We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visiting clacton”
Review of Melrose Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melrose Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Clacton-on-Sea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2017

we stayed for 1 night,paid for a family room even though there were only 2 of us ,as I like a bit of room to move about,the room although quite comfy was very small and dated,the wi fi was good,the bar was a little disappointing with no draught beer or lemon slices for the spirits,the staff were v nice and helpful and the breakfast was fine.The one really negative point to our stay was 1 or 2 dubious characters who shall we say looked as though they had partaken of one or two substances,even going so far as to ask the manager for some tinfoil???

Room Tip: don't have room 8...no view apart from the street behind hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donna179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night and it didn't disappoint. Good location right by the seafront. Really lovely staff, very cosy and great full English in the morning. Can't fault it! Thank you. Would definitely visit again.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Chloé T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

We've stayed at the Melrose several times and have another overnighter booked for May. Comfortable rooms and very friendly welcome and service. Great breakfast. Parking on site, which is a distinct advantage. Overall a good place to stay and relatively economic.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Yes this a basic hotel but they provide everything you need. The rooms are a little dated but that's one of the things that I like about this place. They are extremely clean though from what I have found! The staff are friendly and always there to help. I also have a dog and she loves it there too. Have stayed in other hotels in clacton (more modern and more expensive) but this is by far my favourite hotel in clacton, it has a nice atmosphere.

Stayed: December 2016
Thank Luke428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Excellent value, free parking and close to town centre, friendly and helpful staff, rooms clean (cleaned every day during visit) with towels, kettle, tea and coffee provided, bathroom clean with large, floor level shower, excellent cooked breakfast with toast, cereals and yoghurts,and vegetarian breakfast provided. We will definitely use Melrose Hotel every time we visit Clacton.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a sea view, so ask on booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank _mrianproctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Melrose Hotel - your typically English bed and breakfast hotel great location - single room at a great price. breakfast was of hotel quality and free parking ! the room had everything I needed. would have been nice if there was a lift instead of climbing the stairs so if you can't climb the stairs best choose somewhere else

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alison196307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016

I stayed at the Melrose for one night and was impressed with the value.It comes up as the cheapest on searches and therefore my expectations were low.I had also read a few bad reviews.
On arrival i realised that parking could turn out to be a hassle as there are limited on site spaces ( about six cars ) and you may be asked to move to let others out.
I was greeted by John and his wife whom were welcoming and friendly.
I had a top floor room with shared bathroom and a amazing view of the sea and the pier.
The room was clean and had a corner sink.
The location was excellent and just a short distance to shops, pier, gardens and the beach which is right across the road.
The hotel has a large downstairs layout with darts, pool table, fish tanks,TV and its in-house bar.
In the morning a very good English breakfast ( included in room price )was served between 8-9 by friendly staff.
Apart from parking hassles the only other negative was a poor wifi signal.

Room Tip: Top floor nice and quiet but no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mekongmarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clacton-on-Sea hotels
2 km away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
614 reviews
0.6 km away
Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central
0.4 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#7 of 15 in Clacton-on-Sea
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Grosvenor House
Grosvenor House
#7 of 13 in Clacton-on-Sea
38 reviews
0.5 km away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 16 in Clacton-on-Sea
415 reviews
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Clacton-On-Sea (Seafront) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melrose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose Hotel

Address: 53 Marine Parade East, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range: $62 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Melrose Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Melrose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing