We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect countryside converted barn for groups and...”

Review of Owl Barn

First floor living area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
First floor living area
First Floor Bedroom mezzanine bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
First floor living area
First Floor Bedroom
mezzanine bedroom
The Luxury Kitchen
The Terrace
The Dining Table seats 12
The Large Gardens
The Stunning Fireplace
Fun In The Hot Tub
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Leominster, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Renee P
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Perfect countryside converted barn for groups and families”
Reviewed April 24, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Owl Barn was a beautifully kept, decorated and maintained property. It had everything needed for our weekend away including a beautiful hamper on arrival with fresh bread, milk, tea bags etc. It has a very spacious garden/lawn and a hot tub which was the icing on the cake. It also had lots of games and DVDs for wetter weather days.
We went on a couple of walks cross country using the OS maps to The Wheelright Arms in Pencombe for lunch and to Risbury.
The owners were very friendly and welcoming. We had a slight issue with a lamp but was fixed as soon as we reported it.
We were very impressed by the property and would certainly recommend to anyone. We intend to return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it and definitely the layout.
Liked least: No shelves in a couple of the bathrooms for toiletry bags
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MareeFran...
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed April 3, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed in this property for a long weekend with extended family who visited from all over the country. The barn was just brilliant! Spacious,luxurious and very well equipped. A perfect venue for our get together with a huge dining table and open plan kitchen. All the children loved the garden ( and the dogs) and the country walks were stunning! A great location and beautiful countryside we will be back. The new fridge freezer & wifi were much appreciated.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments they are very much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel M
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great family retreat”
Reviewed August 18, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A great family retreat, we had 5 adults and 5 children staying for most of the holiday. The barn’s conversion and layout was fab, the children loved the glass floor areas! And the space (inside and outside) meant everyone was able to move around without feeling on top of each other. The four bedrooms were large and spacious, and all with their own bathrooms, the bonus of having the extra room attached to the bedroom downstairs (with the bunk in) and the one upstairs with the mezzanine level (with yet another bed) meant loads of possibilities. The kitchen was large and had everything you needed, although (as someone else has mentioned) a larger fridge would have been very useful. There was also a very large selection of DVDs and games in the lounge upstairs, to keep everyone happy! The garden was brilliant and the weather meant we got to spend a lot of time to play outside. We visited; Leominster, a nice town and the children liked the milkshakes at ‘The Flying Dutchman’ (opposite WHSmiths), it also had a large Morrison’s that came in handy (although I would suggest doing a Tesco’s online delivery for when you get there). Hereford was a place for retail therapy, and restaurants, a suggestion would be to park in the Waitrose car park, everything is accessible from there and we had no problems finding a space. Ludlow, we loved, for the beautiful buildings and location, we also had a really nice meal in ‘Chang Thai’ (a recommendation by the Barn owners) and it didn’t disappoint… We also got to visit two of the National Trust locations; Berrington Hall and Croft Castle, both lovely and both had play areas for the kids. We took a drive (60 mins or so from the Barn) to Ross on Wye on one of the days, and honestly, it was ‘ok’… the best thing was the lunch in ‘Pots and Pieces’. For the children we found a couple of excellent activities; go-karting at Hereford Raceway a brilliant few hours fun, just a shame I didn’t get a go! And an adventure / activity place called ‘Oaker Wood Leisure’ which we booked for the three boys. They were running a daily summer holiday club (09:00 – 15:30) which was all based around outdoor activities in the Herefordshire Woodland. Everything we did were within thirty minutes away from the barn, except the trip to Ross on Wye.

Lastly a thank you to Becky and Martin (the owners) who were very accommodating and helpful, we would certainly recommend Owl Barn as a great family location…

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neiljw
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Really top quality accommodation”
Reviewed June 9, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We rented the barn for 7 cyclist who enjoy creature comforts and the camaraderie of cooking and eating together. It was perfect. A really high standard, lots of space for communal activities and a high quality kitchen. We are considering returning!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheekymon...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for Hay festival”
Reviewed May 31, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed with another family - 4 adults / 5 kids in total - the layout of the rooms is great for a large group and very flexible. The kitchen has a great array of pans etc and the dvd / games choice is excellent - leave yours at home. We used the barn largely as a base for going to the hay literary festival - a consistent 40 minute drive away. The odd day we weren't there the barn was great for lounging around although we did manage an across the fields walk to one of the pubs recommended in the owners hand book - it was however difficult for the adults to get a turn in the hot tub ! The owners were incredibly friendly and their dogs popped around to say hello too !

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review we really do appreciate your comments and glad you enjoyed the barn so much and had such a great time at Hay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela M
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Idyllic location, luxury renovated barn”
Reviewed May 1, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We went to Owl Barn expecting a bit of luxury for the weekend and the opportunity to relax as a family-it certainly delivered! It was a weekend for my Dad's 60th Birthday and was a surprise to him and he certainly wasn't disappointed by our choice. Upon arrival I was blown away by the barn itself. Set in a remote part of Herefordshire where you can't get a mobile phone or 3G signal, the landscaped gardens and exterior of the property are very in keeping with the area. The addition of a hot tub on the patio were a bonus and the sun was shining too so all I could hear was birds and cattle in the distance-very tranquil. As soon as I set foot inside the barn, I announced I didn't want to go home. The décor is fresh and the open plan layout meant nobody was excluded from conversation. All rooms are spacious and with 4 en-suite bathrooms there was never a queue for the amenities. In the upstairs lounge, the open fireplace added extra heat when the temperature dropped in the evenings but with under floor heating throughout it was never really cold. The owners of the Barn were on hand from the moment we arrived and had kindly given us a welcome basket and an overview of what to do in the local area. Even if they weren't there, they had provided a basket full of leaflets to look through yourself. The hosts have also thought about children as upstairs there was a trunk of board games and lots of DVD's to choose from and in the cupboard downstairs another trunk full of plastic toys for younger children, as well as bats & rackets (although no balls). Also provided was a BBQ and charcoal so we were well provided for. A Morrisons store was only 10 minutes drive away and this provided us with the majority of our fresh food although you could easily go into Ludlow on market day and buy fresh meats, eggs, jam, fruit & veg, pies, cheese & chocolate if preferred. We bought some lovely lamb burgers from the butcher on the corner of the market square in Ludlow and they were a bargain £6 for 10 or £5 for 10 beef burgers. The owners 2 playful dogs do come to visit you in the garden when they can hear you, which we really didn't mind but they never enter the property. One morning we had an error code on the hot tub which we reported- we then went out for a few hours to see Ludlow Castle and upon our return it had been fixed. We also took our own tea, coffee, toilet roll and basics but this had already been provided. I would recommend this place to families, couples and hen parties-not sure that it's the place for lads as they may not appreciate the finer qualities of the barn and the nearest pub is several miles across muddy fields away!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2015
Aww thank you for such a lovely and comprehensive review we really do appreciate all your comments.Hope to see you again in future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya828
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The perfect cottage in a wonderful location!”
Reviewed April 15, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a really memorable weekend in Owl Barn. The converted barn was everything we hoped for - impeccably clean, spacious, light, cosy and beautiful. With two living rooms, a great kitchen and a long dining table, there were plenty of communal spaces for chilling, as well as comfortable bedrooms with en suites and brilliant power showers. The hot tub and the fireplace were added bonuses!! The owners welcomed us warmly and were extremely helpful - we couldn't have asked for more. We also loved the location - the Herefordshire countryside is peaceful and picturesque. We were lucky with the weather so we enjoyed walking and exploring a few local pubs.
A car is certainly advisable - taxis and public transport are quite hard to get hold of.
Overall, our stay was perfect. Thank you so much to the owners - I would certainly return and recommend Owl Barn to any large groups in search of blissful relaxation without a shadow of a doubt!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: owl barn itself - the wooden beams, huge windows, hot tub!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review and for being such charming guests....we hope we do see you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing