We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reassuringly expensive...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
507 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Reassuringly expensive...”
Reviewed 24 December 2011

We had dinner in the main cathedral like dining room.

Service was excellent.

The choice of meals was good and varied. Every course was visually attractive and tasted good.

Only two things were of comment on the table about our experience.

1. A couple of our party had a turkey Xmas dinner. There was brown turkey meat 'hidden' under the white meat on every plate. If it had been served along side, we wouldn't have felt they were trying to hid it.

2. At the end of the evening, the £670 bill was paid along with a £70 tip. As we were getting our coats, the manager came up and asked to speak to us. It seems they had calculated the bill wrong and were £10 short. It should have been £680. We did discuss telling them to take it out of the tip but just gave them a tenner. Seriously! I would have just kept quite and accepted a smaller tip, rather than make the last thing a customer remembers about the vist being this...

Oh well...

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avatar777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    251
    94
    26
    37
See reviews for
234
263
32
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We have not stayed there overnight for many years as we live less than a mile from this venue. However, we have booked rooms for friends and family who have sung the praises of the place.

On the other hand, we have used the Restaurants (the main one with vaulted ceiling and the conservatory) many, many times. It's not the cheapest place to eat in Brentwood, but you do get what you pay for. The food is fabulous with a good choice of dishes and the wine cellar..... just don't get carried away. service is excellent with some of the staff having been there for many years.

Nice hotel to look at. Good food, good wine, good rooms, good facilities and plenty of parking spaces. For a special occasion, it's wise to book in advance.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbpostbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a night to celebrate our wedding anniversary and had dinner in the Tudor restaurant. It was a wonderful and very special experience. The service was impeccable and the meal excellent. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2011

I stayed there in November 2011 on a Saturday night and found the staff to be very polite, friendly and helpful (I also had a drink at the bar which was lovely). Breakfast. The room was spacious, clean and well kept. The decor of the hotel was charming. The location is only a short walk from Brentwood High Street which was very convenient. I left behind a jumper in the wardrobe and the staff very kindly sent it back to me via post which I really appreciated. They didn't even charge me! Overall very pleased with the entire experience. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terence S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountnessing
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We got married and held our wedding Reception at Marygreen Manor on 29th October 2011. The whole day was perfect . Excellent venue, food, and rooms. Attentive and helpfull staff. A great day which all our guests thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Very nice hotel with very Helpful staff, it's not the cheapest but you get what you pay for that's for sure. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mully1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We held our Wedding Reception at Marygreen Manor Hotel on 5th November 2011. From the moment we walked through the door from arriving from the church our experience was fantastic. We were looked after the whole time we were there. The staff were very attentive and could not do enough for us. The food was exceptional and many of the wedding guests commented on how much they enjoyed it. The buffet in the evening was amazing with a fantastic selection of food. We stayed in the Catherine of Aragon Suite, and enjoyed breakfast in our room the following morning. Thank you for helping to make our day so memorable and special. A highly recommended wedding reception venue, Special thanks goes to Amir Patel who initially showed us around the venue when we were deciding on a reception venue. He showed us everything and answered all questions we had.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela_Tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brentwood
2.7 km away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Brentwood
Holiday Inn Brentwood
#4 of 4 in Brentwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
1.4 km away
Premier Inn Brentwood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 km away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
19.1 km away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
12.8 km away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marygreen Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marygreen Manor Hotel

Property: Marygreen Manor Hotel
Address: London Road, Brentwood CM14 4NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Borough of Brentwood > Brentwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marygreen Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marygreen Manor Hotel is a fine example of early sixteenth-century architecture in Brentwood, Essex. Beautifully presented and centrally located, just minutes from M25/J28, with easy access to London & the Home Counties. Our Tudor Manor House offers a variety of accommodation from Luxurious 4 Poster Tudor Suites to our Delightful Courtyard Garden Rooms. Marygreen Manor is also home to the 2AA Rosette Tudors Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marygreen Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marygreen Manor Brentwood
Marygreen Manor Hotel Brentwood, UK - Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing