We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aviator
Nearby Hotels
US$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Farnborough(Farnborough)(Great Value!)
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Falcon Hotel(Farnborough)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Travelodge Farnborough Central(Farnborough)(Great Value!)
US$51
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$72
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Farnborough Town Centre(Farnborough)(Great Value!)
US$72
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$120
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Frimley(Frimley Green)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,178)
Filter reviews
2,178 results
Traveller rating
1,466
479
142
51
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,466
479
142
51
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky barafternoon teafree moviescocktail barsconeswalk in wardrobewelcome cocktailtasting menubrasserie restaurantsky suitessecret escapesturn down servicehappy anniversaryaviation themeupgraded to a suitestunning hotelren toiletries
Filter
Updating list...
1,960 - 1,965 of 2,178 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I found this hotel through mrandmrssmith.com and were highly impressed by the photographs so took advantage of their 2-for-1 nights on the weekends and booked a standard room.

We arrived a little earlier than the check in time of 2pm but this was not a problem and the girl on reception offered us a room upgrade for free to a top suite! Fantastic! We're not from the area so we asked her for reccomendations on where to go and she was extremely helpful.

Upon reaching our room we were highly impressed by the decor and furnishings...the room has enough sofas/chairs to sleep at least another 3 people in with us! The bedding was exceedingly comfortable and we took full advantage of the complimentary mini bar. My favourite part of this room though had to be the bathroom; WOW! The bath was like a tank and the rain style shower head provided a superb shower each day. Considering this hotel is situated alongside an airfield we heard no noise from planes what-so-ever so a great nights sleep was had by both of us.

On our first morning there we opted to take advantage of the room service for breakfast and were not disappointed by the quality of the room or the promptness of it's delivery to our suite. I chose to have the smoked salmon and scrambled egg bagel which I would reccomend to anyone! Our second morning we went down to the restaurant for breakfast and were not disappointed by the spread that was on offer.

The staff in the hotel were friendly and always greeting you in passing. We got back to our room on the Saturday night having being out and entered our room to find that staff had been in and changed our towels, turned down our bed, lit candles and put music on for us: a very nice touch I felt.

Overall we had a fantastic stay in this hotel and simply didn't want to leave! Myself and my boyfriend would definately reccomend a stay here to anyone looking for a little bit of a treat.

Also if you're looking for a nice pub to have a drink/food in we'd recommend "The Swan Inn" which is a 5 minute walk up the road. If you're willing to drive for about 10/15 minutes head for "The Thatched Cottage" pub...lovely little family pub with excellent beer garden.

Room Tip: If you're looking for something a little special spend that extra money and opt for a suite; worth those extra pennies!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissZoe_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed at the Aviator back in February, and what a weekend! The hotel is one of the most stylish we've stayed at across the world (and there have been many!), it feels a million miles away from Hampshire.

We managed to upgrade during check in to an air-side suite, and it was worth every penny. The room was vast and stunning. We booked the 2 for 1 weekend deal - so the suite worked out at £167.50 per night which included breakfast on both days and a three course dinner on one night! It was seriously good value for the luxury we enjoyed.

The room was so gorgeous, we barely left it - huge glossy bathroom, TV at the foot of the bath, tropical shower, massive (SUPER comfy) bed, fluffy down duvet, stylish corner sofa and huge walk in wardrobe which was a room in itself and contained the free mini bar. The cleaning staff even humoured our handwritten plea to replace the whisky for vodka in the mini-bar!

Thankfully, we did manage to leave the room a few times during the weekend. Straight to the cocktail bar! The atmosphere was very chic, and the cocktails were as good as I've had in the very top London bars I often frequent - and, even better, the martini glasses are HUGE so last double the time! The espresso martini was my favourite; although the Blackberry martini was a very close second. Service in the bar was fantastic, with complimentary nibbles delivered with the cocktails.

We ventured into the restaurant on the second night to take advantage of the three course dinner that was included in the deal. We were expecting to be given a reduced set menu to choose from, but were told to our delight that we could order from the full menu. The food was absolutely delicious and way beyond what we were expecting. The staff were only too helpful when we asked to have dessert delivered to our room, so we could watch a movie.

We had an incredibly relaxing and enjoyable weekend. Staff were attentive and professional, the closest we came to a wobble was when we arrived down for breakfast with a few minutes to spare, but were told that the kitchen had closed so we'd have to have continental breakfast. But the chef pulled it out of the hat at the last minute, by putting his apron back on and rustling us up 2 full english breakfasts (which was much appreciated, having had one too many espresso martinis the night before!). Oh, and even the continental breakfast is fantastic (we'd already started on some raspberry bircher), lots of choice and very colourful.

We had such a great time, we've booked the same deal again over the Easter weekend! Back within a few months; that is a first for us, normally preferring to try something new. But we figure that it is much cheaper (and less hassle) than going abroad and such a relaxing treat, can't wait! Hope it lives up to the high expectations the second time round.

Highly recommended; especially for couples wanting a relaxing and romantic weekend away.

Room Tip: It is absolutely worth the extra money for a suite, they really are swanky! And you must book air-side, lovely to see the planes taking off.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CateTravels78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We spent our wedding anniversary here and it was ideal for a luxurious, quiet night away from London. We were greeted with a welcome drink and choc covered strawberries in our room (I guess this was because I mentioned our anniversary when I booked) and made full use of the extensive movie library. Our room was airside so we saw plenty of planes but the building was sound proof so sleep quality was excellent. We had dinner in the restaurant which was excellent, and the breakfast buffet was one of the best we've had. Yes it's an expensive night away considering there's not much to do in Farnborough, but for a special night away it was worth it

Stayed: March 2012
Thank TheYarralls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Sadly like so many designer boutique hotels the Aviator would have been amazing to stay in when it first opened. The new management don't seem to have fully maintained the 'glamour' and this hotel has a slight 'previously enjoyed' feel to it making it seem very over priced. The first warning sign was the worn leather on the reception desk. We then paid £185 for a normal size double room that instead of feeling excitingly remote along a chic dimly lit darkly decor'd corridor from the amazing spaceship like central atrium, felt simply like a long way from the entrance. The room was just disappointing: The remote control receiver on the tv had fallen off and was hanging down on its wire, the walls of the room were scuffed from so many other guests, the overhead shower squirts water in many different directions including at you when you try turning it on, the bathroom lights creak as they warm up, the room a/c rumbles, the free toiletries smell very cheap and nasty, the trickle of wi-fi although free was useless, and it's still UHT milk on the tea tray? not very 5 star. We won't be back

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripTripper66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Went here just to try the Sunday luncheon in Late 2011......absolutely stunning interior we even asked for a grand tour of the rooms which they obliged us with, the restuarant is 1st class, we both enjoyed a scotch egg.. sounds a bit common I know but when it is done properly it is amazing just like the one we had, I have the roast Lamb and Mrs had the Chicken both well executed and very tasty, what made it really 1st class was the attitude of all the staff, they knew they were working in a fine establishment and that showed through thier skills and attention to detail.

Highly recommended aplogies for the late review.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swoody_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews