We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveller rating
307
14
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
307
14
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslemon curdhonesty barfudgetea and homemade cakeon arrivalforest view roomhome made cakesdavid and janeplaces to visitnew forestfour poster bedpreservesdelicious homewarm welcomea lovely stayexcellent hostsbreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 322 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2017 via mobile

This is a wonderful B and B and I would 100% recommend it.
The location is great, just a short walk to Lyndhurst, bus stops nearby and cycle hire available in Lyndhurst, in fact we didn't use our car at all during our visit!
The rooms are lovely, tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean and very comfortable.
Lots of choice for both hot and cold breakfast which was delicious. In particular the home made fruit salad,granola and lemon curd were fantastic!
David and Jayne are wonderful hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them. They helped us plan a cycle route from lyndhurst and lent us a map for the day.
I think the extra little touches really add to your stay, the home made cake on arrival, the honesty bar, mini fridges for guest use,
a parking permit for use in the main towns in the forest, a money off voucher for use in restaurants in the area and finally the fudge left in the rooms every day which I thoroughly enjoyed!
Thank you David and Jayne. We hope to be back next year!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank catkin2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne B, Owner at Whitemoor House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

Thank you so much for your smashing review! We really appreciate it and the fact that you have taken the time to identify so much of what you particularly enjoyed. We were impressed with your day's cycling - we're just so lucky to have so many miles of cycle tracks that link up to our front gate! We're pleased that you enjoyed all the extra touches, including the Parking Permit and Discount Card - they all help to make the holiday money go a little further! It was a pleasure to meet you both and we hope to see you again soon. All the best, Jayne and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2017 via mobile

big thanks to David and Jayne for a most enjoyable stay. A party of 7 came down from Scotland for family wedding. What great hosts, nothing too much of a bother. Rooms very comfy n well equipped. Food excellent especially the lemon drizzle cake Jayne made for our gathering on the Sunday. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne B, Owner at Whitemoor House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

Thank you very much for your lovely review, Jackie. It was so lovely to meet you and your family. You all certainly made our job very easy by making your beds so perfectly every morning! It was interesting to chat about Scotland and compare our weather - the heatwave you experienced here was, sadly, not repeated this summer! We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again if you're ever back down this way! All the best, Jayne and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2017

The location is great for those who like the quiet, or those who are into walking, riding bikes, and trekking over the New Forest. The Guest house has good options for twin and double rooms.
There is good bus route to Bournemouth, and Southampton for those who enjoy shopping.
Lyndhurst has good eating places, but close early in the evenings.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are better, as it is on the main Road,
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank niceholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne B, Owner at Whitemoor House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We're glad that you enjoyed your stay here and found travelling around by train and bus nice and easy. We have two rooms that can be used as either a twin or a double, which is quite handy. The pubs and restaurants tend to close at 9.30 in Lyndhurst, but often a bit earlier on a Sunday. There can be a bit of a gap between the cafes closing at 5/5.30pm and the restaurants opening at 6pm. We hope you enjoyed your Golden Wedding Celebrations and do hope to see you again! All the best, Jayne and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2017

Thank you to David and Jayne for a perfect stay in their B&B. Wonderful welcome with scrummy cake (my husband is still talking about the cake) and coffee. Room was clean, comfortable and even the very warm nights were sorted with a fan. We stayed for three nights and our breakfasts were excellent. Cereal (including home-made granola) and fruit followed by full English on our first morning, scrambled egg on a muffin with salmon on our second morning and I had poached eggs on muffins on our third morning. My husband had a cheese omelette. We used the walk leaflets on offer to make the most of our trip. The location is excellent as well and just a short walk to the restaurants and pubs in Lyndhurst. Would not hesitate in recommending to anybody.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenatHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne B, Owner at Whitemoor House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2017

Thank you so much for your smashing review, Karen, and for taking the time to identify what you particularly enjoyed. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we're pleased that you enjoyed the 'Welcome' homemade cake and all the cooked breakfasts - it was good to see you trying the full range between you during your stay! We're glad that you had some good walks in the Forest - there are just too many to choose from! We hope to see you again soon! All the best, Jayne and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2017

David and Jayne are wonderful hosts at this charming B & B. We stayed two nights there on our month-long trip around England and Scotland, and Whitemoor House was one of the best B & B's we stayed in. We were welcomed warmly with tea and a delicious lemon drizzle cake, and our whole stay was perfect. Jayne and David made great recommendations for meals and things to visit and were very helpful in every way. The breakfasts are superb! The fresh flowers and little bags of fudge on the bed each day added an extra special touch. Lovely!!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilGourdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne B, Owner at Whitemoor House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2017

Thank you so much for the super review, Philippa, and we're glad that we ranked well during your month's trip! We really enjoyed meeting you both and look forward to seeing you in Christchurch! We're pleased that you enjoyed all the homemade 'goodies' and also enjoyed exploring the New Forest and surrounds. We're lucky that we have such a great range of pubs, restaurants and tea shops within a short walk. Next time you fly half way around the World, be sure to come back and see us! All the best, Jayne and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews