We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Honest Review” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wyndham Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wyndham Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Clearwell B&B and Inns
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Honest Review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

After reading some of the reviews we arrived for our 2 night stay unsure of what to expect.
We can honestly say, having travelled both UK and rest of the world we do not know what some of these people expect for their money. It is a lovely English Inn full of character, welcoming and friendly staff - Charlie is a real character full of stories, and the rest of the crew are really friendly and eager to make your stay unforgettable. As for being dog friendly our two St Bernards were treated as celebrities and thoroughly enjoyed their vacation. The room was very clean and yes not up to the standard of a top hotel but compared to some of the accomodation we have stayed in this was first class - well worth every penny. The food was very good indeed, with the menu changing daily to give variation. We have already booked and are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamArmsHotel, Owner at The Wyndham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Steve P,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your 'honest' review.

We are delighted you found our Inn so welcoming and friendly with Charlie so entertaining.

We are pleased you found the room clean and the food very good and varied.

See you soon!

Kind regards, Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    110
    36
    42
    48
See reviews for
77
194
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

We had a free night offer so booked in for another night and went for a long weekend in the Forest of Dean. The hotel was in an ideal location for easily getting into the forest and exploring nearby attractions, as well as short local walks.
The room was adequate. As someone else mentioned...not sure why you can't have toilet roll as opposed to sheets and the tea/coffee facilities were a bit erm 'impersonal' / basic. However, the bed was comfy, the room was airy (although needs a bit of smartening up) and the shower was great despite the v dated bathroom.
The staff were very friendly and the bar area was lovely to sit in, in the evenings. We had a meal here on the first day and it was ideal for what we needed; hearty, country cooking. The breakfast was good, although enormous (my boyfriend might disagree!).
All in all a great few nights away.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny8425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We booked this hotel as it was only 200m away from a wedding we were attending at Clearwell Castle. We stayed in room 26 in the annex which was a large family room. The room was clean and very comfortable. Ample parking. The breakfast was lovely. And all the staff we met were very friendly.
The only downside to the hotel - I struggled to get any network coverage for O2 on my mobile in this hotel and the local area but I had been warned of this by the manager when making the booking.
We would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed at the Wyndham as we were attending a wedding at Clearwell Castle. The cost of the room was £115.00 including breakfast. The hotel offers early checkin for £15.00 extra, so the room will be made up by 12.00 noon. We arrived at 11.00am and it was ready for us so this was a major + as the wedding started at 12.30pm!

Check in was easy and no problem and the staff were really friendly as well. We stayed in the Annex which was adjacent to the main building. The room was large, but the decor was slightly dated. Bathroom was large as well but once again in need of updating. I eat at the bar and the food was nice and fresh (Roast Beef Sandwich) and seemed a fair price. The hotel is set in a very rural enviroment, so make sure you have everything you need for you stay.

The castle itself is 150 yards from the hotel, and we spent all day / night at the castle, so this was ideal.

Had a decent nights sleep in the bed as well, which was large and comfy. Breakfast was really nice, they offer a cooked breakfast and there is also ceral / fruit / jucies were on offer. Check out was at 11.00am.

If i was attending another wedding at clearwell castle i would stay at this hotel again no problem. The reason for the three star rating is mainly due to the decor of the hotel, but had no problems with the service & food at all.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holmezzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

The hotel is a bit run down and in need of some updating. Our room was reasonable but with chipped mugs for tea and coffee. And why do hoteliers assume that their guests are all thieves? Non-removable coat hangers, individual sheets of loo paper from a dispenser. But the bed was very comfortable due to the brand new mattress.
We were on a special 3 nights for the price of 2 offer which included dinner. bed and breakfast.
On the first evening, our starters of wild garlic soup and brandied chicken liver were good and boded well for the main courses. We both chose the Gloucester Old Spot pork from their own herd served with cider sauce and mash. Unfortunately, the meat was rather dry and overcooked. We were also offered some vegetables - baby carrots, which were good and purple sprouting broccoli which seemed tired. On the following evening, I chose a vegetarian lasagne and my husband had a gammon steak. The lasagne was burnt around the edges and dried out. The gammon came with some chips and that was it. The owner seemed to be under enormous pressure and was not very friendly, so we decided not to make a fuss.
In the meanwhile, we were going on some lovely long walks, coming across excellent fare in village pubs along the way. The Forest of Dean is beautiful and has good walking options.
On the last night, a Friday, and after a 9 mile walk we both were looking forward to fish and chips. However, the kitchen had run out and there was nothing else on the menu we fancied so we left and walked over the road to The Tudor Farmhouse Hotel & Restaurant where we had a fabulous fish and chips supper. When we returned, the young duty manager was on duty and he was shocked that we'd had to go elsewhere for our dinner and offered us a drink on the house. He made us feel welcome and it was great to finally find a friendly face.
The usual manager returned after being off sick and he couldn't have been nicer. We rather suspect that we would have had a better time of it if he had been there all along. Although whoever was on chef duties needs a bit of a shake up.
Random guests such as ourselves need to be aware that this is a spill over hotel for people attending weddings at the nearby castle.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kukalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Weekend break for my husbands birthday and first time away in a hotel with our dog Daisy. The room was ideal for Daisy as we had access to outside onto the car park. Daisy was also able to join us for meals as a table was set up in the bar, the menu was a bit restrictive, so more variety please. However we really enjoyed the break and the dog was made welcome which is the most important thing for us. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed here due to a wedding at clearwell castle, as we entered our room it was clear the place needed major updating and investment , the cleaners dog must have been on our bed!!!!! Dog hair all over top bed sheet, the room also smelt damp, and stuffy,drinks a rip off in bar too, and the cooked breakfast is like dry cardboard , all in all got to be the worst place we have ever stayed, thank god we were only there for one night!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mave75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Clearwell hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clearwell
0.2 km away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
6.3 km away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
2.6 km away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 km away
De Vere Tortworth Estate
16.2 km away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
2.7 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 10 in Coleford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wyndham Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyndham Arms Hotel

Property: The Wyndham Arms Hotel
Address: The Cross, Clearwell GL16 8JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Clearwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Clearwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wyndham Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oozing with period features, log fires and rustic charm, The Wyndham Arms Hotel is situated in the picturesque village of Clearwell between the beautiful Wye Valley and the Royal Forest of Dean. The hotel offers the closest accommodation to Clearwell Castle, the famous wedding venue, but is also ideal for those who enjoy walking, cycling and golfing in the Forest of Dean or simply wish for a romantic time away in a cosy inn with great food. The Wyndham Arms Hotel offers eighteen en-suite rooms of several types of comfortable accommodation from single rooms to double and twin rooms to family rooms to beamed four poster bedrooms and a sumptuous suite. The accommodation is situated in both the Manor House (circa 1347) and the adjoining Annex. The hotel bar combines rustic charm with a contemporary edge with oak flooring and tables and a large open fire place creating a relaxed atmosphere for lounging, drinking or casual dining. Local ales, cider and country wines accompany the menu offering classic pub classics with an up-to-date twist. The 'Old Spot' Country Restaurant is complete with a domed 'gaol', open stone walls, old oak beams and an open fire place. The exciting menu takes full advantage of the fresh, local and seasonal produce, cooked and simply presented to appeal to those who enjoy good food and described by Paddy Burt of The Daily Telegraph as '.....great stuff.....' Whether it's candlelight romance or relaxing with good company, our charming restaurant creates the perfect atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Expedia and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The Wyndham Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing