We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Sunday roast We had”
Review of The Hamlet Court

The Hamlet Court
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$21
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Welcome to The Hamlet Court - a traditional community pub located in the heart of Hamlet Court Road, Westcliff-on-Sea. Located Just a short walk to both the Cliffs Pavilion and the Palace Theatre, our pub is the ideal location for a pre-show meal or post-show drink with family and friends. The bar is home to 5 excellent real ales on tap, including the award-winning Brewers Gold – a local speciality from Maldon. We also have a selection of over 20 whiskies, complemented by our exceptional wine list and cocktail menu. Our extensive range of drinks is more than adequately matched by our delicious food menus. Our freshly cooked, traditional pub dishes offer brilliant value for money. Whether you’re looking for a pub for a night out with friends, a vibrant live music venue to catch a local band, or a restaurant for a bite to eat before a night at the theatre, you’re always welcomed here at The Hamlet Court.
Reviewed February 9, 2020 via mobile

Amazing Sunday roast
We had the roast beef, hunters chicken, and I had the best Nut Roast I have had for some time. Potatoes cooked perfectly, and the Yorkshire pudding was also perfect. Restored my faith in a pub roast

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank LynnJ952
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 381 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2020

DO NOT READ THIS IF YOU ARE EATING
They now allow dogs into the pub which is under the discreation of the manager even if the establishment serves food.
However i am pretty sure that having a dog soil the floor with diarrhoea is not the way forward (and the smell).
Someone vomited outside due to the smell ,the staff frequently strokes animals (there was a snake in there once.) and proceed to serve without washing their hands.

After the customer cleaned up the mess ,(with blue paper and the spray they use to wipe the tables with nothing to disguise the smell of dog excrement) they went by the company protocol of bar snacks (roast potatoes and a little bit of beef left over from Sunday).


I hope your visit would be a little less adventurous

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lifeinoneday
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastAngliaPubs, Marketing at The Hamlet Court, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2020

Dear Rob,

Thank you for contacting us, I am sorry to hear of the circumstances which you found on your recent visit to the Hamlet Court Pub.

We do not consider this acceptable and have spoken with management and staff alike with a new policy being put in place regarding animals on site.

The staff truly could have better handled the situation and I am sorry you and other customers were left to endure the circumstances.




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 2, 2020

Can’t wait to visit again after the refurb as it’s a great pub! The nut roast is delicious and very reasonably priced

Date of visit: February 2020
1  Thank Jessicalucywoollard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2020

My wife and I had an excellent two course meal at The Hamlet Court before going to see a show at the Cliffs Pavilion Theatre. The starters were so good we struggled to finish our main meal which we also enjoyed. We were served by an Italian waiter, Bartolomeo, who was very pleasant and always available. We were really pleased to,learn that as we had tickets for the show we received 20% off the food bill. We also had gin and tonics plus coffees and it was all sensibly priced. The dining area is quite small but we will certainly return. We are used to eating at a sister hotel, the Peterboat, in Leigh and the food there is also very good and sensibly priced.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alanpE1037HR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2020

Tasty pub food with nice background music and a cosy feel. Great service by Joel too, highly recommend

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank G269CVjordanf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Hamlet Court also viewed

Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to The Hamlet Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.