We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent lunch”
Review of Bartellas

Bartellas
Ranked #3 of 415 Restaurants in Chelmsford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$50
Cuisines: European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed November 7, 2018

We have had a number of meals in the past at Bartella's - all excellent. Today our lunch was probably one of the best. Presentation of the starters and main courses were worthy of Masterchef and they tasted delicious as well. Booked through Groupon this must be one of their best deals! Only downside was the lack of other diners which dampened the atmosphere slightly. Definitely one to go back to.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank PETPOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLGroup, Owner at Bartellas, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2018

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you rewarded us with 5 stars and highly recommend us as a wonderful restaurant to dine in. I am pleased you found the food and service to be excellent, which I shall gladly pass on your comments to the team.

It’s a shame you felt the Restaurant being slightly less busy slightly dampened the atmosphere, but I am glad you feel this would not put you off on returning to us again. Perhaps you would like to come back and join us for dinner over the busy Festive Season. We also have a Prosecco Fridays promotion taking place at Bartellas, so I hope you return soon and take up this amazing offer. Please contact the team on 01277 355021 if you wish to make a reservation.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 683 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2018

Stayed on business for 2 nights at the Ivy Hill Best Western in Margaretting near Chelmsford in Essex.

I have stayed here earlier on in the year and one of the main reasons that I returned was for the outstanding food. Notably the 10/12 hour slow cooked Pork Belly Pernod infused is an absolute must.

Freshly prepared breakfasts are excellent too - many chain hotels have the buffet style breakfast arrangement with pre-cooked food which often gets very dry, rubbery and unpleasant - thankfully not the Ivy Hill (please don't ever go down that route like some of your competitors!)

Travelling and staying away all over the country I get to stay in all manner of hotels so a decent meal is very important to me and Bartellas at the Ivy Hill ticks all the boxes.

As well as perfectly and freshly cooked variety of dishes the set menus offer realistic, affordable prices and the friendly, helpful, professional and knowledgeable staff go out of their way without being too overbearing (special mention to Brian, Jacqui, Lorna and Michael!).

The hotel itself is also very pleasant, clean, comfortable and relatively peaceful even though it is situated right by the busy A12.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank TerryBen69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLGroup, Owner at Bartellas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for rewarding us with a 5* review. I am pleased you had a wonderful two night stay at the Ivy Hill Hotel and diner with us at Bartellas. It is fantastic that your reason for returning to stay at the Ivy Hill was because of the 'outstanding food' you had at Bartellas. I shall gladly pass on your comments to the team. We look forward in seeing you again when you are next in the area.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 7, 2018 via mobile

The restaurant is very clean, the staff make you very welcome nothing is to much for them to ensure that you are happy. The food is fantastic cooked to your choice, always enough time between courses, you are never rushed
I have visited this restaurant many times and would highly recommend to anyone wishing a great meal in comfortable surroundings

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank David_Mackintosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLGroup, Owner at Bartellas, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2018

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you rewarded us with 5 stars and chose to dine with us again for celebrating such a wonderful occasion. I am pleased you found the food and service to be fantastic and found the atmosphere to be relaxed and comfortable.

We currently have a Prosecco Fridays promotion taking place at Bartellas, so I hope you return soon and take up this amazing offer. Please contact the team on 01277 355021 if you wish to make a reservation.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2018

Went with a groupon voucher - great value - some supplements but still worth it - the food was very good and the staff very friendly and attentive without being intrusive. Excellent decor and ambiance - need to drive to get there which is probably there only negative

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank paulrdraper2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLGroup, Owner at Bartellas, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2018

Thank you for your review following your recent visit to Bartellas. We pride ourselves on our high standards of food and service and it is always good to hear that the customer appreciates this. We are on the outskirts of Chelmsford, but this allows us to offer free parking at our Restaurant.

We currently have a Prosecco Fridays promotion taking place at Bartellas, so I hope you return soon and take up this amazing offer. Please contact the team on 01277 355021 if you wish to make a reservation.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 2, 2018

Friday Nights is my favourite , their fish & chips are seconded to none, best to book we did the fatal thing & just turned up it was packed & could not get a table .

The manager Terry was very apologetic & gave us a drink on the house & said better luck next time.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank anthonyappleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLGroup, Owner at Bartellas, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2018

Thank you for your review. I am pleased the Restaurant Manager got you in from the cold and offered you a drink. We do recommend you pre-book your table as our Friday Nights are popular with our Prosecco Fridays promotion. We hope you come back again soon.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bartellas also viewed

 
Chelmsford, Essex
 

Been to Bartellas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing