We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, reasonable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Watermill Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Reviewed 14 April 2012

When we pulled up to the hotel, we were a bit wary as the front looks a bit grim. On the left hand side there was what we descibed to each other as a 'Pontins' like frontage. Wooden doors leading onto a railed long balcony which had a climbing plant running over it. It didn't help that there were no leaves on the plant as yet, so it looked dead!
Having said all that, we were pleasantly surprised!
Our family room was a very good size, quite often when there are 4 beds it is very cramped, but we had a large double bed, a larger than average single and a single folding guest bed, which my son aged 12 said was uncomfortable.
The room was clean and tidy, ready made up and the bottled water was a lovely touch. We were staying for one night to coincide with a trip to the Harry Potter Tour. The breakfast was good overall, but the sausages let the quality down.

Overall, good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llassahred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

Room was cold and not particularly clean. Sink was not fixed to unit properly.
I stayed for approx half an hour.. Then decided to check out and drive 145k home. Would not recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adelegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Sister, my twin nieces and myself stayed here from 4th to 7th April and have to say this is one of the cleanest hotels i have stayed in. Room was immaculate and they had no problem with the 4 of us sharing a family room...they just popped up a guest-bed alongside the double and single already there. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Its in a lovely setting and a bonus for me was the canal running along the back of the hotel as i love to walk along the towpaths. Bus runs into Hemel Hempstead frequently so getting about was not a problem. Enjoyed an evening meal there on 6th and have to say the food was delicious and plenty of it. Had a glass of australian shiraz with my meal which was very nice, a surprise, as so many hotels have absolutely awful wines....but this was a really nice smooth and fruity shiraz..heaven! The setting was excellent for getting out and about, we went to Whipsnade Zoo on the thurs and the Harry Potter Tour on fri. Taxi's are a little expensive, especially easter weekend where buses don't run or run on limited service, but normal services will get you anywhere outwith public holidays (something to bear in mind). All in all we would most definitely book here again if we find ourselves down there and am thankful we had ignored a couple of dire reviews from dec ( sure they must have been in a parallel universe!). Spotless, quiet, good food and drink, pleasant helpful staff...what more can you possibly want!

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the back of hotel if you don't want road noise disturbing you..we certainly ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank callumsnona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This hotel was set in a good lake side setting, only stayed there the night but good value at only £49. The room overlooked some grounds , was pleasant to wake up to.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watermillhotel, Manager at The Watermill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time out to give us feedback regarding your stay here at Watermill Hotel, Hemel Hempstead. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,

Many Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This hotel is an odd mix- it is close to a main road, so you get the road noise. But out the back is a lovely river and meadow- it really is very pretty.
Staff were friendly enough- the rooms were a bit old but clean and comfy. The rooms, or at least mine, were all accessed from outside, but in a sheltered kind of way.

I liked it- it was pleasantly cool in the room, and it was well laid out.

The doors didn't fit in their door frames perfectly, but that wasn't a big deal. A bigger deal was the extractor fan in the shower- it was very noisy, especially when you consider how ineffectual it is.

The breakfast was nice- I judge a breakfast by the quality of the scambled eggs, and it was superb. THe waitress quickly brought me tea, which was good.

The evening food was ok- standard pub grub really, at expensive prices.

But I did feel looked after. The biscuits and bottled water were a nice touch, and I had a great night's sleep, which is all you really want, isn't it?

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichieJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watermillhotel, Manager at The Watermill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Dear RichieJB,

Thank you very much for the comments in regards to your last stay at the Watermill. I’m glad to here you enjoyed your stay.

To help us improve our standards we encourage our guests to give us feedback, I am sorry that you had encountered a few issues with your stay. We will be looking into these issues.

I would like to thank you for the feedback, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Watermill Hotel very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Booked two rooms for 4th March. Phoned the hotel we are going to be late. Thats not a problem booked in after 9pm staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was very nice and clean. Had one of the best nights sleep in a hotel for a long time. Location is nice and quiet not far from Hemel Hempstead. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Would stay at The Watermill next time

Room Tip: Our rooms were in the front not far from the road, bit it was still very quiet of a night. rooms 13...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinman48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watermillhotel, Manager at The Watermill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Dear tinman48,
Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay, you are helping us deliver a superior experience. I am glad to hear you liked the room, and enjoyed your night’s sleep here.

I would like to thank you again for the comments, and we hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Was overall good stay, just stayed the night, don't have any names but staff were all nice

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dilanmacroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watermillhotel, Manager at The Watermill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Many thanks for the positive comments based on your experience here at The Watermill Hotel. I would like to thank for the praise towards our staff, rest assured I will pass your comments onto our team.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
4.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
4.1 km away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Hemel Hempstead
901 reviews
8.7 km away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redbourn
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
#8 of 9 in Hemel Hempstead
179 reviews
1.8 km away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 9 in Hemel Hempstead
426 reviews
5.9 km away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watermill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watermill Hotel

Address: London Road | Bourne End, Hemel Hempstead HP1 2RJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN The Watermill Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range: $108 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Watermill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermill Hotel, one of the finest modern Hotels in Hemel Hempstead is built around an old flour mill and offers excellent accommodations in Hemel Hempstead with a panoramic view of River Bulbourne threading through the property. Experience a serene, Old World retreat from bustling city life in this picturesque modern hotel. A convenient getaway venue with plenty of spacious free car parking. Watermill also offers wonderful amenities and hospitality for a relaxing stay, with convenient access to the area's tourist, industrial and commercial centres. Our hotel in Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire include 71 tastefully appointed rooms, several with beautiful views of the lush green meadows and the River Bulbourne. A blend of refined luxury and and refreshing tranquility is sure to romance both leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Watermill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Watermill
Hemel Hempstead Best Western
Best Western Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing