We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a lovely cottage in a superb setting!”
Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage
Back garden Lounge Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
Cottage
Back garden
Lounge Area
Dining Area
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3 with twin beds and 1 Cot
Bathroom 2 (Shower, bidet, sink & Toilet)
Bathroom 2 ( bath, sink & Toilet)
View from Lounge Window
New Forest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Lyndhurst, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
smcs_12
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed November 9, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Perfectly positioned for exploring the New Forest but in need of a little TLC.
The period features of this cottage make the inside dark and the stairs are not for the faint hearted. We found the beds uncomfortable and one of the bathrooms in need of a bit of sprucing up. The location would bring us back but we would hope to find a bit of work carried out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: location, location, location
Liked least: hard mattresses
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2015
We had previously been in contact with this client regarding the beds and explained that our choice for renting was for firm mattresses. The bathroom in question has since been repainted as part of our ongoing maintenance work. We are constantly striving to maintain our cottage to a high standard. For example, this year we have entirely rethatched the roof, substituted the downstairs carpet, revarnished and repainted upstairs. Our cottage is a delightful period building and our wish is that all our guests should enjoy it to utmost.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel W
1 review
“What a lovely cottage in a superb setting!”
Reviewed September 11, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is a lovely chocolate box cottage with great facilities too. It is pretty central for the town with great amenit!ies and access to the wider attractions of the New Forestt attractions. The town is a ten minute walk away with forest explorations and all the loveliness of a fabulously natural environment really close by. This is an idyllic location..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: This was a beautifully comfortable and safe environment for our family and we loved our stay.
Liked least: There was nothing to criticise. Yes - the area and busy, but this is probably what you would expect and it certainly had no impact on our enjoyment.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim_m_001
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Traditional and a great location”
Reviewed August 29, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The photos don't really do this cottage justice. It's really traditional with plenty of space. 3 upstairs bedrooms, of which 2 are accessed by steep shiny wooden stairs - our teenagers were fine by they commented. Rear garden was fully enclosed for our dogs, and not really overlooked. Location is great for walking (cross the road and the green and follow the big path), cycling (road is not too busy and after a couple of splits there's really little traffic on the way to Millybrook bridge), and easy walking distance into Lyndhurst.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe K
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charismatic charming thatch cottage”
Reviewed April 29, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Swan Green is a chocolate box thatch cottage, perfect for a cosy country retreat in the New Forest. A characterful cottage with a good sized garden and great open fire. Dated decor but fantastic value, well positioned and comes highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character and position
Liked least: Steep staircase
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akolar21
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Blissful weekend with the girls”
Reviewed April 22, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The cottage is charming with its thatched roof and beautiful garden. It is fitted with all you need for a self-catered weekend. We loved being able to light a fire in the evenings, as it was still slightly cold despite all the glorious sunshine. The garden was heaven for a full day of sunshine. Christine was really helpful with her directions and the cottage is the perfect location to go walking the forest in search of ponies. Highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden
Liked least: The lack of a sound system (only has a CD player)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dragel
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in great location”
Reviewed April 19, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The cottage is lovely and well located. We stayed there for a week in Apr 2015. The cottage comfortably accommodated four adults and two children. The kitchen is well equipped, the bedrooms are a good size and there are a couple of reception rooms. There are nice front and back gardens. There is parking for two cars.

The cottage is about 15 minutes walk from the centre of Lyndhurst, you can walk straight into the forest and it's only a short cycle ride or drive from the ornamental drives. It's also close to the coast (we visited Lymmington, Hurst Castle and Lyme Regis).

Booking was efficient and arrival arrangements were easy. Our host was available by email and provided us with some nice ideas of things to do.

We hope to return soon.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benriddel...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, cosy and in the heart of the forest”
Reviewed March 10, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Perfectly situated cottage with easy access to pubs, bikes and a whole lot of beauty.
Chris is very helpful and the whole thing was very easy to organise.
Highly recommended!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing