We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A roast to die for! ”
Review of The Hamlet Court

The Hamlet Court
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$21
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Welcome to The Hamlet Court - a traditional community pub located in the heart of Hamlet Court Road, Westcliff-on-Sea. Located Just a short walk to both the Cliffs Pavilion and the Palace Theatre, our pub is the ideal location for a pre-show meal or post-show drink with family and friends. The bar is home to 5 excellent real ales on tap, including the award-winning Brewers Gold – a local speciality from Maldon. We also have a selection of over 20 whiskies, complemented by our exceptional wine list and cocktail menu. Our extensive range of drinks is more than adequately matched by our delicious food menus. Our freshly cooked, traditional pub dishes offer brilliant value for money. Whether you’re looking for a pub for a night out with friends, a vibrant live music venue to catch a local band, or a restaurant for a bite to eat before a night at the theatre, you’re always welcomed here at The Hamlet Court.
Reviewed September 6, 2020 via mobile

We just had a roast beef dinner and it was simply divine. Everything was delicious from the cauliflower cheese to the perfectly roasted potatoes. It was as nice as we make it at home. The servers were warm and friendly and the food was served quickly and was nice and hot. Will be back soon and on a regular basis.

Date of visit: September 2020
3  Thank 268lauran
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 381 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2020 via mobile

We had a lovely meal. We was served by Bartelomeo. He was very friendly and we didn't have to wait long for service

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank Jazzcasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2020

Big thank you to all the staff at The Hamlet Court - will definitely be going back. Firstly, we were made to feel so welcome the staff couldn't do enough to ensure that our visit was the best.
Sunday roast was superb (cauliflower cheese with the roast was delicious).
Staff were amazingly friendly and nothing was too much trouble, customer service is clearly a very high priority for this team.
Thank you so much. Even the dog got her own water bowl.

Date of visit: August 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2020 via mobile

Rude staff that do not have customer service skills!
Attempted to grab a quick drink and was refused due to it being 8.55pm and 5 mins away from shutting despite allowing regulars to order more drinks and others seated having full drinks!

Date of visit: August 2020
2  Thank danielleaD4367DB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastAngliaPubs, Public Relations Manager at The Hamlet Court, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2020

Thank you for contacting us - however having spoken to the site management perhaps I can provide our version of events.

Your group arrived at just gone 9pm with a young child, you were advised that the site was shut due to limited operational hours at this time and we do not have a license for children at that time either.

After this you purchased drinks from a local off licence and brought them back to our premises where you sat and used our outside tables.

When asked to move along with your drinks you were rude and abusive to our staff and management. It took the threat of calling the police to move you on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2020 via mobile

Terrible place and even worse staff. Rude, disrespectful and unaccommodating. I would find somewhere better

Date of visit: August 2020
1  Thank G4341QWjamesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastAngliaPubs, Public Relations Manager at The Hamlet Court, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2020

Please could i ask you to contact us directly with more information so that I can understand your concerns more thoroughly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hamlet Court also viewed

Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to The Hamlet Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.