We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Beeches

The Beeches
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Beeches
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Haverhill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Spent one night here on 31st march 2012, lovely clean rooms excellent advice from liz about places to eat in the local area! Had a lovely comfortable quiet nights sleep, went down for breakfast about 830 and had a lovely choice of food from cereal and toast to a full English!! The 4 of us were the last in the dining room and Barry and liz came and sat with us for a while and we all had a good old chat and put the world to rights! All in all fantastic b&b, fantastic couple and will definitely go back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    64
    16
    6
    7
See reviews for
61
87
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The owners, Barry and Liz, were very warm and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them. It was a beautifully clean hotel and the breakfasts were well cooked with more than you could eat available. In all I had a very pleasant stay and would certainly stay again. Every success to them, Josephine

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josephine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Liz and Barry run a spotlessly clean hotel. The decoration and upkeep couldn’t be improved upon. At the same time it's warm and cosy. We booked them out for a conference taking place in town and all our delegates were more than happy with the accommodation. The breakfast room is a charming and relaxing area, the full English fine and service comes with banter and good cheer! Thanks to Liz and Barry.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean_Yvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peel, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

What lovely people. Big hearts. What a super stay. By chance my sister and I found "The Beeches", on our visit to Clacton, with his great sense of humour Barry met us at the door, invited us in. The room was spacious and had every amenity required. We stayed two nights and on both breakfast times the food was plentiful, (beautifully cooked), varied, (continental), and mouthwatering. More coffee and toast was offered if needed. Both Liz and Barry were helpful and chatty and were a mine of information regarding the country around Clacton. We left feeling we had a couple of super friends and would definitely stay again. Car parking was outside which completed the stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We had not booked anything prior to our stay as it was just quick visit to our daughter. The Beeches was the first one we saw with vacancies so took a chance, so glad we did. Barry greeted us and showed us to our room, it was a lovely spacious room at the front, very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was one of the best we have had choice of cereals, yoghurts and fruit juices, we opted for the full english (you get a choice of about 6 options) which was perfect, plenty of toast and was asked if we wanted more, we could not eat anymore but did have another pot of tea when asked. Liz and Barry were really friendly and we chatted for quite a while. We will definately be staying with them again when we visit our daughter and partner and new grandchild. Would definately recommend this B&B for a short or long stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hullkr17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

Stayed just for one night but Liz & Barry were extremely welcoming and on hand whenever needed. The location is brilliant, close to the town and sea front and the facilities were spot on for anyone visiting on a short break and reasonably priced. Breakfast was lovely. I would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geddo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

We didnt book a B&B before going to Clacton-on-sea! Saw the advertisement for vacancies in the window! Very helpful and friendly! was offered the family room! large size room for 2 adults and small child, plenty of space! We had en-suite facilities, Satalite tele and tea and coffee in the room! Very clean and tidy! Had Parking spaces available to use and was a 5 minute walk from the centre, brilliant location! Liz and Barry very helpful, hadnt been to clacton before, they advised us of places to visit for children, nice resaurants to eat in! The breakfast was amazing, lots to choose from Cereals, fruit, yoghurts, Cooked breaky, Toast, Juices and tea and coffee! Good quality products used, i.e. Fab tea, PG tips, :-)! Was very nice to let us leave the car on the front the day we checked out so we could make the most of the last day!Overall excellent B&B for great value, would deffinately go again but stay for 2 nights next time! thank you! Rachel, Ben and Sophie. From Luton

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clacton-on-Sea hotels
0.2 km away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Clacton-On-Sea (Seafront) Hotel
2.7 km away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Premier Inn Clacton-on-Sea (North / Colchester Road) Hotel
1.2 km away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#14 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
3.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.2 km away
The Sandrock
The Sandrock
#7 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beeches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beeches

Property: The Beeches
Address: 12-14 Ellis Road, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beeches 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly family run guest-house. Recently refurbished to a very high standard. Minutes from the centre of Clacton and the sea-front. 3-star AA rating. Excellent breakfast made with locally sourced produce. Please ring for further information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your The Beeches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing