We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea”

Paper Mill Lock Tearooms
Ranked #1 of 23 Quick Bites in Chelmsford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$15
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Reviewed November 5, 2018

My daughter Karen took my husband and me to Papermill Loch, although it was windy we took a walk a by the river we stopped of for tea and cake in the tea rooms, Which was very nice.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 545brendac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 303 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2018 via mobile

Sister with my sister on a sunny Sunday.

Parking was free and plenty of it.

There weren’t loads of seating but we found a table. Even early there were lots of people. Lots of dogs everywhere which is nice if you want to take your dog with you.

The views are pretty next to the lock and it was nice for a hot day.

The food was fresh and tasty. Nice selection.

The only negative I would say is no menu on tables - when you only had 2 of you it was a bit of a pain wanting to go inside to order as we had to take in turns and then one of us order so we could save the table.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Bubbalou-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 21, 2018 via mobile

We Decided to go for a walk and before we Set of we had a drink a bite to eat in the tea rooms, the service is genuinely nice and friendly.
Best description is quaint because of the setting and the good whole some food and great moist cake....
So good we did it twice on return from the walk....
Thank you...

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank brianwhitfield2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2018 via mobile

Great place for tea and cake. Relaxing watching people enjoy the fine weather. Definitely recommend as a go to place.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank potty007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2018

A lovely tearoom right by the canal,indoor and outdoor seating a nice menu with gluten free options available

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank BenfleetMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paper Mill Lock Tearooms also viewed

 
Chelmsford, Essex
Chelmsford, Essex
 

Been to Paper Mill Lock Tearooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing