We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$76
View deal
Booking.com
US$85
View deal
Hotels.com
US$75
View deal
PricelineUS$85
eDreamsUS$85
TravelocityUS$75
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveller rating
146
146
92
44
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
146
146
92
44
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews enjoyable stay evening meal beef one night stay bath penny motorway bristol menu specials starters heating
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 452 reviews
Reviewed February 29, 2020 via mobile

Stopped for a night as a family of 5 after a long drive. After website said no suitable rooms rang the hotel and easily fixed. Even had one room upgraded to a honeymoon suite! Lush.

Dinner was excellent and very efficiently served with friendly staff and a great breakfast.

So easy to get to off the M4. Definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank stevesG1856ZX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2020

I have used this hotel a couple of times now and it os good. Conveniantly located on the M4 so within easy striking distance of Bristol, Bath & Chippenam etc. The rooms are warm and comfortable and the food on offer is really good.

Date of stay: February 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank iaino2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2020 via mobile

Having read the reviews we really were not too sure to expect, upon arrival (amid Dennis!) a warm welcome from Sarah & Penny, we accepted the very generous offer of DBB for one night. Our room was of a good size and included a bath! Very please with this!
Ample coffee etc a Bluetooth system immediately paired, the bed so comfortable.
Having booked dinner for 19:00 hrs we made our way to the two restaurants and bar, these were very well maintained and welcoming.
Our orders for dinner were taken by Donna, we opted for the specials, brisket of beef and bream, we were not disappointed cooked to perfection! the starters and deserts equally excellent!
All in all a very very enjoyable one night stay!
Thank you to Penny, John, Sarah, Frank (the amazing chef), and the bar girls, Arran our breakfast waiter, we shall return.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Honoured_accordingly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2020

I have just spent a brilliant nights stay at the Compass Inn. The staff are unbelievably friendly and helpful, there is loads of free parking, its in very easy reach of the M4 motorway and close to the A46 road into Bath. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the food in the restaurant is excellent. I would recommend this hotel to everyone

Date of stay: February 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 996alech
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020

We stayed in ‘’Executive’’ room 11, a small, poorly maintained, U-shaped room darkly furnished with a small window, so a dark room. The bed was directly on the floor !!!, NO bed frame, Particular for older people is it very difficult to get out of bed (rolling?). Only for our small dog it was easy, she could without jumping, walk onto the bed. There was no shelf in the bathroom to put toilet items on.
With another couple (friends) we were the only guests, men would have thought that you would first give your best rooms, if this was the case then it leave to think about the other rooms.
It was Sunday and there was only a choice of different roasts. The food was good. No coffee was available after dinner.
So you can see that even Best Western is no guarantee for a good hotel. We will not return here.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Fransch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews