We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Space for large groups”

Review of Rose Bank

Rose Bank
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rose Bank
Main entrance Hall Library - books / games / pool / table football
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
67 reviews
Rose Bank
Main entrance Hall
Library - books / games / pool / table football
Kitchen - Large fridge+ under-counter fridge / Large freezer. Range Cooker
Kitchen / breakfast seating for 10
Dining Room with seating for 22/24
Main Drawing Room with open fire, seating for 22 and 60' wall TV
Playroom for our younger guests
Ground Floor Bedroom with king sized bed - easy access
Bedroom 1 - King sized bed
En Suite shower and dressing room.
Bedroom 2 - Super king - splits into two singles if required. Toddlers bed
Bedroom 3 Double bed + single + traditional wooden cot
Bedroom 4 - King sized bed splits into two singles if required. + single bed.
En Suite - Huge roll topped bath original to the house
Family Bathroom - full suite plus separate double shower.
Bedroom 5 - double + two single beds
Bedroom 6 - double plus single bed
Bedroom 7 - King sized bed
Bedroom 8 -twin bedded
Bedroom 9 - single room
Bedroom 10 - king sized bed
Pool ; Leisure area - available at additional cost see details
Terrace with BBQs / seating & tables and Hot Tub area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
11 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Lugwardine, Hereford, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Linda T
Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Space for large groups”
Reviewed December 3, 2012 for a stay in December 2012

Stayed for a long weekend with a large family group ranging from 3 months to 80 years old + dog. The owners were extremely welcoming and made us feel very relaxed and at home. No sign of any grumpiness. This is an very large Victorian houses - the size of the rooms and sense of space are truly lovely. So many of the original features have been retained but combined with modern amenities: fitted carpets, central heating, etc. The huge hallway is draughty - but the owners warned us many times. The rooms themselves were fine, despite harsh frosts outside. No, it hasn''t got a hand crafted modern 5 star kitchen, but the owners aren't asking 5 star prices. If you want modern, heat sealed tiny accommodation - don't go here. If you love browsing through a library walled with books, sitting by a roaring log fire or don't want to worry about the muddy boots in the kitchen when you come in from a walk - we highly recommend Rosebank.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large original rooms and flexibility of space for a large mixed group.
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorraineW...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodation - would definately return”
Reviewed December 3, 2012 for a stay in December 2012

We have just returned from a fabulous weekend away with extended family and would highly recommend this property. Our main concern prior to the trip was how warm we would be as it is a big old house and we were travelling with a 3 month old baby but none of the extra layers we had packed were required. The house was lovely and warm throughout the night and although the temperature did drop in the house towards late afternoon (it was December after all) that was soon solved as we sat around a roaring log fire with a glass of wine. The house is perfect for large parties with plenty of rooms for people to escape as well as rooms sufficiently large enough for you all to gather and socialise together (there were 16 in our party). We used the side door rather than the front door but did not have any concerns about safety even though people were coming and going at different times. The bedrooms are furnished to a lovely standard and the finishing touches such as dressing gowns and towels made us feel very welcome. There are also plenty of bathrooms for all the guests. The homemade cakes on arrival were very tasty and a lovely gesture. We did see a few small cobwebs (but no actual spiders) as commented by other guests but given the size of the house surely that is expected and they had no effect on our enjoyment of the property. We met the owner on arrival and he was extremely friendly and helpful during the guided tour he provided and throughout our trip when we had questions. Some of the staircases are steep but there are plenty of bedrooms and bathrooms on the first floor for those less able. The pictures on the website do not show the property in its true light - it is much grander and more impressive. We would love to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The social aspect provided by the property with its grand rooms
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandsD...
Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sadly,cold, unwelcoming, dirty and rude.”
Reviewed November 30, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
12
people found this review helpful

My family and I stayed at the invitation of my aunt at this amazing Victorian house. The proportions and architecture were glorious, it was a shame that so much let it down. The place was freezing cold until we asked for the heating hours to be extended. this was met with a speech by the gentleman owner saying "it was a Victorian house in original condition" and "what did we expect" Warmth was our reply, to which he very reluctantly adjusted the thermostat which was behind one of the many locked doors. There were multiple cobwebs in every room and panes of glass were broken in some of the windows, others let the cold air in and in one room the rain came through the roof. Our towels had holes in and were miss matched and some of the bed linen had seen better days. My husband had taken a walk around the property whose grounds are extensive, only to be met by the owner in his car telling him he was on private property! On the third day (Sunday) the owners wife rang and asked to meet with my aunt where upon she told her she had been very rude and was thinking of evicting us all! My aunt was extremely upset at which point the wife seemed to back off a little, but the damage was done. As a family we had a lovely time being with each other, it was such a shame that the owners and their home were not customer friendly.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The large proportions
Liked least: the feeling they wanted our money but not our custom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Dec 2012
This group were so rude / demanding / unrealistic that I was seriously considering asking them to leave before the end of the weekend. They were booked for the week and we were not prepared to put up with their demands and attitude.Example one of the 10 light bulbs in the kitchen went - they demanded we replace it - immediately - at 9.30 on Friday night. They used a months supply of logs within a week - initially demanding we fill the log baskets for them throughout each day.
I backed off only because the elderly woman who made the booking burst into tears and apologised.
I have over fourty years experience in hospitality but have never met such difficult people.
They also seriously damaged an antique light fitting - but failed to mention this.
Fortunately these type of guests are rare and most people who stay are at very least reasonable and realistic.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st albans
Reviewed November 18, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly owners, interesting house
Liked least: springy mattress
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Richard D
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Acceptable”
Reviewed October 25, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
10
people found this review helpful

My wife and I paid for a large group of family and friends to spend a long weekend to celebrate my wifes birthday here. We regularly stay away in large groups for New Year and other celebrations so we are all used to this kind of accommodation and below are my views on the good the bad and the ugly points about Rosebank.

The Good
1.Large, spacious house with lots of space for the children to play both inside and out.
2.Location is great for getting around the area and there is a great pub 5mins away for food or an evening drink (Crown and Anchor)
3. Fantastic imposing building with many good original features.
4. Pool - but we didnt pay the extortionate price to heat it so didnt use this.

The Bad
1. Needed a good clean, one guest commented even the cobwebs are dusty.
2. The owners husband was grumpy, not very friendly and was very rude to my mother. (He also told the children off for filling water bombs - he needs to lighten up).
3. The attic rooms were not the best, one was missing a curtain and none of them were decorated to a good standard.
4. The stairs to the top floor are very steep and narrow - not good for the elderly or young so you need to bear that in mind when booking large groups.
5. There are areas "off limits" but which lead to other separately let parts of the property and lead to many of our guests worried about security, especially those with children.
6. Being a large property with old sash windows and the like the house was very cold. We asked the owners husband if there was any chance of having the central heating on, he replied stating that they didnt put the heating on until next month, but we were free to use the fires and heaters in the rooms. Great, thanks for that.

The Ugly
1. There are no smoke alarms or fire extinguishers - extremely worrying for a property of this size.
2. We couldn't open the front door and had to rely on the side door. Not good for a quick escape.
3. The electrics were somewhat worrying, many lamps etc were run from extension leads of extension leads.

Overall we had a great weekend, because we had a great group with us and the negative points didnt spoil our weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious inside and out
Liked least: Needed to be cleaner
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2012
We are horrified to read the above factually incorrect review.
With regard to safety - the key is in the front door, no problem to open and there are other exits.
Fire extinguishers in the kitchen, entrance hall and main landing. Smoke alarms at numerous points, and a full electric fire alarm with emergency lighting from the first floor. Also notices as to what to do in the event of a fire.
The electrics have eight distribution boards, all with circuit breakers and we have never used extensions off extensions.
The children in question were particularily unruly and unsupervised, returning to private areas when asked not to and disturbing neighbours.
The mother in question seemed to consider it acceptable to open two sets of gates, clearly marked private, because she wanted to have a look.
Within the house the only 'off limits' areas are the cellars and attics and a store room. The separately let units are self contained with no direct access to the main house so donot understand this comment.
There are, as we clearly state, stairs into and within the house and we clearly advise that one stair case is steep.
This is a large, 150 year old house surrounded by gardens & trees. Afraid we have yet to find a way of preventing spiders coming in but we do thouroughly clean before and after every letting.
Our occupancy levels speak for themselves and many of our guests return so we must be doing something right.
These party organisers visited the house to look round prior to booking, so were well aware of what to expect.
We always welcome constructive comments.
This review is neither constructive nor honest.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dandog_9
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice house (if a bit grubby), shame about the host.”
Reviewed October 20, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
6
people found this review helpful

Upon arrival the house and garden were dirty & neglected. Before we brought food into the kitchen we had to do a full deep clean of the place, The floor was dirty & needed mopping. The fridges needed cleaning out. The cutlery, crocks & glasses were greasy, so we washed everything before settling in. The microwave was appalling - the stalactites and stalagmites reminded me of Wookey Hole, I am not joking! The cobwebs had cobwebs on them, Considering the size of the place there was not enough cutlery. All electric appliances were connected with extension leads. There were no smoke detectors. So electrical and fire safety was not good. In fact all electricity went off at one point, probably due to dodgy wiring. Although the house was chilly at night (September) we were told the heating is not in use until October. There was no seating for use outdoors. The general demeanour of the owner could be described as "grumpy". As we hadn't paid the (extortionate) fee to have the pool heated guests (when just going to have a look) were told to get out of the pool area as we hadn't paid. It's a lovely big house but it's going to rack and ruin in the hands of the current owners. It is in need of refurbishment and at the very least it should have a professional clean before each occupation. This wasn't a booking made by myself, but a friend. She had difficulty and a long wait before the deposit was returned, and for no reason. In fact we left the house (especially the kitchen) a great deal cleaner than when we arrived. As a group we have stayed at a number of large houses around the country, so we know what to expect. We didn't expect this. We certainly wouldn't return.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Size and period of house
Liked least: dirty and neglected
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2012
This review was from the same group who thought they should not pay extra for the pool.
We always personally show guests round the house on arrival so there is every oportunity to comment or complain if not as expected. We also ensure they have our telephone number should they have any problems. We try to be as professional, courteous and welcoming as possible.
Do not understand why no one in the group mentioned any concerns to us either as we showed them round, later that evening when we were on site, during their stay or when they handed back the keys.
As we do not supply chemicals for 'deep cleaning' not sure what was used.
The Microwave had been newly installed that afternoon - the only thing it contained was the instruction booklet.
We always welcome honest, constructive, comments or suggestions.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 26, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space for price
Liked least: Not knowing price from internet ad - had to make specific enquiry with owner
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing