We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Weekend!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Forest Meadow

View from the 3 acre private ground in the New Forest national park
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the 3 acre private ground in the New Forest national park
Lounge seating with wood burner open log fire and views across the 3 acre New Forest site. wood burner and Christmas Tree decorations
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
64 reviews
View from the 3 acre private ground in the New Forest national park
Lounge seating with wood burner open log fire and views across the 3 acre New Forest site.
wood burner and Christmas Tree decorations
Modern leather sofas, 55' Smart 3D TV Bluray, sonos sound bar Free WiFi
Large seating and dining area for up to 12 guests plus outside dining for similar numbers
Views across the 3 acre site and New Forest National Park with gas BBQ
Master Spa top of the range hot tub for 8 guests
Hot tub close to the cottage with stepping stones too and from
Dining for 12 with open plan kitchen
Double oven fully fitted Kitchen
Super King new beds plus 3 rooms configurable as twin bedded
Ensuite shower, toilet and sink for bedroom 1 and 2 and mirror wardrobes in each room
Bedroom 2, all bedding and towels included
3 rooms can be made into twin bedded rooms upon request
Ensuite bathroom with walk in shower
Super King beds bedroom 1, all linen and towels provided all with headboards
Family bathroom with bath, shower with glass screen and toilet
Shower bathroom opposite bedroom 1 with sink and toilet
4 Super King or Twin bedded rooms with Smart TV and Sonos in each room
Bedroom 4 with fitted wardrobes Smart TV and Sonos
6/7 person hot tub with multiple jets. cover and mood lighting
Utility room with modern separate washer and dryer
New forest ponies horses pigs and donkeys run wild
New Forest ponies will come close
7 miles of sandy beaches less than 12 miles and 15 minutes away
Modern gas BBQ
150 square miles of New Forest National Park from your door step
Plan of Forest Meadow layout and sizes. All rooms are large
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Stuckton, Fordingbridge, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul D
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Weekend!!”
Reviewed April 4, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a great weekend with family. The accommodation was very clean upon arrival and had all the latest technical gadgets. A little disappointed that the main Jacuzzi did not work but an attempt to fix the jacuzzi wash made by an electrician the next morning (unfortunately it was a fault with a part in the jacuzzi) We were able to use the smaller one at Forest Cabin next door. The children had lots of fun building, playing and Using the Xbox in the main lounge. We were celebrating birthdays and it was great to have a lovely cottage with great weather in a great location. Thanks for a Great a Weekend!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A lovely cottage where the whole family had a great time
Liked least: Having to go home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F1roger
Epsom
Level 6 Contributor
508 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Great value for money.”
Reviewed April 3, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

There are two houses which touch - but are basically detached. The larger one Forest Meadow has 4 double bedrooms 1 bathroom and 2 shower rooms. There is a large open plan kitchen/dining room/living room with views over the 3 acre garden. There is parking for up to 6 cars. The smaller unit Forest Cabin has 2 bedrooms 1 bathroom and 1 shower room and also has a comfortable kitchen/lounge/diner. Both units have wood burning stoves.
For us the best feature was the excellent beds and bedding. Top quality mattresses, toppers, linen and duvets and pillows made for the best nights sleep that we have ever had when staying away from home.
Both properties have Sonos in every room and flat screen TVs. The TV in the main house has a 55in screen. There is Xbox connect with a very extensive collection of games to play - suitable for all ages. My 3 year old grandson loved the Lego game and Sonic car racing.
It is great having the large garden. The hot tub is about 30ft from the house which apparently has been a problem for some users - not us. The biggest drawback of the house is that it is a tiny bit remote. The nearest shop is about 1 mile away as is the nearest pub. Although it is very close to the 3 Lions - this is only really a restaurant. On the other hand you are so close to some stunning countryside.
We had a small issue with equipment which the owner dealt with immediately. There are still some minor bits of decoration which need to be finished - but that should happen very quickly. Following the re-configuration internally some of the light switches end up in odd places - but so what? you get used to it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic beds and bedding. Huge TV
Liked least: There is still some odd bits of decorating that need to be done.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley F
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous location”
Reviewed March 21, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely location very close to many nice places to visit. A nice outlook from the lounge. Large rooms with very comfortable seating and fabulously comfortable beds.
Clean and tidy bathrooms with loads of very hot water.
We had some cosy evenings with the wood burning stove going whilst watching the very large tv, cinema style.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B
Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend Reunion”
Reviewed March 16, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at Forest Meadow for a weekend with a group of old friends.Lovely house,peaceful setting,large living room,kingsize beds in all bedrooms & plenty of room for 8 adults,tvs in all rooms including giant one in the front room,would definitely stay again

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARIA2507...
Spain
1 review
“Excelent Stay”
Reviewed March 15, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The stay has been very satisfactory. We hope to have the property in next displacements that we have provided to Hampshire.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDC206
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideally situated for New Forest and comfortable accommodation”
Reviewed March 10, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Spent a long weekend with a group of friends, location ideal for walking and visiting local area. Accommodation very spacious, never slept in such comfortable beds, we cooked a meal every night and the kitchen catered for our needs. Sonos music system great, plenty of parking for 4 cars and outside patio overlooking fields. We would definitely use this property again.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeann M
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Total let down”
Reviewed February 23, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
4
people found this review helpful

On arrival the property looks fantastic great location, thats where it ends...got the keys looked around myself looked up at the door and theres a quite clearly a large hole above the door loose bricks just waiting to drop out!!! Then inside its just not finished the painting is patchy the curtain poles have no ends on?? So drawing curtains is difficult as they drop of the ends, the kitchen itself had no blind, the bathroom had a bath and shower and had clearly just been tiled as grout was still wet! The bath had a chunk out of the end which i scratched my leg on although its brand new as it still had some of the plastic covering on, the ensuite bathroom was unusable it had a note on to say it was reported for being broken but this wasnt the case the owner didnt want it used as it wasnt sealed the floor below the shower could be seen the ceiling wasnt even plastered just plaster board, one bedroom had metal showing on the corner of the wall and bare plaster board, no mirrors in bedrooms either, then in to kitchen the work tops wernt even attached to the wall just balanced on top of the washer/dryer the cooker hood fallin off the wall and to top it it was freezing, and the heat can only be controlled by the main house, so how this can be let as a seperate building is beyond me! Luckily there was 10 of us all booked in to both properties, us that were supposed to stay in there only did for one night, now this break was booked for my sisters 40th birthday and to say we were let down is an understatement as the owner only told us less than 24hrs before traveling that the hot tubs wernt working either, after an email
Conversations between my sister and ian we are left with no alternative but to write poor reviews, i would never let a property from this man or holiday lettings again as they obviously dont check the properties they advertise, the mans rude and ignorant to the fact he almost ruined the whole stay, however we made the most of it, were glad we didn't have our children with us as there is also raw sewage spilling on to ghe drive just a meter or 2 from the house, i also have all pictures to back up this review, if we were offered some sort of reasonable compensation it may have helped but his total disregard left me no option, this is written by my Leeann Murdoch the sister of the lead guest who booked this and the adjoining property from 19th to 22nd February

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Not having hot tubs as promised and the half finished state its in
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2016
The guests who stayed on 19-22 February have now left 2 poor reviews, firstly a 2* and now apparently its only worth a 1*. Contrast this with the previous 4* review for this property and 150 5* reviews for our properties. These guests, 12 in total did not once complain on arrival or during their stay either to us or Holiday Lettings. If it was so bad I woud have complained straight away in writing and have contacted Holiday lettings immediately. These guests stayed 3 days with not one complaint. We even spoke to them on the Saturday to immediately refund the optional extra hot tub sum when they confirm they were having a "good time" but were disappointed about the hot tub which we fully understand. They did not complain until 3 days after their holiday when they tried to get money back or they would leave a terrible review. We do not tolerate blackmail so refused. Where guests have a genuine problem we will always work to resolve this and do. All our photos are on the web site and we can provide as many as required, just see the other 4* review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing