We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resturant”

Pig & Whistle Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Pig & Whistle Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 415 Restaurants in Chelmsford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Lunch light bites, afternoon tea, sun terrace dining, evening specials menu & Sunday lunch. Experience our warm, relaxed and cosy restaurant in the Chelmsford countryside with hospitality and home cooked food five days a week.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Celebrated my aunt's birthday here lastnight and must admit the service was amazing, the staff were so accommodating and friendly and the food really was 5star! Will defiantly be back again :)

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank NorthStar01123033676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan C, Manager at Pig & Whistle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Northstar.

Thank you for your lovely review.

We are delighted you had a lovely celebration at the restaurant.

It was lovely to be of service to you and meeting you.

Hope to welcome you back again soon.

God bless

Brendan and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (830)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 830 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Pig & Whistle has been on our ‘to do’ list for quite some time and last night we finally got around to visiting.

The service was impeccable, we were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived.

They have a vast gin menu, much to my partner’s delight! She was talked through the options and opted to try the unusual Samphire gin, which unfortunately wasn’t to her taste, but this wasn’t a problem and was soon replaced with another, less exotic gin.

The food was exceptional, we both opted for fish main courses and both were cooked to perfection.

We couldn’t manage a dessert each so shared the Bakewell tart, again a taste sensation!

On paying for our meal, we were presented with a bag containing homemade marshmallows and chocolates, a lovely touch!

Thank you to the staff at the Pig & Whistle for a lovely evening. See you again soon!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 891SharonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan C, Owner at Pig & Whistle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sharon.

Many thanks for your lovely review.

It most certainly a pure pleasure to be of service to you both. We are delighted you had a lovely evening and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Many thanks once again.

Best wishes

Brendan and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 12, 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely meal and was looked after by Amanda and Brendan from the moment we walked in the door. Food was excellent and service all you could want. You guys do a fantastic job and we will return.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Traveler686277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan C, Owner at Pig & Whistle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2018

Dear Guest.

Thank you for your lovely review.

Many thanks

Brendan and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 12, 2018

We were welcomed by the Manager and seated, he asked about our day ect, we felt like old friends.
We were a table of 4 and had the fish platter and pig and whistle board. This was absolutely fantastic. The main was just as lovely, the staff were very attentive.
im so disappointed in myself for leaving it too long to revisit. i am currently organising with friends to go for an evening as i want them all to see how amazing it is.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan C, Owner at Pig & Whistle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2018

Dear Sharon.

Many thanks for your lovely review.

It was a sincere pleasure to be of service to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Best warm wishes

Brendan and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 11, 2018 via mobile

Me my partner and another couple spent what can only simply be discribed as an amazing evening at The Pig & Whistle. The food was mouthwatering in appearance and tasted even better. We started with sharing starters but quickly agreed that we would not be sharing our mains as they looked too good! The puddings if you still have an apitite after gorging on the starters and mains are worth the wait.. just take me too heaven. The staff were particularly good not too instrusive but attentive , our waiter Ben was very good kept the table clean and the service times were what I would expect from this type of restaurant. The owner even made time for a couple of words making the night feel even better. I would take exception to the "gentleman's" review above as I witnessed him stalk the owner then ambush him ! I thought you were so rude to the owner not what I would consider "constructive" at all, we did wonder if maybe you had drunk too much. If you want quick service McDonald's is a drive away but maybe more suited to yourself. If you want class , excellent food and good service Ben, Brendon and the team here gave us that in bucket loads. Cannot recommend highly enough I simply cannot wait to return !

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan C, Owner at Pig & Whistle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2018

Dear Jonathan.

Many thanks for your lovely review.

It was a pure pleasure to be of service to you and delighted you enjoyed your evening.

I will pass on your kind words to Ben.

Btw way I love your comment at the end of your review and delighted somebody witnessed it also.

Look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pig & Whistle Restaurant also viewed

 
Chelmsford, Essex
Chelmsford, Essex
 

Been to Pig & Whistle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing