We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!! The best place I have stayed in a long time!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Rabbit

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The White Rabbit
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Essex
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!! The best place I have stayed in a long time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

My partner and I booked a last minute room at The White Rabbit, to extend our stay in the area, having booked two nights at a 'four star' hotel already. We weren't expecting much, as we got a fantastic deal, including breakfast, but I am pleased to say that our stay completely exceeded our expectations. Luckily we didn't eat before we arrived, as the hotel has an onsite restaurant, serving excellent food, at a reasonable cost. We were welcomed upon arrival with a big grin (and a selection of local ales). Our room was spacious and very recently reburbished, with lovely pictures of the new forest and nice decor. The room had a flat screen TV, teas/ coffees and herbal teas and the room was spotlessly clean. The bed was comfy and the shower was hot. I can't find a single fault with this hotel. Will we be going back? Absolutely! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. The service couldn't have been friendlier and the atmosphere was great. I think that it would also be a brilliant venue for a birthday/ wedding celebration. A gem of a hotel, in the most beautiful part of the country!! It was far nicer than the 4* hotel we stayed at for the following two nights, and I am certain that we have just found a new regular getaway retreat!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KerrySEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    108
    95
    68
    78
See reviews for
133
220
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed at The White Rabbit for a couple of nights in April. The location was perfect for getting out and about in the New Forest, and only a short walk into Lyndhurst for a drink/meal in the evening. We ate in the hotel one evening which was convenient but the food, although nice enough, was not amazing. Breakfast was lovely though, a good choice available and even a vegetarian cooked option which was a nice surpise. Staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. Our room (no. 10) was clean and comfortable with a huge bed. The only downside was a glazed film on the window, I think to prevent you looking out over a flat roof to other rooms, and the bathroom was very small and not particularly well laid out. However for a couple of nights it was fine and the shower was nice and powerful. Overall I would definitely recommend The White Rabbit for a short stay in the New Forest and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4EAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

I think my title sums up our one night stay very nicely although I think a rating of 3.5 would have been closer to it. We had the family room which was enormous, which pleased the kids, and there was hardly any noise coming up from the bar area. The hotel is only 5 minutes walk into Lyndhurst so its in a great location. We were able to leave our bikes in the BBQ shed by the car park which was also handy. The downside of the stay was that we had to wait 40 minutes for our cooked breakfasts. There was a buffet for cereal, fruit juices, pastries etc... but they kept running out so we had to ask for more. That said, every time we asked, the staff were more than happy to help. They were so friendly and the weather outside was so miserable that day, it didn't really matter. I would definitely stay here again based on staff friendliness alone.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clint_Swagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

stayed at the White Rabbit for three nights and would definitely recommend it. The room and bathroom were very clean and tidy, the staff are super-friendly and the food is great. Also a good location because it's less than 10 minutes walk from the town centre but still quiet.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sumanaXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAST TILBURY, ESSEX
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed at the White Rabbit for one night on 7th April 2012, what a lovely hotel. The staff are so friendly and the hotel is so clean and welcoming. The food is excelent. Emma, the deputy manager, is so accommodating and such a happy person. We would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of visiting the New Forest. We will definately be returning. Thank you for making our weekend.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 11, it is a spacious double room and had all the facilities that was required
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed for two nights and it was pretty poor to say the least, we ate in on the first night and regreted that very quickly, The service wasn't bad but the food was terrible. I had the dressed crab starter which was as far as I can tell from a can, mixed with mayo with a gardens worth of week old water cres and a semi frozen hard boiled egg, the wife had chicken skewers and the salad was not existant.

For mains I had the duck breast which had been done to death with some kind of thinley cut cabbage which the chef had sneezed sauce over with half a Jacket spud that had been sat in the oven full blast for several months.

Wifes burger was bland, unseasoned with half cooked chips.

We skipped dessert...

The room was drafty, no bath just a walkin shower, the radiator valve to turn it on was hidden behind a wardrobe. Oh and the room was situatated above the mens toilets which seemed to have been commandeered by 30 ten year old boys who had never seen or heard a hand dryer before. One window over looked the bins and the other overlooked the roof of the kitchen which vented through our room.

By the second night the bed which must have been with the hotel since the early 1800's was playing havok with our backs, they would have been better if they would have tapped 20 pillow cases filled with straw together.

The staff all seemed to be new and untrained and struggled to work out what the differance between Blanco and Rosso were but were very very freindly. The one member of staff who seemed to of been in the hotelier business for more than a few days was very busy training the others.

The good points........umm it was clean.....ish. We stayed at the New forest inn across the road last year which was a bit more expensive but well worth the money but hey what do you expect from a pub trying to be a hotel :)

Also a heads up to anyone interested in good food. Try " la table des saint tropez " at the bottom of the high street, we ate their last night and if you like fine french cuisine that's not watered down for wimpy english then this is for you. Everything was home made and was very fresh.

Room Tip: Don't choose room 8, they only give you half a key and it's not worth near on £100 for a nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VonStylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lyndhurst hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Everything the recent reviews say is true, this place has been done up and i found our room to be clean, modern and very spacious. The only niggle would be the lock on window was broken, the window also has frosted glass to disguise the fact our room overlooked a wall. Our room was right above the main bar, so i was worried it might be noisy, but must confess i couldn't hear anything from downstairs. Hotel is in a great location, only a 2 minute walk into the village. Would stay here again if i was looking for a cheap room in the New Forest.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PompeyStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.3 km away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.7 km away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.2 km away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
6.4 km away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
6.0 km away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#11 of 11 in Brockenhurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Rabbit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Rabbit

Property: The White Rabbit
Address: The White Rabbit Romsey Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7AR, England (Formerly The Mill Lyndhurst)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Rabbit 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The White Rabbit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Rabbit Hotel Lyndhurst
The White Rabbit Lyndhurst, UK - New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing