We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“we loved the peace and tranquility” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bramble Hill Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lyndhurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bramble Hill Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“we loved the peace and tranquility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

The peace and tranquility of Bramble hill was perfect for our wedding night after a hectic day we were able to unwind at our leisure. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, afternoon tea on the lawn,a tasty smoked trout salad for supper. We had a lovely comfortable room with a massive bathroom plenty of space, the delightful owners provided a magnificent breakfast with beauftiful smoked haddock and plenty of tea and coffee. We will definitely be going back for afternoon tea somewhen very soon

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nikkicooke45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    30
    5
    6
    10
See reviews for
26
50
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

I stayed last weekend at The Bramble Hill Hotel and found it to be a real hidden gem in the New Forest. This place is dripping with character-like stepping back in time, which is so refereshing after all the same bland, modern hotels I've stayed in over the years.
The owners were very friendly and welcoming and very well-informed about the local area and activities which I found useful-so much better than the usual pile of brochures on offer.
The grounds are extensive and beautiful. I recommend taking a good book and relaxing by one of the ponds. The food was good and after a long days travelling I spent the night in the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. Will definitely be paying another visit next time I'm down in the New Forest.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sean3215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

We stayed overnight at Bramble Hill earlier in the year. We were made to feel very welcome.
The hotel feels genuinely old and is choc full of antiques that look like an ongoing collection by the proprietors over many years.
Don't expect modern polish and design, this is not a corporately owned and run cookie cutter chain, what you will find here is a friendly, homely hotel where you are looked after and you can snuggle next to an open fire with a glass of something nice after a walk in the glorious countryside.

Room Tip: Talk to the owners, they are very approachable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ideasplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

I have been visiting Bramble Hill Hotel for lunch and afternoon tea with friends for a few years now. It's in a beautiful and peaceful location that is part of the appeal but also the owners are very accommodating and friendly. Our group are nearly all vegetarian and Alan, the chef, always prepares at least a couple of delicious alternatives. Not your usual lasagne or rissoto but thought has been put into the menu. We are then made more than welcome, by Mavis his partner, to take our time and relax before afternoon tea later in the garden. Again absolutely scrumptious. I would thoroughly recommend Bramble Hill for lunch and/or afternoon tea and is also an ideal venue for groups.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suewest21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

My friends and I have been meeting up for lunch and tea at Bramble Hill Hotel, in the New forest for a number of years. It is an excellent venue, we phone ahead and make a booking for 6 Vegetarians for lunch, and we always have very delicious meals. If the weather is good to us, we then sit in the beautiful grounds and enjoy a cream tea and the peace and quiet. I highly recommend the Bramble Hill hotel and the friendly hosts and good service. I see that soon an indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi will be opened.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 186299Happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

We have been going to the Bramble Hill hotel for now 15 years for their cream teas (probably the best in the world!) with our three (sadly now two) Bearded collies, who we walk regulary in the Forest at all times of year. This is a stunning hotel in stunning grounds and where we are always welcome at any time of year. Even in the depths of winter and with not the cleanest dogs after a walk, the log fire is a warm welcome. We have also had dinner in their restaurant which was excellent. The owners/proprietors are delightful, always welcoming, and go out of their way to assist. We will of course be back....!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bobuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bramblehill, Owner at Bramble Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. We have enjoyed serving you over these years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

We went to Bramble Hill for lunch and afternoon tea which gave us plenty of opportunity to explore the forest which is right on the doorstep. The greeting was warm and friendly, our 3 year old daughter was welcomed with open arms and the food and serv ice were second to none.
The hotel is like stepping back in time but it is such a welcome change from the faceless corporate modern hotels you see so many of nowadays - it's full of charm and personality. We would not hesitate to recommend it to all - particularly the cream teas!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MandSandm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
8.5 km away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
10.2 km away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
14.2 km away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Forest Lodge
BEST WESTERN Forest Lodge
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
2.1 km away
The Bell Inn
The Bell Inn
#1 of 1 in Brook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
7.4 km away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bramble Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bramble Hill Hotel

Property: Bramble Hill Hotel
Address: Bramshaw | New Forest, Hampshire, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Bramble Hill Hotel we have 8 country bedrooms for a comfortable nights sleep. These rooms cater for couples and families offering a pleasurable stay with the option of a Traditional English Breakfast in our breakfast room. All guests have use of the Leisure Centre to exercise in the Swimming Pool or work out in the Gym, there is always the Jacuzzi and the Sauna if you really want to relax! Bar licensing hours require us to close between 5 and 7pm, we apologise for any inconvenience this may cause ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bramble Hill Hotel Lyndhurst, UK - New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing