We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Truly stunning barn in beautiful surroundings”

Review of Owl Barn

First floor living area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
First floor living area
First Floor Bedroom mezzanine bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
First floor living area
First Floor Bedroom
mezzanine bedroom
The Luxury Kitchen
The Terrace
The Dining Table seats 12
The Large Gardens
The Stunning Fireplace
Fun In The Hot Tub
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Leominster, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Sheila P
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly stunning barn in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 25 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I rented the barn for a party of 10 for a hen weekend. We were absolutely blown away by it. Such a luxurious barn with so much space and stunning features! The open plan kitchen and lounge on the ground floor is plenty big enough for a large family, but we were blown away by the stunning lounge upstairs - everyone said Wow! The bedrooms are all of a good size, each having an en-suite was a big bonus! We all loved the garden and spent a lot of time in the hot tub. We went for walks in the surrounding fields and loved relaxing in the barn afterwards. Becky and Martyn were on-hand if there were any problems, but the barn was so well stocked and the upkeep immaculate that we had no need to ask for help. I am hoping to return with extended family as it is such a beautiful venue!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing in the hot tub in the beautiful garden, so peaceful!
Liked least: Lack of signage
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review we really do appreciate your comments.We definitely hope you are able to visit us again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma H
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic secluded piece of the countryside.”
Reviewed 12 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Some friends and I went for a quiet weekend away. The owners were fantastic and very accommodating and made sure we were happy. The accommodation did not disappoint either, the beds were very comfy!

We went for a long country walk on the Saturday to get some fresh air. On the Saturday night we had the Thai Chef. Honestly one of the best thai meals we had all had, definitely recommend. Also some of us are planning our next trip!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2016
Thanks so much for your review we are pleased that you had such a great time you were all a pleasure.Hopefully we'll see you again in the future!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieHenr...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding accommodation, peace, quiet, beauty and modern functionality”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A group of 9 adult tap dancing ladies had an amazing stay here. The accommodation is modern, functional and beautiful and the surrounding countryside is breathtaking. We spent a lot of time in the hot tub (superb) and walking, including a lovely walk cross country to the Wheelwright Arms for lunch. The rooms are all spacious and with their own toilet and bath or shower, lots of communal space and a very relaxed atmosphere- this was certainly a long weekend to remember. We loved it so much we've already requested to book for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The first impression of the property has the wow factor - and further in it doesn't disappoint
Liked least: Nothing - it was all good
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2016
Thank you so much for your review we really appreciate that you have taken the trouble to write it. See you again next year!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayneCM
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunning property in glorious surroundings”
Reviewed 24 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Stunning, spacious barn conversion that housed 9 women for a relaxing weekend rest.
All bedrooms and bathrooms were extremely comfortable and welcoming.
The lounge areas were spacious for all to relax together and the kitchen was very well equipped. The hot tub and gardens added to the whole ambience.
A friendly pub serving decent food was about a 3 mile walk away following bridle ways and roads.
All in all, we had a fantastic time at the beautiful Owl Barn.
Thank you to the owners for a welcome pack too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renee P
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Perfect countryside converted barn for groups and families”
Reviewed 24 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Owl Barn was a beautifully kept, decorated and maintained property. It had everything needed for our weekend away including a beautiful hamper on arrival with fresh bread, milk, tea bags etc. It has a very spacious garden/lawn and a hot tub which was the icing on the cake. It also had lots of games and DVDs for wetter weather days.
We went on a couple of walks cross country using the OS maps to The Wheelright Arms in Pencombe for lunch and to Risbury.
The owners were very friendly and welcoming. We had a slight issue with a lamp but was fixed as soon as we reported it.
We were very impressed by the property and would certainly recommend to anyone. We intend to return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it and definitely the layout.
Liked least: No shelves in a couple of the bathrooms for toiletry bags
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MareeFran...
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed in this property for a long weekend with extended family who visited from all over the country. The barn was just brilliant! Spacious,luxurious and very well equipped. A perfect venue for our get together with a huge dining table and open plan kitchen. All the children loved the garden ( and the dogs) and the country walks were stunning! A great location and beautiful countryside we will be back. The new fridge freezer & wifi were much appreciated.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments they are very much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel M
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great family retreat”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A great family retreat, we had 5 adults and 5 children staying for most of the holiday. The barn’s conversion and layout was fab, the children loved the glass floor areas! And the space (inside and outside) meant everyone was able to move around without feeling on top of each other. The four bedrooms were large and spacious, and all with their own bathrooms, the bonus of having the extra room attached to the bedroom downstairs (with the bunk in) and the one upstairs with the mezzanine level (with yet another bed) meant loads of possibilities. The kitchen was large and had everything you needed, although (as someone else has mentioned) a larger fridge would have been very useful. There was also a very large selection of DVDs and games in the lounge upstairs, to keep everyone happy! The garden was brilliant and the weather meant we got to spend a lot of time to play outside. We visited; Leominster, a nice town and the children liked the milkshakes at ‘The Flying Dutchman’ (opposite WHSmiths), it also had a large Morrison’s that came in handy (although I would suggest doing a Tesco’s online delivery for when you get there). Hereford was a place for retail therapy, and restaurants, a suggestion would be to park in the Waitrose car park, everything is accessible from there and we had no problems finding a space. Ludlow, we loved, for the beautiful buildings and location, we also had a really nice meal in ‘Chang Thai’ (a recommendation by the Barn owners) and it didn’t disappoint… We also got to visit two of the National Trust locations; Berrington Hall and Croft Castle, both lovely and both had play areas for the kids. We took a drive (60 mins or so from the Barn) to Ross on Wye on one of the days, and honestly, it was ‘ok’… the best thing was the lunch in ‘Pots and Pieces’. For the children we found a couple of excellent activities; go-karting at Hereford Raceway a brilliant few hours fun, just a shame I didn’t get a go! And an adventure / activity place called ‘Oaker Wood Leisure’ which we booked for the three boys. They were running a daily summer holiday club (09:00 – 15:30) which was all based around outdoor activities in the Herefordshire Woodland. Everything we did were within thirty minutes away from the barn, except the trip to Ross on Wye.

Lastly a thank you to Becky and Martin (the owners) who were very accommodating and helpful, we would certainly recommend Owl Barn as a great family location…

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;