We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Kebab I’ve ever had!”

Istanbul Turkish BBQ Restaurant & Takeaway
Reserve a table
2
Fri., 10-22
20:00
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #20 of 702 Restaurants in Southend-on-Sea
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed April 20, 2019 via mobile

After a family day out on the seafront in Southend, we decided to go to this Turkish restaurant. Best decision made! Considering we were a party of 7 (4adults and three children) they able to fit us in around the reservations. Were quick to serve us, the waitresses were really lovely and approachable. The food came quickly and hot and all together, presented beautifully! Considering they had three other large groups in at the same time as us. We were able to add to the order drinkwise really easily.

We left the restaurant full and we will definitely be visiting again next time we are in Southend!

5* definite one to visit when in Southend! And the do takeaways too!

Big thank you to the lovely staff who served us last night!

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank AmyJorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 461 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2019

A lot of very good food and realy nice atmosphere. We didn't know what to choose but we got a lot of help there and good price. Fully satisfied. I highly recommend!!

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Maverick071985
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2019

I have been going to this restaurant for years and i have not written a review because frankly some good things are to be kept a secret and this little oasis is a gem. I like the fact that it is run by people who care whether i am satisfied with the food or not. The staff is welcoming and they appreciate and value customers. Situated in the heart of Southend on sea in a location that could benefit from some attention by the local council. Its not in a posh area but once you get inside you find an enchanting little oasis awaiting to provide you with mouthwatering and wholesome food. Whatever one likes to eat something is here. Time and time i am drawn back. Definitely tops for me.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank meateatergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2019

Centrally situated, next to bus station and adjacent to Royals shopping mall,Mathis is a popular format for Turkish restaurants, with an open charcoal BBQ grill. Lots of food, plenty of choice, spotlessly clean. Less popular than its Chinese and Thai neighbour's but popular with the Deliveroo and Just Eat markets. Food is competent,bservice not over-friendly, let's say, but we enjoyed it for what it is.

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank F1523XKdavidc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2019

Popped in last Sat with friend we were warmly welcomed and told to sit anywhere we would like.
I had a large glass of white wine which was very nice and friend a vodka and lemonade.
We had the free meze which was lovely
I then had the chicken doner with rice which was huge and delicious and my friend the mixed grill which she said was fab
we were full up!
also go given couple free baclava to take home
lovely waitress and very helpful
no need to spend loads in a 'posher' turkish restaurant

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank jasperpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Istanbul Turkish BBQ Restaurant & Takeaway also viewed

Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to Istanbul Turkish BBQ Restaurant & Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.