We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT STAY WITH LOVELY HOSTS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whitemoor House B&B
Ranked #2 of 22 Lyndhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Stayed 5 nights from 16 to 21 June 2017. Could not have asked for better accommodation. Large airy room at the front with great bed and shower. Very clean. Great location in Lyndhurst with immediate access to the New Forrest trails. Our hosts Jayne and Dave were terrific; like staying with family. Dave, who also cooks, went out of his way to provide special breakfast treats that I will long remember. I am sure it pleased him to please us. Jayne was wonderful; very knowledgeable about the surrounding country and very helpful in suggesting things to do and places to visit. My wife and I would like to express our thanks in this way.

Room Tip: Any room in this excellent B & B
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne B, Owner at Whitemoor House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you so much for your smashing review, John. It was such a pleasure to meet you both and to hear about your lives in Australia. We hope you went onto have a great time in Cornwall? Thank you for taking the time to identify some of the things that you particularly enjoyed here (including the breakfast - the sausages, bacon and eggs are all produced on our local farm which has the New Forest Marque for quality and animal husbandry). Come back and see us next time you visit the UK! All the best, Jayne and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2017

After a hectic week away, on a holiday park with our two young granddaughters, we were looking forward to spending a few days away in the piece and quite. Whitemoor House gave us that.

On arrival we were met by Jayne, a lovely welcoming lady. She made us feel at home straight away. We were shown to a beautiful room which met every need possible. From the little boxes of cotton buds, shower cap, etc, soft towels, to a normal size hair dryer. Oh and some fudge! :-) The bed was enormous and comfortable with lovely bedding. From our window We had a beautiful view of the forest full of horses and cows, yes we had the road too but that never bothered us one bit.
Also on the 1st landing was a fridge containing wine, Sprits, fizzy drinks, water, etc and on top were crisps, chocolate, etc with a very cheap price list. If you wanted any thing you could just take it and leave the money in a container also there.

Once we unpacked we went downstairs to freshly made coffee and a delicious slice of lemon drizzle cake. (I never eat that, but it was absolutely scrumptious) Jayne then told us about Lymington and answered any questions we had. She also gave us a discount card which we could use in some restaurants and towards admission to certain places.

After returning that night from our Anniversary meal, we were met by a lovely note on our side saying that there was an anniversary toast in the fridge on our landing. Jayne and Dave had given us a small bottle of Prosecco to finish our celebrations off. This was unexpected and shows how thoughtful and caring Jayne and Dave are about their guests.

The next morning we woke to the smell of delicious food. Dave's breakfasts were definitely tasty. There was so much to choose from. You had different fresh fruit, cereals, toast with jams, lemon curd and marmalade then a choice of cooked breakfasts which you were asked to fill out the night before, washed down with fresh juices, tea or coffee. We definitely put on a few pounds while being away! (In a nice way)

I was actually sad to leave this B&B, Jayne and Dave were/are fantastic hosts and were available to answer or help in every way possible always going that extra mile.
We wish them continual success and we will definitely book with them again should we return to the New Forest.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Donna-lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne B, Owner at Whitemoor House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Wow! What a lovely review and so comprehensive! Thank you so much, Donna! Would you like a job as our Publicity Manager?! We really enjoyed meeting you both and are very happy that you had such a lovely, peaceful time here and enjoyed your Anniversary. It's wonderful spending time with Grandchildren and also lovely to have some quiet relaxing time! We hope you do come back to the New Forest at some point, because we would love to see you again! All the best, Jayne and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Booked 2 rooms, one for my wife and I and a second room for my daughter and her 12 year old son. On our arrival we were welcomed by Jayne and David who then gave us delicious lemon drizzle cake and tea. Our rooms were excellent and very comfortable. Breakfast was amazing I had a mushroom omelette the first day and the full English the second day and both were absolutely first class. On retiring for the night we found home made fudge on our bed and my Grandson pronounced it the most delicious fudge he had ever eaten.
Other great touches were the honesty bar the prices of which were brilliant. Most hotels rip you off with these bars but here a Diet Coke was 75p and a bottle of 75cc wine £6.50.
I cannot recommend this establishment highly enough. David and Jayne are fantastic hosts. I would also like to mention the negative post recently put on about a family being turned away with their baby. Throughout all my booking process and on their website it was made absolutely clear that the B and B does not accept young children. My Grandson is aged 12 and Jayne made a fuss of him throughout the weekend.
We will return.

Room Tip: Four poster bed in Forest View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RICHARD G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne B, Owner at Whitemoor House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you so much, Richard, for your wonderful and very comprehensive review! We're so glad that you and your family enjoyed it here - we certainly loved meeting you all and were also very impressed with your early morning Park Run and the work you do raising funds for Air Ambulance. Thank you also for your comment about the previous review (which has now been taken down by TripAdvisor - partly, I think, thanks to you). What you said made us feel much better about the whole unfortunate incident. Unfortunately, we just don't have the space or facilities for young children and babies, and, as you say, we do make that very clear throughout the booking process. Your Grandson was an absolute delight and we hope he has settled back in to a new year at school. We do hope to see you again sometime. All the best, Jayne and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

This is a wonderful B and B and I would 100% recommend it.
The location is great, just a short walk to Lyndhurst, bus stops nearby and cycle hire available in Lyndhurst, in fact we didn't use our car at all during our visit!
The rooms are lovely, tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean and very comfortable.
Lots of choice for both hot and cold breakfast which was delicious. In particular the home made fruit salad,granola and lemon curd were fantastic!
David and Jayne are wonderful hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them. They helped us plan a cycle route from lyndhurst and lent us a map for the day.
I think the extra little touches really add to your stay, the home made cake on arrival, the honesty bar, mini fridges for guest use,
a parking permit for use in the main towns in the forest, a money off voucher for use in restaurants in the area and finally the fudge left in the rooms every day which I thoroughly enjoyed!
Thank you David and Jayne. We hope to be back next year!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank catkin2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne B, Owner at Whitemoor House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you so much for your smashing review! We really appreciate it and the fact that you have taken the time to identify so much of what you particularly enjoyed. We were impressed with your day's cycling - we're just so lucky to have so many miles of cycle tracks that link up to our front gate! We're pleased that you enjoyed all the extra touches, including the Parking Permit and Discount Card - they all help to make the holiday money go a little further! It was a pleasure to meet you both and we hope to see you again soon. All the best, Jayne and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

big thanks to David and Jayne for a most enjoyable stay. A party of 7 came down from Scotland for family wedding. What great hosts, nothing too much of a bother. Rooms very comfy n well equipped. Food excellent especially the lemon drizzle cake Jayne made for our gathering on the Sunday. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne B, Owner at Whitemoor House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you very much for your lovely review, Jackie. It was so lovely to meet you and your family. You all certainly made our job very easy by making your beds so perfectly every morning! It was interesting to chat about Scotland and compare our weather - the heatwave you experienced here was, sadly, not repeated this summer! We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again if you're ever back down this way! All the best, Jayne and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

The location is great for those who like the quiet, or those who are into walking, riding bikes, and trekking over the New Forest. The Guest house has good options for twin and double rooms.
There is good bus route to Bournemouth, and Southampton for those who enjoy shopping.
Lyndhurst has good eating places, but close early in the evenings.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are better, as it is on the main Road,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank niceholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne B, Owner at Whitemoor House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We're glad that you enjoyed your stay here and found travelling around by train and bus nice and easy. We have two rooms that can be used as either a twin or a double, which is quite handy. The pubs and restaurants tend to close at 9.30 in Lyndhurst, but often a bit earlier on a Sunday. There can be a bit of a gap between the cafes closing at 5/5.30pm and the restaurants opening at 6pm. We hope you enjoyed your Golden Wedding Celebrations and do hope to see you again! All the best, Jayne and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Thank you to David and Jayne for a perfect stay in their B&B. Wonderful welcome with scrummy cake (my husband is still talking about the cake) and coffee. Room was clean, comfortable and even the very warm nights were sorted with a fan. We stayed for three nights and our breakfasts were excellent. Cereal (including home-made granola) and fruit followed by full English on our first morning, scrambled egg on a muffin with salmon on our second morning and I had poached eggs on muffins on our third morning. My husband had a cheese omelette. We used the walk leaflets on offer to make the most of our trip. The location is excellent as well and just a short walk to the restaurants and pubs in Lyndhurst. Would not hesitate in recommending to anybody.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenatHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne B, Owner at Whitemoor House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Thank you so much for your smashing review, Karen, and for taking the time to identify what you particularly enjoyed. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we're pleased that you enjoyed the 'Welcome' homemade cake and all the cooked breakfasts - it was good to see you trying the full range between you during your stay! We're glad that you had some good walks in the Forest - there are just too many to choose from! We hope to see you again soon! All the best, Jayne and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.1 km away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
490 reviews
0.8 km away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.8 km away
Lyndhurst House
Lyndhurst House
#4 of 22 in Lyndhurst
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Rufus House
Rufus House
#6 of 22 in Lyndhurst
398 reviews
7.7 km away
Daisybank Cottage Boutique Bed and Breakfast
8.5 km away
Dale Farm House
Dale Farm House
#1 of 1 in Dibden
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitemoor House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitemoor House B&B

Address: Southampton Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lyndhurst
Price Range: C$128 - C$162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitemoor House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
David and Jayne are delighted to welcome you to Whitemoor House and will endeavour to make your stay a pleasurable experience. Book direct with us for the most uptodate availability and to discuss your individual requirements. Whitemoor House overlooks the open New Forest, and a policy of continual refurbishment ensures a high standard of accommodation is maintained. Well appointed rooms offer comfort and style, with double, twin and romantic four poster beds for that special occasion (champagne, chocolates, flowers and strawberries can be arranged on request). Our hearty breakfasts are cooked using only the finest local produce, from farmhouse sausages, dry cured bacon, free range eggs to scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. There is also an extensive choice of cereals, fruits and yogurts to start with. We make our own marmalade, jam, lemon curd, granola and welcome cake. We provide well stocked mini bars, a cosy lounge with real fires for those winter months, a sunny garden for warmer days, an extensive library of maps, guide books, DVDs and board games plus complimentary Wi-Fi in each room. Your comfort and enjoyment during your visit is our top priority. Lyndhurst village centre is just 7-8 minutes stroll away and has an excellent selection of restaurants, pubs and tea/coffee shops. Just across the road is direct access to the open forest, beautiful walks and close encounters with ponies, donkeys and cattle! Cycle hire is available in Lyndhurst, with several well-marked tracks to choose from. The unique New Forest Golf Club is a short walk from here and offers beneficial rates to our residents. With over 45 attractions including Beaulieu (the home of Lord Montague and The National Motor Museum), Eling Tide Mill, Hurst Castle and the New Forest Wildlife Park, Whitemoor House, with its central location, is a great place to stay in the New Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Whitemoor House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitemoor House Hotel Lyndhurst
Whitemoor House B&B Lyndhurst, UK - New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing