We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great weekend property with friends!”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Wheatsheaf Barn

Entrance and Guest Terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance and Guest Terrace
Open plan dining area Set for Dinner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Entrance and Guest Terrace
Open plan dining area
Set for Dinner
Sitting room with wood burner
Kitchen
Kitchen
View from the balcony
Wheatsheaf Barn
Balcony sitting area with sofa bed
Looking through to the courtyard
From the courtyard door
Bedroom 1 set up with Super-king bed
Bedroom 1 set up with two singles
Arts and Crafts bedroom
Red Bedroom
Wood!!! The landing corridor.
Full Height from the landing.
Laundry (which is upstairs).
Downstairs room with chair beds and door through to boot room and shower.
Additional ensuite bedrooms are available in the owner's house across the courtyard.
The other holiday let in the village- Grayson Perry's 'house for Essex'.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Manningtree, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Natasha G
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great weekend property with friends!”
Reviewed November 8, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed here with a group of 9 people and thoroughly enjoyed this particular barn. We found it on the internet and booking was very easy and reasonable. The owners themselves live just behind the barn so were nearby in case of any problems but were not intruding in any way. We loved the little touches around the house, such as the banana cake that was baked by the owner for our arrival.

The house itself was much bigger than anticipated and was lovely and open plan. Considering there was 9 people in the house, we never once felt claustrophobic. There was plenty of bathrooms for everyone, and it also had washing facilities for those who were spending longer there to clean their clothes. Towels were provided as well as certain cleaning bits to clean the house with. Any problems we had were dealt with very easily.

In terms of location, you would need a car to get about to bigger supermarkets. But there were some lovely walking routes for those who are keen walkers. A lovely, relaxing weekend spent here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie H
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“10/10”
Reviewed November 8, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

A great place to stay for groups, the barn is very well decorated and the owners are friendly and helpful. The barn had everything that we needed for the weekend and the area of Wrabness was picturesque with many places to explore. We would definitely recommend this place to others. Thank you to our hosts for a wonderful weekend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2015
Thank you for your kind comments- you, also, were lovely guests and left everything in good order. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B
Wellington UK
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation in a lovely setting”
Reviewed August 27, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lived in Essex for 30 years but never got to this lovely corner - Manningtree and the Stour estuary a world away from the London sprawl. The barn is quality build and fully equipped for large groups, the dishawasher a godsend! The games room and four loos perfect with kids on board. The owners are very friendly - in the background but available if necessary. It's a ten minute drive to Manningtree's surprisingly large Coop and numerous cafes and takeaways, while beautiful estuary walks along decent paths are just a field or two away. Harwich is close, past its heyday, but ideal for fresh quayside crab. and a ferry to Felixstowe's fort and dramatic container berths. Perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its location.
Liked least: Some glassware dishwashered to death!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHarper
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Huge barn perfect for an escape to the country”
Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I rented the property for a weekend away with a group of 10 women and everyone of them loved the barn. The owner Janet made booking easy and had even baked us a cake to welcome us! The barn is very modern and incredibly spacious. We loved the four separate bathrooms and huge lounge to relax in, as well as the peace and quiet, views of the River Stour and the outdoor space for bbqs. Wrabness is beautiful and very peaceful - if you love the countryside then walk the Essex Way from the barn to the nearby RSPB nature reserve and along the riverbank. The barn backs onto a meadow and we had lambs and sheep peering in which was wonderful! Grayson Perry's 'A House for Essex' is within walking distance and well worth a look at too. Overall the barn was perfect for a large group, very well presented with good facilities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The spaciousness
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleepycat...
minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Beautiful home with all the comforts one could want”
Reviewed October 25, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I've stayed here twice now, 12 days in September and 14 in October. The home has been lovingly restored and modernized from an early 18th Century barn into a large three-plus bedroom self-catered lodge. The kitchen is huge and well-equipped (with pans numerous enough and large enough to service our group of seven); the lounge has a nice big-screen TV and huge sofas; the games room includes two chairs that convert to cots. I was alone in that room and used both cushions for one cot, and found it very comfortable, plus it was right off the kitchen and as I was doing the cooking it meant I could get up and start breakfast before the others were up without disturbing them. When things needed attention, Tony and Janet were quick to respond (dryer belt, shower door off-track, off-smell from a septic tank). I've already got four more bookings in this lovely property for the next two years and looking forward very much. An added bonus: a large flock of lambs in a green paddock just outside the kitchen window kept us entertained. Also a nice touch was a delicious cake waiting for us on arrival!

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: size and comfort
Liked least: September had a sewage smell outside which they worked on and it was much better in October
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra...
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The Granary, highly recommended, comfortable, tasteful accommodation, beautiful location.”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I would definitely recommend The Granary, a beautiful converted barn in Wrabness, highly suitable for a family holiday. Bedrooms were very comfortable, the kitchen was well fitted out and large living space all made the holiday very easy to manage for our group of 9 adults and 3 babies.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: lovely converted barn, tastefully decorated
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L Y
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ideal place to stay”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 for a stay in September 2013

My friend and I stayed here at the barn last year. Wow, incredible! This place is huge and lovely. Open, light and airy. There were so many areas to settle into. I would love to be in here with a big family. Fortunately while we were there, the weather was lovely but we found ourselves thinking how nice it would be to hang out in the "barn" if it were raining and inclement. So many light filled sitting areas. It was well stocked and very clean.

There is a table outside where we had breakfast in the sun. The walk to the river is gorgeous, the whole area is stunningly pastoral and peaceful. Janet was so very helpful and welcoming in all ways.

Grab some friends and rent this fabulous, spacious, light and cozy home (calling it a barn doesn't do it justice--even though it obviously was one once). Oh yes, the beds were VERY comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Openess and spaciousness and comfort
Liked least: Can't even think of anything we didn't like.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing