We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“August Bank holiday weekend ”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brunton House Guest House
Ranked #5 of 13 Clacton-on-Sea B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

We booked very last minute. We'd been travelling from East Sussex, Kent then Essex. Was due to go home, but decided on another day due to the brilliant weather! Having a dog in tow, we were limited to accommodation. This place was lovely. Very near the beach...for both dogs and non dog lovers!
The room was very clean. All breakfast food was in the room. Cereals..lots of choice. Yogurts in the fridge. Cheese and jam. Toaster, kettle. Amazing choice for teas/coffee! We were spoilt for choice. Also lots of fruit.
We had our evening meal at a Turkish restaurant nearby. Good food. Dogs allowed outside. We had hot weather, so no problem.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank bonnie1961_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2017

Great location with on site parking. Only 2 minutes from the seafront / beach and about 10 minutes into the centre of town and the rail station.

Really friendly and helpful owners with a well appointed and clean room. Good shower in the bathroom which was also spotlessly clean.

There is no breakfast room here, as food is provided to make your own breakfast in your room - fridge, toaster, kettle, microwave with bread, milk. fruit, yogurt, coffee, tea, and a selection of jams. This is very convenient as you don't have to be up to get to breakfast at a set time and unless you want a cooked breakfast, the food is plentiful (there is a Sainsbury's 5 minutes down the road too).

We had a room on the top floor overlooking the road which wasn't too noisy even though we had the window open. Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robbiebgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Set in an ideal location for Clacton seafront. Great concept of being able to have breakfast in your room at a time that suits you with plenty of options.
We were looked after by Paul as his wife was away. We only spoke to him briefly on 2 occasions but he was very pleasant.
I do not like giving negative feedback but I think that although our room was spotlessly clean the guest house is a little tired and the beds and pillows were really uncomfortable.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back but peeked into one at the front which was much lighter but may have been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bella9849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017

My sisters and I stayed at Brunton House last Saturday night for the first time. We were celebrating my sister's birthday and wanted to find somewhere central to the restaurants / bars and the theatre - this ticked all the boxes!

Paul made us feel very welcome and was helpful regarding directions to both the restaurant and the theatre as we were not very familiar with Clacton.

The family room was lovely - spacious and spotlessly clean, with a double and a single bed, a fridge, a dining table and chairs and an en-suite shower room and toilet as well as a separate sink in the bedroom. Breakfast was provided in the room - there was fresh bread with a variety of spreads and jams, cereals and yoghurts with orange juice and milk in the fridge, as well as a lovely bowl of fresh fruit!

We have spent weekends in Clacton before and would definitely say that this is one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in - we would definitely recommend Brunton House and wouldn't hesitate to return!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank valandkarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016

It was a great room really great owners the breakfast was different continental breakfast in the room the beds were really hard found it difficult to sleep hips and ankles really sore in the morning I informed the owner and He said that no one had said anything before I feel He did not take my comment seriously He said may be perhaps the mattress needed turning W ether this has happened or not I do not know

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alf D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

My dad booked this B & B for us to stay in to watch the Clacton Airshow .

Location was perfect only 2 minutes from the seafront.

Owners were friendly and helpful, accommodation suited our needs and had everything we needed for a home from home. We had access to a fridge, microwave, toaster and kettle on the room. Sainsburys is only two minutes up the road so could buy food/drink to keep in the fridge which was good for us with our little one.

Had a good nights sleep, even though situated on a main road was not noisy. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

My daughter, 5 yr old grandson and I stayed for a one night stopover on Tuesday 23 August.We had an en-suite family room which was spacious and clean.The breakfast which was included was buffer style which we ate in our room.Everything was supplied table chairs,mini fridge,microwave,toaster,kettle,milk bread cereals and a bowl of fruit on table,yogurts in fridge.Everything we could want.We where able to park in front and only 3 mins from beach.Will definately go again and thoroughly recommend it.Thank you to landlady sorry forgot to sign in visit book.

Room Tip: we were overlooking garden at back no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank motherpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clacton-on-Sea hotels
0.4 km away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 16 in Clacton-on-Sea
415 reviews
2.1 km away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
615 reviews
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Clacton-On-Sea (Seafront) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#9 of 16 in Clacton-on-Sea
263 reviews
7.9 km away
Premier Inn Clacton-on-Sea (North / Colchester Road) Hotel
0.2 km away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#12 of 16 in Clacton-on-Sea
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunton House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunton House Guest House

Address: Guest House 15 Carnarvon Road, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 6PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range: $82 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brunton House Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Brunton House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing