We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friends get together”
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Ranked #13 of 84 Restaurants in Havant
Price range: US$7 - US$33
Cuisines: Seafood, British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Lovely pub good atmosphere and a great location but the food is a bit over priced and portions small, also 3 of us were charged £15 for the Salmon Nicoise when it was priced at £13 on the menu did mention this to the lady taken our money to which she replied sometimes the prices are changed from head office and wasn`t aware of the price rise or interested in giving me the refund. So check your bill against the menu prices before paying. On a plus side the food was of a good quality and we were informed there was a 30 minute wait for food before ordering.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OwenJones0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shiplangstone, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2018

Hi owenjones0

That you for taking the time to review your visit. I would like to apologise for the issue with the menu pricing which has been rectified.

We do hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (672)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 672 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Had driven past a few times and decided to pop in with the kids for lunch on Wednesday.
Initially the menu looked quite small, but it really did have something for everyone.
The food was excellent, I had fish and chips, lovely crispy batter with proper homemade chips delicious.
Service was good.
My only criticism/observation would be that even though it was April the restaurant was a bit cold, but that might just where we were sitting.
Will definitely return.

Thank TheGriffithsFamilyx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shiplangstone, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Hi TheGriffithsFamily

Thank you for the great review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit.

Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

This is a lovely setting and a great venue to share drinks with friends.
But our experience has put me off from eating there again.
We were early and eating close to 6pm on a Wednesday evening. So not busy, not rushed, our order being the first through that evening.
The duck pate was lovely as was the bread, and our hopes were up for a really nice meal. Oh what a disappointment
Our main of sausage and mash was really nothing to write home about, not good quality sausage, it was very dry and not very flavourful, the mash tasted artificial, wether it was or not isn’t the issue, the flavour was that of a packet mash. The gravy thin and watery, wasn’t assisted by the very charred sausage skin, nor the bland peas.
So not great but edible when u are hungry
I had a fish stew, I’d expected a stew with full flavourful broth, to accompany the fennel and seafood which were the other main stars of the meal. The broth was a thin watery tomato tasting nothingness, the salmon prob the star of the content of my plate as well as the fennel. The prawn was over cooked the mussels not adding much whilst I got extra rations with the clams, both of the two I tried were nothing more than a mouthful of grit. I can’t remember when a meal read so full of promise from the menu but delivered such a poor plate of food. Mine was pretty much inedible and after I’d picked what I could I had to leave the rest.
Our waitress, bless her looked so embarrassed, and asked the manager to make a price adjustment. I didn’t pick up the tab, but I believe it was described as a discount on my meal. Not a refund or a gesture of a dessert or drink on the house. Nor the manager coming to our table.
We left hungry and very disappointed

2  Thank Jillz121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shiplangstone, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Hi Jillz121

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. I was disappointed to hear your feedback on our Corporal Jones Sausage and Mash and our Fish Stew. I can assure you that this is not the high standard that we aim for with our fresh food menu. Our fish stew and mash is made here by our chefs however we accept that we did achieve your expectations on this occasion.

I do hope you chose to revisit us so we can show you that this is not what we aim for.

Kind regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Last time we came here it was at new year and it was fantastic soo visiting my brother in law with my husband and his parents we thought we would book in for easter and try this great place again!! No disappointments...amazing food and service once again!! Food was top notch...starters all delicious and my father in law had the pie...oh my God...highly recommend..it looked fantastic and I had to have a try!! Check out some of the pictures but you must try the ship!! Thumbs up all round from us! Happy easter to all at the ship...mark and his team from the Dawson's!! Xxx

1  Thank Hannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shiplangstone, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Hi Hannah

Thanks for the great review. Hope you had a fab easter.

Look forward to seeing you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2018

We held a 50th Birthday Party with 40 guests upstairs at The Ship Inn. It was a fabulous evening in a wonderful location! We had brought in a fun casino, a magician, and Mark also sourced us a brilliant pianist for background music. Whilst some of the staff were a bit tentative when we first arrived, they soon rose to the occasion, ensuring the bar table was always replenished and that the needs of all our guests were met with efficiency and great humour. The buffet was prompt, plentiful and good. the Fish and Chip sliders and Polenta cakes received particular praise. Thank you Mark for all your arrangements and to all the team for helping to make it such a special evening.

Thank eaw55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shiplangstone, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Hi Eaw55

We are delighted to hear your feedback, your night certainly was a great night.

We look forward to seeing you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

Havant, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing