We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice B&B in Grand Rapids, OH”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Rapids
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mill House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Grand Rapids B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Nice B&B in Grand Rapids, OH”
Reviewed 15 May 2011

My wife and I found this B&B through a 2000 publication titled 'Bed, Breakfast &Bike Midwest'. We arrived early, and parked at the Inn, while we went on our 35 mile bike ride around the area.

Once we returned to the inn, we checked in with Ron and Kathy. They were both very hospitable, and gave us a brief tour of the B&B including our room. After moving our bikes ounder the deck and putting our bags in the room, we sat outside and enjoed the patio and scenic view of the river.

The Munk's provided us with snacks, water and pop for the afternoon. They also had menu's from local restaurants so we could view what as available for dinner.

After dinner we returned to the inn, and found home made scones for dessert ... a very nice surprise and quite delicious. There were movies/DVD's available for watching in our room.

We stayed in the 'Ruth Thomas Room'. This room had a queen sized bed with a twin bed and a private bath. The room was fairly spacious, very clean and comfortable.

I rated the room a 'met my expectations', as I would have preferred a couple of chairs in the room for reading. The common area of the house is very small, and can only accomodate a few guests at a time. On a cloudy/rainy day, the house becomes somewhat 'small'.

The dining just missed an 'outstanding' rating due to the breakfast. While the breakfast scones were very good, available (choices and quantity) was very limited. Part of this may have been due to Kathy having to leave early in the morning. But overall, still a good meal.

I would recommend this B&B to others.

Room Tip: The Inn has a great website describing each room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CorndogCorndog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
72
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mt Pleasant PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2010

What a great B&B. Rooms were very comfortable and cozy. The innkeepers Ron and Kathy were welcoming and friendly. Our breakfast was yummy. From Kathy's famous soft scones to the incredible caramel bread pudding. Our meal was a feast for the eyes as well as the stomach. This was by far one of our nicest get away weekends. Plan on returning soon.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thia1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dayton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2008

Located in the well kept community of Grand Rapids, Ohio, this B/B is within a 20 minute drive of excellent restaurants, relaxing walking trails and hiking and plenty of locations for "antiquing". The innkeepers are superb; very hospitable and never over-bearing. The breakfasts are superior! This particular inn has developed a unique opportunity for pastors and individuals actively engaged in ministry; offering very nice rooms at a substantial discount. Yet, whether one is involved in ministry or not, this inn is among the best in which we have stayed.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cwmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 April 2005

Me and my fiance were highly impressed with this bed and breakfast! We stayed in the Garden Room and loved it! The owners are very nice. We fell in love with this Bed and Breakfast and the little town it is in. If you are looking for a perfect, quiet getaway where you can relax and take strolls by the water this is the perfect place for you! Their are many events to do in the area if you just reserch the weekends they are happening on. We normally go during the Community Garage Sales. Also, the BlueBird train is very close and two different parks to go to! In town all the shops are very quaint and remind you of an old fashion town. They food is wonderful! We had a snack at night and a huge breakfast in the morning outside in the warm summer air. (they also have a place insdie to eat, but it was too nice not to take advantage of it). I can not say enough wonderful things about this place and the owners! This is a must see Bed and Breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Rapids
20.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Falcon Plaza
BEST WESTERN Falcon Plaza
#2 of 5 in Bowling Green
331 reviews
36.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Toledo/Westgate
23.9 km away
Belamere Suites
Belamere Suites
#1 of 13 in Perrysburg
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Toledo Perrysburg
27.0 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Perrysburg
36.2 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Sylvania/Toledo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mill House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 24070 Front St, Grand Rapids, OH 43522-9788
Region: United States > Ohio > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill House, in a converted steam powered flour mill built in 1898, is located on the Miami and Erie Canal overlooking the Maumee, one of Ohio's scenic rivers. We offer time honored hospitality, a welcome change from the rest of our fast paced world. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing