We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A very relaxing few days in homely and comfy...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 10, Osprey Quay

External view of Deckhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
External view of Deckhouse
Stunning views over the harbour Stunning views over the harbour
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
External view of Deckhouse
Stunning views over the harbour
Stunning views over the harbour
Parking space available underneath the property
Open plan kitchen / diner / living area
Open plan kitchen / diner / living area
Open plan kitchen / diner / living area
Open plan kitchen
Master bedroom with stunning views over the harbour
Master bedroom
Second bedroom with 2 sets of bunk beds
Shower room
Downstairs utility area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Emsworth, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
2002Diane
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“A very relaxing few days in homely and comfy accommodation”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I had four days at 10 Osprey Quay and it was an extremely relaxing environment - made even better by lovely weather. It was so lovely to sleep with the doors wide open and feel the breeze from Emsworth Harbour. I loved the fact that the kitchen was so well-equipped with lots of plates and cups and glasses so that one didn't need to keep washing up. The owner was also very kind in allowing me to take my two small well-behaved dogs with me and for that I was very grateful. It is a very relaxing environment in Emsworth Yacht Harbour and the cafe is pretty good too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay at our deckhouse, we really appreciate your feedback - Very many thanks for your kind words!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca_D...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Homely deckhouse - perfect for family seaside adventures”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I have stayed here a number of times and have always had a fabulous stay. It reminds me of my childhood - happy memories. Scenic location. Large area for children to play in safely. Accommodation unique, tardis-like, being much larger on the inside than you would expect. Good facilities and owners provide personal touches.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Atmosphere of private location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay, do hope to be able to welcome you back again soon - Thankyou for your kind words!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanOspre...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“I hope others have a better experience”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I hope that these matters have been addressed & they will be able to enjoy their stay & not have to spend time on correcting shortcomings in the housekeeping.
1. Neither fridge switched on; hunted round & found it necessary to lift out heavy cutlery draw to access wall switch for kitchen fridge.
2. Hot water not switched on.
2. Decking - dirty, hadn't been cleaned and definitely unwelcoming. Cobwebs over windows, bird mess on table and lichen on boards.
3. Lounge furniture - grease soiling on arms & backrest.
4. No instruction books for oven's digital controls, or combination microwave..
5. Doona 13.5tog (winter weight) no other bedding available, apart from single doona 4.5tog rated. No spare sheets or blankets available.
6. Kitchen sponges - old & worn.
7. Venetian blind cords knotted & untidy & necessary to improvise a fastening to keep one of the four in an open state to gain access to balcony.
8. Balcony doors key lock not working smoothly.
9. Expect to wait a week for return of damage deposit and no reduction for shortcomings.
On the plus side the white goods all worked well and it was quiet apart from the early morning ride on mower activity.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2014
I am very disappointed and upset to receive such a negative review for this property, whilst I take on board your feedback I feel that it unduly reflects the property in a negative light and I hope prospective guests will also take into account the much more favourable reviews we have also received.

In response to the points you have made;

1. Neither fridge being switched on was an oversight, the previous tenant had left the freezer door open and so I had to turn it off in order to defrost the freezer, I forgot to turn it back on again. I have however now added details to the information pack guests receive as to how to turn it on should this happen again. The downstairs fridge is generally not left on as detailed in the pack you were sent.

2. Again leaving the water off was an oversight, but details as to how to turn it on are in the pack you received and it heats very quickly

3. Decking - fully take on board your feedback - and as a result we have completely renovated the balcony since your stay

4. Instruction books have now been left available for all guests to use

5. The duvet you found so uncomfortable has been used through all weather for a few years with no complaint. However as you know, following your first nights stay, I went and bought a new duvet in 2 parts to give 3 way flexibility dependant on peoples requirements, which you had from the 2nd nights stay in the property.

6. Kitchen sponges - I replace these on a regular basis and for stays of a week they will always be new, however for stays of 3 nights this would seem wasteful

7. Blind cords - sorry I had not noticed they had become knotted when I was doing your changeover.

8. Balcony Doors - key locks function, but are purely a secondary measure to the lock on the handles

9.Damage deposit return - the deposit was returned to you the very same day as the funds were transferred to my account. Holiday lettings has now changed the deposit process and they will manage the process which will now take closer to 2 weeks

I hope you have more success in future rentals and am very sorry that we were unable to meet your needs.

We endeavour to treat all our guests with the care and attention they deserve and hope to ensure they have a wonderful stay

Kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 10, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Jun 2014
Thankyou for your kind words - so glad you enjoyed your stay!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing