We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another lovely stay!”

Review of Rose Bank

Rose Bank
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rose Bank
Main entrance Hall Library - books / games / pool / table football
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
69 reviews
Rose Bank
Main entrance Hall
Library - books / games / pool / table football
Kitchen - Large fridge+ under-counter fridge / Large freezer. Range Cooker
Kitchen / breakfast seating for 10
Dining Room with seating for 22/24
Main Drawing Room with open fire, seating for 22 and 60' wall TV
Playroom for our younger guests
Ground Floor Bedroom with king sized bed - easy access
Bedroom 1 - King sized bed
En Suite shower and dressing room.
Bedroom 2 - Super king - splits into two singles if required. Toddlers bed
Bedroom 3 Double bed + single + traditional wooden cot
Bedroom 4 - King sized bed splits into two singles if required. + single bed.
En Suite - Huge roll topped bath original to the house
Family Bathroom - full suite plus separate double shower.
Bedroom 5 - double + two single beds
Bedroom 6 - double plus single bed
Bedroom 7 - King sized bed
Bedroom 8 -twin bedded
Bedroom 9 - single room
Bedroom 10 - king sized bed
Pool ; Leisure area - available at additional cost see details
Terrace with BBQs / seating & tables and Hot Tub area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
11 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Lugwardine, Hereford, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JulesH81
Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Another lovely stay!”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We enjoyed another lovely stay at this property, having spent May Bank Holiday 2013 weekend also at the property.

Rose Bank is perfect for a large group with plenty of room. We were a group of 14 adults and 8 children and didn't feel overcrowded in the slightest. There is plenty of bedroom space as well as living space too.

We were extremely lucky that the weather was gorgeous whilst we were away and so we enjoyed the garden and hot tub in the sunshine.

Margaret left a lovely cream cake for us all too. We enjoyed an afternoon at Queenswood Country Park not far away which has a lovely walk, play area and cafe.

Thanks again for a lovely stay. This property is perfect for large groups!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2014
Delighted that you have joined our - growing - band of those who return time and again. Always good to welcome satisfied customers back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWillsy
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great stay in spacious house with large group of friends and lots of children”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Excellent time enjoyed by all.
Margaret kindly put out extra toys for the young children (aswell as cake for the adults and donuts!) whilst the older children loved playing in the grounds and park area.
Everyone enjoyed playing hide and seek in the extremely spacious house - with plenty of space available to relax also.
Rooms were mixed as you would expect of a house this size and this suited our group well, with the children in the attic and smaller rooms at the back of the house. There were 6 great big bedrooms for the grown ups with lovely views onto the grounds.
We will definitely return for a well priced break for a big group of families.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian W
Norton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Woodwards”
Reviewed December 9, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

What a great house! We have just returned from our family weekend at Rose Bank the house soaked up 16 adults and 3 children will little effort. A great dining room and spacious lounge enabled us all to be together with out sitting on each others laps. The owners had even put up and decorated several Christmas trees around the house. Really good value and more than we expected .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2014
So pleased the family enjoyed the stay so much they have re booked for the same weekend 2014.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent house, perfect for our needs”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We had a great weekend at Rose bank, thanks to the owners for helping to make my 30th birthday so special. The photo's don't do the house justice, but it's a great period property with loads of space. We did a Victorian murder mystery on the Saturday night which Margaret catered and the food was great. All in all, it was excellent value and perfect for our needs, my guests and I had a great time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenzo361
uk
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“University students would refuse to pay their rent”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
6
people found this review helpful

I can see why large families with a number of children would like this place but unless you have one of the few well appointed rooms its no better than a Youth Hostel - in the 1960s. My room had nothing other than a bed and small table - no storage at all, othrer than a peg on the back of the door and no curtains on window.The toilet didnt work - it had had its water supply turned off as the valve was leaking. Turned back on started electric pumps running as pressure rose and dropped all night. Found another room next day which was filthy - cobwebs and old bits of rope hanging from ceiling - again the toilet and shower wouldnt be acceptable to students.
It needs an army of cleaners, a services manager and some sensible investment decisions to make it worth the money.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The swimming pool.
Liked least: The fact that toilets and showers didnt work properly.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2013
We have just discussed this review with the person who organised the weekend.He had no complaints and we do not recognise the room described -there is one room with no curtain but it has a blind. We can only assume they were upset at not been allocated the Master Suite.
We have a high occupancy rate with many groups returning more than once. Pre booking visits are encouraged where practical.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulesH81
Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

After a lengthy search for a property to accommodate 16 adults and 9 children, I found Rose Bank via the Holiday Lettings website.

It was perfect for our needs. Plenty of space including a large dining room, kitchen, lounge as well as great sized sleeping accomodation. We were left a large cream cake on arrival and were made very welcome.

We were extremely lucky that the weather was lovely too so made use of the generous back lawn and terrace area. Would highly recommend for large family groups and we will definitely look to arrange a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Size
Liked least: Not enough Main plates,
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing