We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Want a stress free family Xmas?.....book the barn”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Wheatsheaf Barn

Entrance and Guest Terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance and Guest Terrace
Open plan dining area Set for Dinner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Entrance and Guest Terrace
Open plan dining area
Set for Dinner
Sitting room with wood burner
Kitchen
Kitchen
View from the balcony
Wheatsheaf Barn
Balcony sitting area with sofa bed
Looking through to the courtyard
From the courtyard door
Bedroom 1 set up with Super-king bed
Bedroom 1 set up with two singles
Arts and Crafts bedroom
Red Bedroom
Wood!!! The landing corridor.
Full Height from the landing.
Laundry (which is upstairs).
Downstairs room with chair beds and door through to boot room and shower.
Additional ensuite bedrooms are available in the owner's house across the courtyard.
The other holiday let in the village- Grayson Perry's 'house for Essex'.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Manningtree, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Frosty201...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Want a stress free family Xmas?.....book the barn”
Reviewed January 8, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

I live in Australia and rented the barn for a homecoming with my brother and sister in law along with 12 week old niece and 2 dogs. We rented for 8 days and had numerous visitors over the time we were there. The place immediately felt like home and we did not want to leave. There is so much space that nobody was on top of each other and if you want a bit of peace you can sit on the mezzanine and chill looking at the fantastic view or in the games room having a read. The place is so well equipped we had 12 for dinner Xmas day and it was a breeze. I would highly recommend the barn for Xmas and at any other time of the year. I have a funny feeling that Xmas will be booked already for 2013 as everyone that stayed wanted to book it.....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the space
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda w
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We stayed for New Year's Eve with friends and family 11 in total. Janet and tony are friendly warm and welcoming. There place is stunning, clean, comfortable, warm with all modcons. Everything you needed all under a huge roof ! Beautiful nature walk and friendly locals. I had the craft room which the bed was so soft I didn't want to get out of it. Showers and toilets all over the barn so no waiting around seating in all areas so we could all relax without being on top of each other. Sound proofing really good and slept like a log. Didn't find a local pub but we really didn't want to leave the barn with the log fire and champagne cooling and one of Janet's home made mince pies we was set for the stay. Janet and tony also accommodated a couple of extra guest for New Year's Eve which we was great full for.
Would return again and again and would highly recommend. They have a truly beautiful home.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belgopink
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic barn, great location, wouldnt hesitate to recommend to anyone!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We stayed at Wheatsheaf Barn for a hen weekend. There were 9 of us in total and as one of the organisers, I was delighted with our choice of accommodation! It's a brilliant spot. The barn itself is a great building - huge inside and not overlooked by the owners but they are close at hand and very willing to help out if required. The interior has been completed to a high spec and it felt really comfortable to stay there for the weekend. We loved the fact it had a seperate wine coller fridge in the kitchen and a fridge with water cooler/ice dispencer. Almost all guests for the weekend were travelling from London and it is really convenient. We took the train to Wrabness and Janet, the owner, is very happy to assist with lifts from the station, although it is walkable too. We explored the local area on foot which is lovely - good walks and some useful suggestions from the owners - and used the BBQ and terrace too - we were very lucky with the weather! I would stay here again and I would definitely recommend for group holidays with family or friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jflo22
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant location for a friends and family get away!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012 for a stay in May 2011

Some friends and I had an absolutely brilliant stay at the Wheatsheaf Barn earlier in the year. The barn itself was stunning and the location perfect for us travelling from London. The owners Tony and Janet were extremely helpful and made sure that we had everything we needed for our stay. The barn is so lovely I can't wait to visit again :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the amazingness of the barn building itself
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie M
Essex, England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a chilled getaway”
Reviewed September 17, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We just spent a lovely weekend at Wheatsheaf Barn. We are a family group of 10 girls and we try to get away for a weekend every year. We choose the barn because of the open plan so we're altogether no matter where we are. The kitchen was well equipped with everything we could possibly need.....a huge fridge/freezer and a seperate wine fridge! We were given a lovely cake when arrived which was made by the owner, Janet. It's a lovely barn in a lovely area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shorty999
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing space.”
Reviewed August 1, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

I spent a week at the Wheatsheaf Barn with my husband to spend quality time with family who live in Colchester. It is huge and would easily accommodate our whole family for a family celebration.
The layout of the building is fabulous and if you need something, it's there. The barn is clean, spacious and very comfortable. Watching the sunset from the balcony and also seeing two woodpeckers land right in front of the Barn were highlights of our trip.
Wrabness is a lovely little village. We used the friendly village shop which is within walking distance of the Barn where we were able to buy essentials. We also enjoyed walks down little tracks to the Stour. It's a great place for dog lovers.
The owners, and very discreet neighbours, Janet & Tony could not have been more welcoming. Thank you for sharing your place with us. Well done Tony for your vision and hard work in converting this amzing space.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Seeing 2 woodpeckers land in front of the barn
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jude B
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely spacious accommodation in peaceful village”
Reviewed June 21, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We visited this accommodation with a young family who enjoyed the vast living areas, and the toys provided. We found this to be a well equipped holiday let in a beautiful barn conversion and enjoyed the views along the Stour Estuary and the lovely local walks to great nature reserves - a great place to stay for keen bird watchers all year round. Be aware that there are hard floors throughout if you have a baby of crawling age!

Train station is nearby so you can leave your car behind! Shame there was no local pub though. Owners were relaxed and flexible to our needs. We hope to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space, the views and the peace and quiet.
Liked least: Would be better with a garden, but compensated with plenty of lovely walks nearby
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing