We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
26
24
12
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
24
12
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shared bathroom family room thanks john def stay again booked a single room mr and mrs b and b full english sea front cooked fresh breakfast room stayed here for nights lovely breakfast visiting clacton a great stay dog pier
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 73 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night and it didn't disappoint. Good location right by the seafront. Really lovely staff, very cosy and great full English in the morning. Can't fault it! Thank you. Would definitely visit again.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Chloé T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2017 via mobile

We've stayed at the Melrose several times and have another overnighter booked for May. Comfortable rooms and very friendly welcome and service. Great breakfast. Parking on site, which is a distinct advantage. Overall a good place to stay and relatively economic.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2017 via mobile

Yes this a basic hotel but they provide everything you need. The rooms are a little dated but that's one of the things that I like about this place. They are extremely clean though from what I have found! The staff are friendly and always there to help. I also have a dog and she loves it there too. Have stayed in other hotels in clacton (more modern and more expensive) but this is by far my favourite hotel in clacton, it has a nice atmosphere.

Stayed: December 2016
Thank Luke428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2016

Excellent value, free parking and close to town centre, friendly and helpful staff, rooms clean (cleaned every day during visit) with towels, kettle, tea and coffee provided, bathroom clean with large, floor level shower, excellent cooked breakfast with toast, cereals and yoghurts,and vegetarian breakfast provided. We will definitely use Melrose Hotel every time we visit Clacton.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a sea view, so ask on booking.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank _mrianproctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2016

Melrose Hotel - your typically English bed and breakfast hotel great location - single room at a great price. breakfast was of hotel quality and free parking ! the room had everything I needed. would have been nice if there was a lift instead of climbing the stairs so if you can't climb the stairs best choose somewhere else

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alison196307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews