’s definitely now a favourite of mine

Date of visit: January 2022
Thank CharlotteR2466
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Eastbourne, East Sussex
 
Eastbourne, East Sussex
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.