We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing News Years Eve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Romsey
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing News Years Eve”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We booked here at the Silks Hotel last minute on News Years Eve not really knowing what to expect, having never visited Romsey before. How glad I was that I did! We had a fabulous night. The staff were brilliant, so friendly yet really professional. The ambience of the hotel is lovely, really cosy and inviting and the rooms, although on the small side, were just fab.
A special mention to the Hotel Manager ( cant remember his name ) who was superb and the lady on reception, who was so lovely.
I cannot reccommend this hotel enough, we met the most lovely people here and can,t wait to return.

Room Tip: Our room looked over the main street which was good for us as we liked to people watch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _amandabrown1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    160
    50
    21
    17
See reviews for
144
204
26
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
winchester
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

a really lovely hotel with lots of character. the rooms were lovely and very clean and comfortable. the staff were very friendly and helpful. we didn't have breakfast because it's usually included in the price of the room, and it seemed very expensive, but all in all, a lovely hotel and hope we stay there again soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tango44Winchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

The White Horse hotel is ideally located to explore the New Forest and Blue Flag beaches of Boscombe Bay, Bournemouth.
Exquisite food and friendly service, with local and regional speciailities.
Its family friendly and we received a warm welcome with the delightful chimes of the local church bells.
Situated in the traditional and quaint English town of Romsey.
Recently refurbished whilst retaining the original characteristics of an old English Inn.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kam02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

4 of my friends surpised me with a birthday afternoon tea straight after work last night. What a delightful surprise for sure in my favourite venue.Staff are a credit to the management team. Always polite, attentive and appropriate. Last night we had the added bonus of a serenade too-multi talented singing staff.The afternoon tea was full of edible treats and tea in gold old fashioned china cups.I cannot praise you, your venue and your staff enough. Thank you. See you again soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 154jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London at the moment
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

As a quick context, we booked the White Horse as we were attending a sports event early Sunday morning in a town a few miles away. We chose to stay there as it the inn is a 16th century building with historical features that we were interested to see. The room cost £130/night for a double (no breakfast).

On arrival on Saturday night, we got to reception to find a wedding starting it's evening party, with the bride & groom welcoming their guests right next to the check-in desk. Felt a bit awkward. We were then told that because of the wedding the restaurant was unavailable, and the brasserie was fully booked so we'd have to go to another restaurant in town. We were then really disappointed that our room - small but nicely decorated - wasn't in the 16th century inn building we'd anticipated, but in a modern separate-building annex (the coach house), and right next to the entrance door to the annex building. The wi-fi network wasn't visible in the room.

After finding dinner and coming back to hear the wedding band in full swing, we went to our room and for the rest of the evening were woken up numerous times by the music, wedding guests whooping and squealing outside our room, and - much more annoying - by wedding guests going in and out of the annex doors, often talking at the main door- standing literally outside our room door. One guest didn't realise there was a code-lock on the annex door and banged loudly on it 4 times during the course of the evening (past midnight) to get the attention of someone in a room down the hall. As we had a 6am start, we got very little sleep.

All in all, very poor value for what we paid - we felt like we had been shoe-horned in next to the wedding and given second tier services as we weren't wedding guests. We didn't get to see much of the hotel besides the reception and annex, defeating the reason for staying there.

On a positive note, the staff were very friendly both on check-in and check-out. What we saw of the hotel it looked like a lovely and interesting building.

As a recommendation to the hotel: either completely reserve the hotel for functions, or find a better way to balance the needs and expectations of all your guests, not just the largest party.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roving_jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

lovely quiet hotel in the small charming town of Romsey. Very friendly and helpful service. Rooms are small but good value for the price!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBAat2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Lovely atmosphere - we particularly liked the lounge at the front of the hotel. The fixed price menu was really good value. We all enjoyed our food.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romsey
6.3 km away
The Potters Heron
The Potters Heron
#1 of 1 in Ampfield
484 reviews
6.1 km away
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
5.5 km away
Mortimer Arms Hotel
Mortimer Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Romsey
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Premier Inn Southampton West Hotel
13.8 km away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,058 reviews
9.8 km away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie

Property: The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
Address: 19 Market Place, Romsey SO51 8ZJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Romsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Romsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Romsey, The White Horse has been a Coaching Inn for over 600 years. A stay here is a time to unwind, savouring some of the finest food in Hampshire in our 2 AA Rosette Brasserie. Relax in one of the hotel's 31 individually designed bedrooms and suites and enjoy a drink or Afternoon Tea in the delightful Silks Bar or frescoed Tudor Lounge.The Brasserie opens onto its own courtyard, perfect for summer dining. Serving modern British classics under the direction of acclaimed Head Chef Chris Rock, The White Horse Brasserie has been highly recommended by The Sunday Telegraph scoring 9/10 by hotel guru Fiona Duncan, "The Set Menu is eye-popingly good value".Friday night is cocktail night. Choose from a delicious selection of classics with a twist and enjoy live music on the first Friday of every month in the bar. Whisky lovers can choose from a stunning array of over 70 malts and blends - one of the most extensive selections in the UK. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Hotel And Brasserie Romsey, UK - Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing