We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Kingscliff Hotel(Holland-on-Sea)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chudleigh(Clacton-on-Sea)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Esplanade Hotel(Clacton-on-Sea)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Beeches(Clacton-on-Sea)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Elris Essex House(Clacton-on-Sea)
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Cabana Guest House(Clacton-on-Sea)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barnfield B&B(St Osyth)
US$158
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Stonar Hotel(Clacton-on-Sea)
US$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Adelaide Guesthouse(Clacton-on-Sea)
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
29
11
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
11
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloaf of breadyogurtseaside breaksingle bedroom was cleantoasterfridgebreakfastkentpierclactonaccommodationbeddingtoilet
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 45 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2017

Great location with on site parking. Only 2 minutes from the seafront / beach and about 10 minutes into the centre of town and the rail station.

Really friendly and helpful owners with a well appointed and clean room. Good shower in the bathroom which was also spotlessly clean.

There is no breakfast room here, as food is provided to make your own breakfast in your room - fridge, toaster, kettle, microwave with bread, milk. fruit, yogurt, coffee, tea, and a selection of jams. This is very convenient as you don't have to be up to get to breakfast at a set time and unless you want a cooked breakfast, the food is plentiful (there is a Sainsbury's 5 minutes down the road too).

We had a room on the top floor overlooking the road which wasn't too noisy even though we had the window open. Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robbiebgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2017

Set in an ideal location for Clacton seafront. Great concept of being able to have breakfast in your room at a time that suits you with plenty of options.
We were looked after by Paul as his wife was away. We only spoke to him briefly on 2 occasions but he was very pleasant.
I do not like giving negative feedback but I think that although our room was spotlessly clean the guest house is a little tired and the beds and pillows were really uncomfortable.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back but peeked into one at the front which was much lighter but may have been noisier as on a main road.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bella9849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 3, 2017

My sisters and I stayed at Brunton House last Saturday night for the first time. We were celebrating my sister's birthday and wanted to find somewhere central to the restaurants / bars and the theatre - this ticked all the boxes!

Paul made us feel very welcome and was helpful regarding directions to both the restaurant and the theatre as we were not very familiar with Clacton.

The family room was lovely - spacious and spotlessly clean, with a double and a single bed, a fridge, a dining table and chairs and an en-suite shower room and toilet as well as a separate sink in the bedroom. Breakfast was provided in the room - there was fresh bread with a variety of spreads and jams, cereals and yoghurts with orange juice and milk in the fridge, as well as a lovely bowl of fresh fruit!

We have spent weekends in Clacton before and would definitely say that this is one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in - we would definitely recommend Brunton House and wouldn't hesitate to return!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank valandkarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 31, 2016

It was a great room really great owners the breakfast was different continental breakfast in the room the beds were really hard found it difficult to sleep hips and ankles really sore in the morning I informed the owner and He said that no one had said anything before I feel He did not take my comment seriously He said may be perhaps the mattress needed turning W ether this has happened or not I do not know

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alf D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2016 via mobile

My dad booked this B & B for us to stay in to watch the Clacton Airshow .

Location was perfect only 2 minutes from the seafront.

Owners were friendly and helpful, accommodation suited our needs and had everything we needed for a home from home. We had access to a fridge, microwave, toaster and kettle on the room. Sainsburys is only two minutes up the road so could buy food/drink to keep in the fridge which was good for us with our little one.

Had a good nights sleep, even though situated on a main road was not noisy. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews