We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly helpful hosts and a clean spacious room”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Brunton House Guest House
Ranked #6 of 13 Clacton-on-Sea B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 September 2014

Our first ever visit to Clacton and we were very impressed with this accommodation. We arrived well before checking-in time but our host, Sophia gave us a warm welcome and assured us it would only be minutes before we could get into our room and this proved to be true. Over the two days anything we asked for we were provided with immediately. The room was spacious and very clean with all the facilties needed to make drinks and prepare our own breakfast from the well-stocked fridge. It may not suit everyone to prepare their own continental breakfast in their room but it was quite a novelty and certainly gives you flexibility over when you have your breakfast. The bed was very comfortable and we had a two excellent night's sleep.The en-suite was a long narrow room with a rather small wash basin but a very good shower. The wi-fi also worked really well. The only criticism we could make is that the bed had a material headboard which certainly looked clean but gives concern over hygene as people rest their heads against it. This would certainly not put us off staying here again as everything else was spot on. Thank you Sophia and Paul for helping to make our first visit to Clacton an enjoyable one.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back and higher up may be quieter as they are wy from the main road that runs past the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Island_Hopper51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2014

The owners were helpful and friendly, the room clean. The bed and bedding had seen better days and the room was VERY noisy. Ths fridge was noisy, and being ground floor front, the road noise was bad and it was a choice of being to hot or close the window,. Just outside the room was the smoking area so if the window was open the smoke came into the room. I would only visit again if I did not get this room. Breakfast was bread ( toaster provided) cereal yoghurt, butter and preserves served in the room. Microwave also available. The en suit was very narrow and the sink tiny. Difficult to brush your teeth without banging your head on the shelf.

Room Tip: Dont accept room 7 or I suspect any facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparrow J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2014 via mobile

Peeps that run this BnB are nice people were very helpful Room was clean as was the en suite. But the bed was not that comfortable and our fridge made the noise of a snorer.. The down side is that we found not a great deal to do at CoS. Which is not the fault of the BnB owners.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Me and my gf stayed for 2 nites..was made very welcomed..room was lovely and clean..lovely continental breakfast very filling..5 minute walk to Clacton pier..would definitely recommend this guest house..Alex n Suzanne from Kent x

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uppie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I visited this bed and breakfast while visiting family in Clacton. The room was spacious and extremely clean the beds were really comfortable. Breakfast was a continental which was in the room already. There us a fridge in the room as well as microwave kettle and toaster plenty of fresh milk and a loaf if fresh bread with butters and jams which was a nice touch. The owner was welcoming and friendly. It's a 5 min walk from the seafront if that. Parking available in the drive too which was so handy. Will be visiting again when in Clacton.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed only one night but I can highly recommended. We asked for extra stuff and everything was ready when we arrived. Very nice and clean we felt like we were home. I was there with my 2 children (16 & 1.5) and they both enjoyed their stay. Very close to the sea and attractions.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Anna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in room no 6. This was a twin room consisting of a small double and a single bed. The bathroom was small but very well fitted out and the loo had an amazingly quiet flush.

Beds were comfortable. As stated before, breakfast items supplied in the room and this was a big draw for us as we had a very late night planned and it was great to be able to potter around with a cup of tea and make breakfast at leisure in the morning. The room was very quiet and the whole place very peaceful and well looked after. Unfortunately I had a cold virus which left me feverish and in bed much of the second day. We did not want to cancel our weekend as we had come for an event so I struggled on and it was great that the hotel was so quiet and comfortable as it was well needed. I really cannot find a fault with this place at all. Good location, parking, great rooms and facilities and all reasonably priced. Don't change a thing :)

Room Tip: We had room 6 and found it very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buzziewine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clacton-on-Sea hotels
0.4 km away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 16 in Clacton-on-Sea
415 reviews
2.1 km away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
611 reviews
0.6 km away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#10 of 16 in Clacton-on-Sea
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Clacton-On-Sea (Seafront) Hotel
7.9 km away
Premier Inn Clacton-on-Sea (North / Colchester Road) Hotel
0.3 km away
The Langtry Hotel
The Langtry Hotel
#11 of 16 in Clacton-on-Sea
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunton House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunton House Guest House

Address: Guest House 15 Carnarvon Road, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 6PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range: $82 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brunton House Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Brunton House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing