We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and very tasty food.”
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Willingdon
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed November 7, 2023 via mobile

The Red Lion is our favourite gastro pub in Eastbourne. The landlord and his staff are very friendly and efficient. Nothing is too much trouble.
We were a table of 10 and our food arrived all at the same time and was piping hot. Always beautifully presented and very generous portions. And very tasty.
Their roasts are fantastic value with the meats and veg perfectly cooked. And their liver and bacon is tender and tasty.
We will definitely go back soon.

Date of visit: November 2023
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 231 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2023

Very friendly staff who couldnt do enough for you. The food was excellent and great value and not expensive. They are also dog friendly.

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stay31399538062
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 11, 2023

We had a 70th birthday meal. Staff were amazing, food was lovely they couldn't have done more to make the night special. 17 people all enjoyed they're meals. Absolutely fantastic service. Thank you to all the staff x

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank F4112FHhannahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 9, 2023

Lovely staff, great food. Staff went over and beyond to be very helpful. We were travelling from the West Country for a family wedding, got in touch a few months previous to organise a pre wedding dinner, we did not know The Red Lion and took a gamble so glad we did.

Date of visit: August 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank G3994UFjacquelineg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 5, 2023

Popped into the Red Lion at Willingdon today for lunch (12:00) - we were the first in the lovely garden.

When asked, we said straight up on arrival that we'd have sandwiches for lunch (as we know they struggle with 'unexpected' visitors).

Having had drinks we went to order food but were told they're too busy and we couldn't order. Only to be followed immediately by two much larger tables behind us placing orders and sitting down exclaiming their food would be 15mins (we were the first in the garden, the two other tables were much bigger [there was two of us], and they were walk-ins too).

Not sure why we weren't allowed to order food today. But can say the service when questioning this was very dismissive and very blunt.

Today's visit was very very poor - and handled even worse. We'll be giving the Red Lion a wide berth from now and sharing our experience. Shame.

Date of visit: September 2023
3  Thank LWG2090
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Eastbourne, East Sussex
 
Eastbourne, East Sussex
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.