We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT THE BEST”
Review of The Alice Lisle

The Alice Lisle
Ranked #42 of 77 Restaurants in Ringwood
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Nestled at the heart of the New Forest, The Alice Lisle is a rural haven that boasts a truly gorgeous location with food to match. Inspired by our surroundings, our award-winning chefs produce locally-sourced dishes perfectly accompanied by our wide range of refreshments.
Reviewed September 21, 2018

Even though the restaurant was not that busy we were given a table right in the corner next to the passage leading to the toilets. And when two people were sitting on that side of the table there was barely enough room for people to get by. One case in particular for a gentleman with some mobility issues who was using a walker, the only way for him to get passed was to stand up and push the chairs back under the table and then move out of the way so that he could get by. I think the sensible solution would be to do away with that particular table.

I'm afraid the food was, at best, average. One of us had the pie with mash and seasonal vegetables, the pie and mash were okay but I would not call a couple of handfuls of warmed up frozen peas seasonal vegetables (plural). And the service was not that good either, perhaps because we were so far away from the action they couldn't be bothered to come over and check on our progress.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jrh2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (920)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 920 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2018

Overall we were disappointed with our meal. The prices are too high for the quality of food and service. The service was terrible, aside from one waitress, the rest could not have been less interested. We noticed that at least one other table were having problems with their meal due to the poor service.
I could not believe that we were charged £6.50 for a chocolate brownie that could be eaten in two mouthfuls, it was an absolute rip off! We would not return.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ElleW94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2018 via mobile

A very nice place to eat or/and drink. Was able to accommodate a table of 11 and the service was brilliant. Great food and nice in the summer to go and sit outside. Might even be lucky to have a visit in the car park by donkeys and horses

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank sbstiff80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2018

The food we had here was very tasty, however the overall experience was let down by the poor service - our party consisted of 6 adults and 3 children. We all ordered at the same time, and the children ordered roast chicken. When the food was bought, my meal was missing and the children were all given beef. We pointed this out and the children's meals were changed, but my meal still failed to appear. My friends wanted to wait for me, but I didn't want their food to get cold. It took 3 attempts to get my food served. This was a real shame as the food was delicious, but it shouldn't have been so difficult to serve it, and we felt the staff didn't handle the situation very well.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TizzyJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

Attentive staff and overall good food including kids menu. Large outdoor play area for the kids. Only thing preventing 5 stars was fish platter starter which seemed a little over priced for what it was, bread seemed dry and came without tartare sauce or lemon. Our desserts were also forgotten about until our waiter noticed we had been waiting a long time, apologised and went and fetched them. Food and service was otherwise very good and we would try here again.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 99philipf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Alice Lisle also viewed

Ringwood, New Forest
Ringwood, New Forest
 
Ringwood, New Forest
Ringwood, New Forest
 
Ringwood, New Forest
 

Been to The Alice Lisle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing