We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveller rating
307
14
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
307
14
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslemon curdhonesty barfudgetea and homemade cakeon arrivalforest view roomhome made cakesdavid and janeplaces to visitnew forestfour poster bedpreserveswarm welcomea lovely stayexcellent hostsbreakfast was excellentoverlooking the garden
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 322 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2017

After a hectic week away, on a holiday park with our two young granddaughters, we were looking forward to spending a few days away in the piece and quite. Whitemoor House gave us that.

On arrival we were met by Jayne, a lovely welcoming lady. She made us feel at home straight away. We were shown to a beautiful room which met every need possible. From the little boxes of cotton buds, shower cap, etc, soft towels, to a normal size hair dryer. Oh and some fudge! :-) The bed was enormous and comfortable with lovely bedding. From our window We had a beautiful view of the forest full of horses and cows, yes we had the road too but that never bothered us one bit.
Also on the 1st landing was a fridge containing wine, Sprits, fizzy drinks, water, etc and on top were crisps, chocolate, etc with a very cheap price list. If you wanted any thing you could just take it and leave the money in a container also there.

Once we unpacked we went downstairs to freshly made coffee and a delicious slice of lemon drizzle cake. (I never eat that, but it was absolutely scrumptious) Jayne then told us about Lymington and answered any questions we had. She also gave us a discount card which we could use in some restaurants and towards admission to certain places.

After returning that night from our Anniversary meal, we were met by a lovely note on our side saying that there was an anniversary toast in the fridge on our landing. Jayne and Dave had given us a small bottle of Prosecco to finish our celebrations off. This was unexpected and shows how thoughtful and caring Jayne and Dave are about their guests.

The next morning we woke to the smell of delicious food. Dave's breakfasts were definitely tasty. There was so much to choose from. You had different fresh fruit, cereals, toast with jams, lemon curd and marmalade then a choice of cooked breakfasts which you were asked to fill out the night before, washed down with fresh juices, tea or coffee. We definitely put on a few pounds while being away! (In a nice way)

I was actually sad to leave this B&B, Jayne and Dave were/are fantastic hosts and were available to answer or help in every way possible always going that extra mile.
We wish them continual success and we will definitely book with them again should we return to the New Forest.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Donna-lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne B, Owner at Whitemoor House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

Wow! What a lovely review and so comprehensive! Thank you so much, Donna! Would you like a job as our Publicity Manager?! We really enjoyed meeting you both and are very happy that you had such a lovely, peaceful time here and enjoyed your Anniversary. It's wonderful spending time with Grandchildren and also lovely to have some quiet relaxing time! We hope you do come back to the New Forest at some point, because we would love to see you again! All the best, Jayne and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2017

Booked 2 rooms, one for my wife and I and a second room for my daughter and her 12 year old son. On our arrival we were welcomed by Jayne and David who then gave us delicious lemon drizzle cake and tea. Our rooms were excellent and very comfortable. Breakfast was amazing I had a mushroom omelette the first day and the full English the second day and both were absolutely first class. On retiring for the night we found home made fudge on our bed and my Grandson pronounced it the most delicious fudge he had ever eaten.
Other great touches were the honesty bar the prices of which were brilliant. Most hotels rip you off with these bars but here a Diet Coke was 75p and a bottle of 75cc wine £6.50.
I cannot recommend this establishment highly enough. David and Jayne are fantastic hosts. I would also like to mention the negative post recently put on about a family being turned away with their baby. Throughout all my booking process and on their website it was made absolutely clear that the B and B does not accept young children. My Grandson is aged 12 and Jayne made a fuss of him throughout the weekend.
We will return.

Room Tip: Four poster bed in Forest View.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RICHARD G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne B, Owner at Whitemoor House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

Thank you so much, Richard, for your wonderful and very comprehensive review! We're so glad that you and your family enjoyed it here - we certainly loved meeting you all and were also very impressed with your early morning Park Run and the work you do raising funds for Air Ambulance. Thank you also for your comment about the previous review (which has now been taken down by TripAdvisor - partly, I think, thanks to you). What you said made us feel much better about the whole unfortunate incident. Unfortunately, we just don't have the space or facilities for young children and babies, and, as you say, we do make that very clear throughout the booking process. Your Grandson was an absolute delight and we hope he has settled back in to a new year at school. We do hope to see you again sometime. All the best, Jayne and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2017 via mobile

This is a wonderful B and B and I would 100% recommend it.
The location is great, just a short walk to Lyndhurst, bus stops nearby and cycle hire available in Lyndhurst, in fact we didn't use our car at all during our visit!
The rooms are lovely, tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean and very comfortable.
Lots of choice for both hot and cold breakfast which was delicious. In particular the home made fruit salad,granola and lemon curd were fantastic!
David and Jayne are wonderful hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them. They helped us plan a cycle route from lyndhurst and lent us a map for the day.
I think the extra little touches really add to your stay, the home made cake on arrival, the honesty bar, mini fridges for guest use,
a parking permit for use in the main towns in the forest, a money off voucher for use in restaurants in the area and finally the fudge left in the rooms every day which I thoroughly enjoyed!
Thank you David and Jayne. We hope to be back next year!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank catkin2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne B, Owner at Whitemoor House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

Thank you so much for your smashing review! We really appreciate it and the fact that you have taken the time to identify so much of what you particularly enjoyed. We were impressed with your day's cycling - we're just so lucky to have so many miles of cycle tracks that link up to our front gate! We're pleased that you enjoyed all the extra touches, including the Parking Permit and Discount Card - they all help to make the holiday money go a little further! It was a pleasure to meet you both and we hope to see you again soon. All the best, Jayne and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2017 via mobile

big thanks to David and Jayne for a most enjoyable stay. A party of 7 came down from Scotland for family wedding. What great hosts, nothing too much of a bother. Rooms very comfy n well equipped. Food excellent especially the lemon drizzle cake Jayne made for our gathering on the Sunday. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne B, Owner at Whitemoor House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

Thank you very much for your lovely review, Jackie. It was so lovely to meet you and your family. You all certainly made our job very easy by making your beds so perfectly every morning! It was interesting to chat about Scotland and compare our weather - the heatwave you experienced here was, sadly, not repeated this summer! We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again if you're ever back down this way! All the best, Jayne and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2017

The location is great for those who like the quiet, or those who are into walking, riding bikes, and trekking over the New Forest. The Guest house has good options for twin and double rooms.
There is good bus route to Bournemouth, and Southampton for those who enjoy shopping.
Lyndhurst has good eating places, but close early in the evenings.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are better, as it is on the main Road,
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank niceholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne B, Owner at Whitemoor House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We're glad that you enjoyed your stay here and found travelling around by train and bus nice and easy. We have two rooms that can be used as either a twin or a double, which is quite handy. The pubs and restaurants tend to close at 9.30 in Lyndhurst, but often a bit earlier on a Sunday. There can be a bit of a gap between the cafes closing at 5/5.30pm and the restaurants opening at 6pm. We hope you enjoyed your Golden Wedding Celebrations and do hope to see you again! All the best, Jayne and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews