We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overcharged and Vegan menu not adhered to”
Review of Hart House

Hart House
Reserve with OpenTable
Hart House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 76 Restaurants in Fleet
Price range: US$16 - US$39
Description: Dining is informal in a relaxed environment reflecting the best in British design with a warm friendly welcome. We are proud to offer quarterly seasonal menus with dishes cooked from fresh British ingredients handcrafted by our skilled chefs.
Restaurant details
Description: Dining is informal in a relaxed environment reflecting the best in British design with a warm friendly welcome. We are proud to offer quarterly seasonal menus with dishes cooked from fresh British ingredients handcrafted by our skilled chefs.
Reviewed April 5, 2018

Lovely welcome and great cocktails to start with. Our waiter was lovely but I don’t think it was his fault that the chefs sent out tzaziki (not vegan) with a vegan sweet potato falafel instead of basil and lime aioli. We also ordered a couple of portions of chunky chips which never appeared yet we were charged for. We have emailed to complain but as yet we have not received a reply. Not sure if we will return.

Thank Lynda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky P, Manager at Hart House, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Hi lyndaandy,

I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed your cocktails. As discussed yesterday apologies for the chips, which have now been refunded to you, and that you did not get informed that we didn’t have any basil and aioli on your visit. Our tzaziki is actually vegan, it’s made with chickpea juice and almond milk but apologies that this wasn’t explained to you when it came out with the falafel.
I hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Rebecca
Assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 66 of 84 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Went for an evening meal last night and was a bit dubious as is a newly opened restaurant, but have to say we were very impressed right from being greeted as we walked in the door, great wine choice, fantastic food and faultless service, thought it was going to be expensive but was actually very reasonable for the high standard of food. We finished the night at the bar with one of their house speciality cocktails - really enjoyed the night - would def recommend.

Thank Honestycounts039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky P, Manager at Hart House, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Hi Honestycounts039,

Thankyou for your lovely review.
I’m so pleased you enjoyed your evening with us at Hart House. I will make sure your comments are passed on to our team.
Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Rebecca
Assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

We had an amazing Time , excellent Service, delicious drinks( Lemon fizz Gin) and Tasty Food, Sharing starter and salmon.

Thank Sabine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky P, Manager at Hart House, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Hi Sabine M,

Thankyou for your great review. I’m really pleased you enjoyed your visit to us at Hart House.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Rebecca
Assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

Pluses are that the welcome and service was very good, really nice man served us, all the food delicious, amazing chips! Not so good is that we were sandwiched between two other tables and it felt too close, the acoustics are awful so I felt like I was shouting for two hours. Maybe would be better on a quiet night? Also just way too expensive for steak which is my favourite choice so probably won’t be rushing back.

Thank Katy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky P, Manager at Hart House, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Hi Katy R,

Thankyou for your feedback. I will be sure to take this on board and pass on your comments to our team.
I’m really pleased you enjoyed your food here at Hart House. Hopefully you will give us another chance and we will see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Rebecca
Assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2018 via mobile

Visited for breakfast and it wasn’t great. Long wait for food (40 minutes) and when it did come some were missing items and we had to ask the waitress to sort it out. Bacon was obviously pre cooked as it was really dry and all was like warm. Definitely not worth £10. Staff are friendly but attention to detail is lacking. We asked for brown sauce and got a pot that had obviously been prepared the day before and left in the fridge uncovered so it had turned to jelly. No sign of management making sure everything was running smoothly. Shame coz the atmosphere is good and the food wasn’t all bad. A bit of effort and decent management and it could be great. Won’t be going back for a while. Best breakfast around is Wellington Farm shop near Reading. £11 but well worth the price.

2  Thank tripper1983569876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky P, Manager at Hart House, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2018

Hi tripper1983569876,

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to us at Hart House. This is not our normal standard and I will make sure your feedback is passed onto our team. I hope you will give us another chance soon.

Kind regards,

Rebecca
Assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hart House also viewed

Fleet, Hampshire
Hook, Hampshire
 
Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Hart House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing