We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B and B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whitemoor House B&B
Ranked #2 of 22 Lyndhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Booked 2 rooms, one for my wife and I and a second room for my daughter and her 12 year old son. On our arrival we were welcomed by Jayne and David who then gave us delicious lemon drizzle cake and tea. Our rooms were excellent and very comfortable. Breakfast was amazing I had a mushroom omelette the first day and the full English the second day and both were absolutely first class. On retiring for the night we found home made fudge on our bed and my Grandson pronounced it the most delicious fudge he had ever eaten.
Other great touches were the honesty bar the prices of which were brilliant. Most hotels rip you off with these bars but here a Diet Coke was 75p and a bottle of 75cc wine £6.50.
I cannot recommend this establishment highly enough. David and Jayne are fantastic hosts. I would also like to mention the negative post recently put on about a family being turned away with their baby. Throughout all my booking process and on their website it was made absolutely clear that the B and B does not accept young children. My Grandson is aged 12 and Jayne made a fuss of him throughout the weekend.
We will return.

Room Tip: Four poster bed in Forest View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RICHARD G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne B, Owner at Whitemoor House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you so much, Richard, for your wonderful and very comprehensive review! We're so glad that you and your family enjoyed it here - we certainly loved meeting you all and were also very impressed with your early morning Park Run and the work you do raising funds for Air Ambulance. Thank you also for your comment about the previous review (which has now been taken down by TripAdvisor - partly, I think, thanks to you). What you said made us feel much better about the whole unfortunate incident. Unfortunately, we just don't have the space or facilities for young children and babies, and, as you say, we do make that very clear throughout the booking process. Your Grandson was an absolute delight and we hope he has settled back in to a new year at school. We do hope to see you again sometime. All the best, Jayne and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

This is a wonderful B and B and I would 100% recommend it.
The location is great, just a short walk to Lyndhurst, bus stops nearby and cycle hire available in Lyndhurst, in fact we didn't use our car at all during our visit!
The rooms are lovely, tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean and very comfortable.
Lots of choice for both hot and cold breakfast which was delicious. In particular the home made fruit salad,granola and lemon curd were fantastic!
David and Jayne are wonderful hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them. They helped us plan a cycle route from lyndhurst and lent us a map for the day.
I think the extra little touches really add to your stay, the home made cake on arrival, the honesty bar, mini fridges for guest use,
a parking permit for use in the main towns in the forest, a money off voucher for use in restaurants in the area and finally the fudge left in the rooms every day which I thoroughly enjoyed!
Thank you David and Jayne. We hope to be back next year!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank catkin2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne B, Owner at Whitemoor House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you so much for your smashing review! We really appreciate it and the fact that you have taken the time to identify so much of what you particularly enjoyed. We were impressed with your day's cycling - we're just so lucky to have so many miles of cycle tracks that link up to our front gate! We're pleased that you enjoyed all the extra touches, including the Parking Permit and Discount Card - they all help to make the holiday money go a little further! It was a pleasure to meet you both and we hope to see you again soon. All the best, Jayne and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

big thanks to David and Jayne for a most enjoyable stay. A party of 7 came down from Scotland for family wedding. What great hosts, nothing too much of a bother. Rooms very comfy n well equipped. Food excellent especially the lemon drizzle cake Jayne made for our gathering on the Sunday. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne B, Owner at Whitemoor House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you very much for your lovely review, Jackie. It was so lovely to meet you and your family. You all certainly made our job very easy by making your beds so perfectly every morning! It was interesting to chat about Scotland and compare our weather - the heatwave you experienced here was, sadly, not repeated this summer! We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again if you're ever back down this way! All the best, Jayne and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

The location is great for those who like the quiet, or those who are into walking, riding bikes, and trekking over the New Forest. The Guest house has good options for twin and double rooms.
There is good bus route to Bournemouth, and Southampton for those who enjoy shopping.
Lyndhurst has good eating places, but close early in the evenings.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are better, as it is on the main Road,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank niceholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne B, Owner at Whitemoor House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We're glad that you enjoyed your stay here and found travelling around by train and bus nice and easy. We have two rooms that can be used as either a twin or a double, which is quite handy. The pubs and restaurants tend to close at 9.30 in Lyndhurst, but often a bit earlier on a Sunday. There can be a bit of a gap between the cafes closing at 5/5.30pm and the restaurants opening at 6pm. We hope you enjoyed your Golden Wedding Celebrations and do hope to see you again! All the best, Jayne and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Thank you to David and Jayne for a perfect stay in their B&B. Wonderful welcome with scrummy cake (my husband is still talking about the cake) and coffee. Room was clean, comfortable and even the very warm nights were sorted with a fan. We stayed for three nights and our breakfasts were excellent. Cereal (including home-made granola) and fruit followed by full English on our first morning, scrambled egg on a muffin with salmon on our second morning and I had poached eggs on muffins on our third morning. My husband had a cheese omelette. We used the walk leaflets on offer to make the most of our trip. The location is excellent as well and just a short walk to the restaurants and pubs in Lyndhurst. Would not hesitate in recommending to anybody.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenatHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne B, Owner at Whitemoor House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Thank you so much for your smashing review, Karen, and for taking the time to identify what you particularly enjoyed. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we're pleased that you enjoyed the 'Welcome' homemade cake and all the cooked breakfasts - it was good to see you trying the full range between you during your stay! We're glad that you had some good walks in the Forest - there are just too many to choose from! We hope to see you again soon! All the best, Jayne and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

David and Jayne are wonderful hosts at this charming B & B. We stayed two nights there on our month-long trip around England and Scotland, and Whitemoor House was one of the best B & B's we stayed in. We were welcomed warmly with tea and a delicious lemon drizzle cake, and our whole stay was perfect. Jayne and David made great recommendations for meals and things to visit and were very helpful in every way. The breakfasts are superb! The fresh flowers and little bags of fudge on the bed each day added an extra special touch. Lovely!!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilGourdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne B, Owner at Whitemoor House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Thank you so much for the super review, Philippa, and we're glad that we ranked well during your month's trip! We really enjoyed meeting you both and look forward to seeing you in Christchurch! We're pleased that you enjoyed all the homemade 'goodies' and also enjoyed exploring the New Forest and surrounds. We're lucky that we have such a great range of pubs, restaurants and tea shops within a short walk. Next time you fly half way around the World, be sure to come back and see us! All the best, Jayne and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

We had the Forrest View Room, which is more like a honeymoon suite. Soooo lovely. Everything is so well taken care of, spotless and David and Jayne are very kind a lovely hosts. They even had summer blankets in the room, as it was very hot during our stay. The breakfast was also very yummy: Homemade marmelade and a lemon curd which was absolutey delicious! Fresh fruits, cereals and a choice of cooked breakfast as well. You can walk directly from the B&B into the Whitemoor to see the ponies and take a stroll in this beautiful forest. The only cloud in this perfect place would be the busy road. If you are a light sleeper, it might be better to take a room with garden view.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne B, Owner at Whitemoor House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Thank you so much for your smashing review, Daniela, and for taking the time to write about the things you particularly liked. We're glad that you enjoyed the home made goodies and locally sourced breakfasts. The Ponies and Donkeys really make it, don't they? We do hope the road didn't disturb your sleep - we're lucky that it is very quiet during the night and the double glazing muffles the noise of traffic - but do agree, that if anyone is a light sleeper, they should give us a ring or email, and request a room at the back, where you barely hear a thing! We do hope to see you again sometime. All the best, Jayne and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.1 km away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
490 reviews
0.8 km away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.7 km away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
635 reviews
0.8 km away
Lyndhurst House
Lyndhurst House
#4 of 22 in Lyndhurst
32 reviews
0.2 km away
Rufus House
Rufus House
#6 of 22 in Lyndhurst
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitemoor House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitemoor House B&B

Address: Southampton Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lyndhurst
Price Range: $129 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitemoor House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
David and Jayne are delighted to welcome you to Whitemoor House and will endeavour to make your stay a pleasurable experience. Book direct with us for the most uptodate availability and to discuss your individual requirements. Whitemoor House overlooks the open New Forest, and a policy of continual refurbishment ensures a high standard of accommodation is maintained. Well appointed rooms offer comfort and style, with double, twin and romantic four poster beds for that special occasion (champagne, chocolates, flowers and strawberries can be arranged on request). Our hearty breakfasts are cooked using only the finest local produce, from farmhouse sausages, dry cured bacon, free range eggs to scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. There is also an extensive choice of cereals, fruits and yogurts to start with. We make our own marmalade, jam, lemon curd, granola and welcome cake. We provide well stocked mini bars, a cosy lounge with real fires for those winter months, a sunny garden for warmer days, an extensive library of maps, guide books, DVDs and board games plus complimentary Wi-Fi in each room. Your comfort and enjoyment during your visit is our top priority. Lyndhurst village centre is just 7-8 minutes stroll away and has an excellent selection of restaurants, pubs and tea/coffee shops. Just across the road is direct access to the open forest, beautiful walks and close encounters with ponies, donkeys and cattle! Cycle hire is available in Lyndhurst, with several well-marked tracks to choose from. The unique New Forest Golf Club is a short walk from here and offers beneficial rates to our residents. With over 45 attractions including Beaulieu (the home of Lord Montague and The National Motor Museum), Eling Tide Mill, Hurst Castle and the New Forest Wildlife Park, Whitemoor House, with its central location, is a great place to stay in the New Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Whitemoor House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitemoor House Hotel Lyndhurst
Whitemoor House B&B Lyndhurst, UK - New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing