We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Granary, highly recommended, comfortable...”

Review of Wheatsheaf Barn

Entrance and Guest Terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance and Guest Terrace
Open plan dining area Set for Dinner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Entrance and Guest Terrace
Open plan dining area
Set for Dinner
Sitting room with wood burner
Kitchen
Kitchen
View from the balcony
Wheatsheaf Barn
Balcony sitting area with sofa bed
Looking through to the courtyard
From the courtyard door
Bedroom 1 set up with Super-king bed
Bedroom 1 set up with two singles
Arts and Crafts bedroom
Red Bedroom
Wood!!! The landing corridor.
Full Height from the landing.
Laundry (which is upstairs).
Downstairs room with chair beds and door through to boot room and shower.
Additional ensuite bedrooms are available in the owner's house across the courtyard.
The other holiday let in the village- Grayson Perry's 'house for Essex'.
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Manningtree, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alexandra...
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Granary, highly recommended, comfortable, tasteful accommodation, beautiful location.”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I would definitely recommend The Granary, a beautiful converted barn in Wrabness, highly suitable for a family holiday. Bedrooms were very comfortable, the kitchen was well fitted out and large living space all made the holiday very easy to manage for our group of 9 adults and 3 babies.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: lovely converted barn, tastefully decorated
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L Y
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ideal place to stay”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 for a stay in September 2013

My friend and I stayed here at the barn last year. Wow, incredible! This place is huge and lovely. Open, light and airy. There were so many areas to settle into. I would love to be in here with a big family. Fortunately while we were there, the weather was lovely but we found ourselves thinking how nice it would be to hang out in the "barn" if it were raining and inclement. So many light filled sitting areas. It was well stocked and very clean.

There is a table outside where we had breakfast in the sun. The walk to the river is gorgeous, the whole area is stunningly pastoral and peaceful. Janet was so very helpful and welcoming in all ways.

Grab some friends and rent this fabulous, spacious, light and cozy home (calling it a barn doesn't do it justice--even though it obviously was one once). Oh yes, the beds were VERY comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Openess and spaciousness and comfort
Liked least: Can't even think of anything we didn't like.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie B
Ware, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I recently visited this barn for my Hen do, with 9 ladies in total!

This is the most beautiful barn, in a wonderful setting and ideal for any type of get away. Everything about the accommodation is perfect, from the huge American fridge, to the jacuzzi bath and every little detail has been thought of from handwash to candles, a homemade cake on arrival and a chilling wine fridge!

Everywhere was beautifully clean and towels and bedding where of very good quality.
I cant say a big enough thank you to Janet and her husband who were incredibly helpful and respectful throughout our stay - even on informing them that we were going to take an afternoon stroll we were quickly presented with a printed Tide Times Table to help us plan our walk around the beach. They also recommended Lucca's restaurant in Manningtree where i had the best pizza i have ever eaten!

I cant wait to visit again in the near future, and i will be sure to recommend your barn to everyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How relaxing it was, how kind the owners where and how every little detail had been thought of!
Liked least: The pool cue could do to be replaced.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandraeag...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely place but could do with being cleaner”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Wheatsheaf Barn is a lovely place in a great quite area, the locals are really friendly and helpful, the cake the owners left for us was delicious, but we felt the cleaning was not up to standard for a place costing this amount, the oven was dirty and bathrooms grubby. and all the windows and glass on the staircase needed a good clean.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2014
I am pleased that there was a lot that you liked about Wheatsheaf Barn but I am extremely sorry that you were disappointed in the cleanliness. Fair to say that the change over before you came had not gone well! The previous people left very late, giving us a scant two hours instead of the usual four to do the change over including the reception of your shopping. We want to avoid this happening again so we have already amended booking in and departure times. If you were to book again then we will give a discount.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skegness
Reviewed 5 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How beautiful the building was - so modern and spacious
Liked least: A bit cold upstairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lauren M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 21 January 2013 for a stay in November 2012

From my initial enquiry up until the moment we left, Janet and Tony ensured our stay at Wheatsheaf Barn was perfect. We were welcomed unexpectedly at the station by Janet who had also left us a homemade cake at the house. They even offered to pick our friends up from the station later in the evening.

The barn itself is wonderful, the perfect mix of homliness and modernity, with lots of space for families with children or large groups of friends with dogs such as ourselves. With a log burner and a big open plan downstairs, it was the perfect weekend break filled with walks on the local beach and in the surrounding woods.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frosty201...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Want a stress free family Xmas?.....book the barn”
Reviewed 8 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

I live in Australia and rented the barn for a homecoming with my brother and sister in law along with 12 week old niece and 2 dogs. We rented for 8 days and had numerous visitors over the time we were there. The place immediately felt like home and we did not want to leave. There is so much space that nobody was on top of each other and if you want a bit of peace you can sit on the mezzanine and chill looking at the fantastic view or in the games room having a read. The place is so well equipped we had 12 for dinner Xmas day and it was a breeze. I would highly recommend the barn for Xmas and at any other time of the year. I have a funny feeling that Xmas will be booked already for 2013 as everyone that stayed wanted to book it.....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the space
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$157
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing