We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“fun weekend stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Salford
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“fun weekend stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

booked very last minute as fancied staying over after seeing a play at the Lowrie. Least said about the play the better but the hotel was very nice and excellent value - clean, comfortable, great view. Really nice stay.

The Lowrie and Imperial War Museum North are a short stroll away and manchester centre just a hop on the tram - interesting to see Media City as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manchestercruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessGarrett, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
15th May 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

Reference: Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback, regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK.

It is our intention at all times to ensure that our guests are made to feel welcome whilst staying with us; therefore I am delighted that you did enjoy your stay.

I thank you for your communications and I do hope that your experience within the Holiday Inn brand allows you to stay with us in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Jess Garrett
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    379
    94
    32
    24
See reviews for
103
370
39
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

As I was taking my wife to the BBC studios to watch a recording of a question of sport this hotel seemed to be in the perfect location. We booked through booking.com. and rooms started at £80. We opted for an executive room on the 17th. floor (top) thinking it would have great views.... How wrong could I be the hotel was poorly sign posted and a well kept secret. When we finally got there you have to lug your bags from a multi store car-park which has no signs to the hotel. Never mind we had arrived and looking forward to our room which cost £140 a night INCLUDING BREAKFAST, a lot for a holiday inn. When we got in the room the bath was not full size but high so it made a bath hard work and a shower not much better. The room resembled a Travelodge but cost much more, never mind I pulled back to experience the view and wow, what a view, looking directly into an office block opposite or down on to the service area. We had a good nights sleep maybe because we did not stay up looking out of the window. lol. We had ordered room service and breakfast arrived on time, I did not discover the missing toast till the waiter had left and i was in the middle of breakfast.
WE checked out and the the hotel brought on the final surprise, a double charge for breakfast and a tray charge, I said our room included breakfast but accept the tray charge. I was told no hotel policy is if you breakfast in your room you have to pay again, i said you are joking, he replied "its in the small print on the breakfast card" i replied it doesent say that on your web site he said it does not matter i had to pay. When we got home my wife rang the duty manager who also wouldent budge. My wife ask to speak to the General Manager and he sais she is in meetings all day......... We said get her to ring us, he said he would. The next day he rang back saying she was in meetings all day again, sounds more like not prepared to lower herself to speak to customers, anyway the upshot was as a gesture of good will they would refund the extra £23 they charged us on top of the tray charge, but reminded me it was a gesture and we were wrong! I will never stay in a Holiday Inn again and will now go out of my way to encourange others to follow suit. It reminds me of Basil Faulty who once said "This would be a great hotel if it wasent for the guests". You decide if you think its right or even legal to charge twice for the same thing. Trading Standards where are you? My room was 1626 just to validate this review.

Room Tip: Try the Premier Inn.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rogerramjet365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessGarrett, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Tuesday, 15 May 2012

Reference: Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK

I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the inconvenience that you encountered at the Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK. It is our intention at all times to ensure that our guests are made to feel welcome whilst staying with us; therefore I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel.

I thank you for bringing this matter to my attention for which I will take appropriate action.

Your breakfast was refunded as you state, however I must at the same time make it clear that the refund is intended as a token of our genuine regret that you have had cause to complain.

With Kind Regards

Jess Garrett
Guest Service manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

Lovely hotel. Hardly used facilities but room was very modern and smart and breakfast was great. The area ios still developing but there is enough around. We ate opposite Lowry centre and went to see a show. All 5 mins walk away and trams 2 mins away. We went day before a game so place was full of footie fans but not a problem, mainly families/couples. Will definetely stay here again to explore the quay and War Museum.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mickd19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessGarrett, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
15th May 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

Reference: Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback, regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK.

It is our intention at all times to ensure that our guests are made to feel welcome whilst staying with us; therefore I am delighted that you did enjoy your stay.

I thank you for your communications and I do hope that your experience within the Holiday Inn brand allows you to stay with us in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Jess Garrett
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

This hotel is part of the development in Media City.
It was very easy to find and had lots of restaurants and shops within a short walk.
The hotel was very helpful with any request we had and well worth visiting again.My only regret was not being able to make use of all the amenities.

Room Tip: Close to tram links for venturing further afield.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessGarrett, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
15th May 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

Reference: Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback, regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK.

It is our intention at all times to ensure that our guests are made to feel welcome whilst staying with us; therefore I am delighted that you did enjoy your stay.

I thank you for your communications and I do hope that your experience within the Holiday Inn brand allows you to stay with us in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Jess Garrett
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Myself and my boyfriend opted to stay here as we were looking to visit Manchester for the weekend but not pay a stupidly high price for a hotel.

We were not disappointed by the price offered to us for a stay here. On arrival the staff were very friendly and offered us advice on good places to eat and how to get into Manchester. Our room was modern and clean and had all the facilities we needed including free WiFi. The beds were exceedingly comfortable and provided 2 good nights sleep for the both of us.

One piece of advice though; ask for 2 keys to your room as you need these not only to supply power to your room, but also to use the lifts!

There's a tram stop just a 5 minute walk round the corner from the hotel that cost us £2.80 each return straight to Picadillly Gardens. Excellent!

We will most certainly be booking another stay here!

Room Tip: Make sure you remember to get your car park ticket stamped as you then get it half price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissZoe_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessGarrett, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
15th May 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

Reference: Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback, regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK.

It is our intention at all times to ensure that our guests are made to feel welcome whilst staying with us; therefore I am delighted that you did enjoy your stay.

I thank you for your communications and I do hope that your experience within the Holiday Inn brand allows you to stay with us in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Jess Garrett
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

Lovely stay but they got our booking wrong, i booked two twin rooms but they had one twin and one double. they sorted rooms straight away but we were split up on two different floors. should tell people about the 50quid deposit wen booking. great location, helpful staff. definately would stay again

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debdebs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessGarrett, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
15th May 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

Reference: Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback, regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK.

It is our intention at all times to ensure that our guests are made to feel welcome whilst staying with us; therefore I am delighted that you did enjoy your stay.

I thank you for your communications and I do hope that your experience within the Holiday Inn brand allows you to stay with us in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Jess Garrett
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fi
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Perfectly in the hi-standard of HolidayInn the hotel is very good, expecially is you have to work in the brand new area of Salford Quays (BBC, university of Slaford, etc). The area is linked to Manchester downtown through the Metrolink train. Obviously the hotel is completely new: good breakfast and Great to stay in the high floors of the tower!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lellaFI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessGarrett, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
15th May 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

Reference: Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback, regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK.

It is our intention at all times to ensure that our guests are made to feel welcome whilst staying with us; therefore I am delighted that you did enjoy your stay.

I thank you for your communications and I do hope that your experience within the Holiday Inn brand allows you to stay with us in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Jess Garrett
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salford
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Quays Hotel
1.2 km away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
1.2 km away
AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays
1.2 km away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK

Property: Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
Address: Media City, Salford M50 2EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Salford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salford
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manchester - Mediacityuk Hotel Salford
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK Salford, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing