We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pendley Manor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tring
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
342 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Stayed here over the Christmas 2011 period and thoroughly enjoyed it. Check in was smooth and the room allocated was clean and well maintained with a lovely four poster bed. The room overlooked the main car park, but there was no noise as the hotel was nowhere near full capacity.

The spa element of the hotel was not fully tested, however, we did make use of the swimming pool, sauna and hot tub.

All of the staff were very helpful and the Christmas themed evening meal and the full English breakfast went down very well indeed.

Overall, this was a pleasant getaway and I would recommend this Hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing break in pleasant surroundings.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAE467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
TAE467 – Thanks for reviewing your visit. I am pleased to read that you found your bedroom to be clean and comfortable, and that you enjoined both dinner and breakfast. Thanks also for your comment regarding my colleagues.
I appreciate your recommendation and hope that you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    348
    243
    147
    58
See reviews for
224
431
28
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

We decided to take an impromptu break with our 4 year old daughter, she (being 4) wanted to go to the Zoo so we opted for Whipsnade as you can drive around. We found Pendley Manor on the Whipsnade Zoo website and called to book the tickets and one nights stay; this cost £115 for the 3 tickets, 1 nights accommodation and breakfast which we thought was very reasonable as tickets alone to the zoo would be £48. We had a fab time at the zoo and headed to the hotel, when we got there we were advised that the pool and spa facilities were 'out of use' at that time as there had been a problem that was being fixed, we wanted some lunch anyway so were not too fussed at this time and were assured they should be available to use soon. Lunch was lovely, well presented and very good food. By 5.30pm and after chasing a few times the pool was finally ready (we were getting slightly concerned as part of the reason we went to this hotel was for the spa facilities) but the staff were very helpful and did call us once we could use the pool which was really lovely, clean facilities and our daughter loved it. Dinner was superb, very nice setting, friendly staff and honestly some of the nicest food I have tried. We all had a good night sleep, there was some banging going on at 8am - some more maintenance work I suspect which was ok for us as we were up but I can imagine this would not have been acceptable to all guests at this time in the morning but it may well have been emergency work? Breakfast was buffet and was freshly cooked, great selection and again very friendly staff. Check out was not until midday which meant we got another swim in. All in all a great hotel, although a 4 star hotel and very beautiful it catered to 'families' also, it must have been the manager we saw wandering around a lot and he kindly gave our daughter some chocolate gifts. The added touches, attention to detail, great food and friendly staff means we would certainly visit again and are looking for that excuse already. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
JJB01. Thank you for taking the time out to review your stay with us. Our “Whipsnade package” is very popular, I am glad that you found it to be good value and that you and your family enjoyed both the zoo and your stay with us.
I’m sorry there was a problem with the pool when you arrived and am pleased that we were able to resolve that so that our guests were able to use the facility safely without undue delay.
It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your meal experiences with us throughout your stay and of course that my colleagues were friendly and accommodating. I am sorry that your heard some “banging” – we would not normally start any noisy works until after 9am – nonetheless I’m glad you all had a good night’s sleep.
I hope your young daughter enjoyed her chocolate as much as she did the zoo and the pool.
Thanks for your kind comments – we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

We had our family Boxing Day lunch at Pendley Manor and were greased at the top of the long country drive by beautiful peacocks! Our food was exquisite and the chef was extremely kind and was happy to offer us and alternative starter to the set menu as some of our party were fussy eaters. Perfect sized portions and Presentation and taste really was first class. Staff also were exceptional, very friendly and helpful and would clearly bend over backwards to ensure we were satisfied with our experience there. The house itself wasn't as grand as I had expected although it was set in beautiful grounds together with an array of peacocks which are fascinating. We did not use the accommodation or spa (and as such have marked rooms as average but have no idea as to quality and i could not finish review without rating them) but would highly recommend dining there!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sass58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2011
Sass58 Thank you for taking the time to review your family luncheon on Boxing Day.
Your kind comments regarding the meal are much appreciated. I am pleased that Chef was able to accommodate your request for alternative starters, though for the benefit of future guests it is worth noting that he may not always be able to do so at short notice and would suggest that should there be any special request that it is arranged in advance so as to avoid any possible disappointment.
Thank you also for your recognition my colleagues, as you say it is their friendly and helpful approach that makes such a difference in delivering what I hope would be an enjoyable visit to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

Its not often you come across a place like Pendley Manor. I booked this hotel as a surprise for my boyfriend and the staff were unbelievably helpful and helped me plan the whole trip (thank you especially to Krystina!). We were given a beautiful four poster room with a fireplace so I could hang our Christmas stockings...the staff even helped me sneak in his presents whilst we went for a swim! The whole hotel is stunning and the people are the success here. The food was mouthwatering - Christmas menu stunning! - and the bar, gardens, everything was just perfect. I had no clue what to expect, but hand on heart, I so wish we could've stayed for longer...if not just for the Christmas Eve lunch- it smelt fantastic! Thank you so much to all involved, especially to the wonderful chap on front desk when we arrived who helped me with the surprise!, Lauren at dinner and Krystina in bookings. I wish you all a wonderful Christmas, thank you for making ours so perfect.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globesoprano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2011
Globesoprano – Thank you for your review, I am pleased to read that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your “surprise” stay with us. It is kind of you to comment so favourably about your room and our hotel in general. Chef and the restaurant team are grateful for your feedback and pleased that you enjoyed your meal experiences. As ever it is a delight to hear that my colleagues went out of their way to make your stay special.
Thank you for choosing Pendley Manor – I am delighted that we managed to exceed your expectations, and hope to see you again in 2012 – Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

on arrival we were greeted by a porter who collected our bags from the car and took them into reception. we checked in and were shown to our room. our room was very comfortable and clean, the bed and pillows were of very good quality and the linen was crisp and white. throughout our stay the staff were pleasant, friendly and helpfull. breakfast was delicious and was buffett style with lots of choice,and more choice was on offer from the cooked to order menu.
the lounge and bar areas were comfortably furnished with good veiws of the garden, where peacocks were roaming.
I only wish I could have stayed longer than the 2 nights that we had booked.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harveyhotelhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Harveyhotelhound . Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. It’s encouraging to read your remarks concerning your room, the Hotel’s public areas, and grounds.
Thank you also for your kind remarks concerning my colleagues, it is very motivating for us all to know that our ethos of delivering a pleasant, friendly and helpful service is appreciated by our guests.
I know you stayed two nights on this occasion – you’re very welcome to come back. We hope you will- soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Stayed at Pendly Manor 25/11/11 for 2 nights. The room was lovely and big but maybe a bit old fashioned but that was in keeping with the hotel. We had dinner the first night from the A'la carte menu and i must say it was some of the best food we have ever had. The staff are really friendly. we also tried out room service and the food was excellant. Nice spa and i had a great massage. I would highly recommend

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Barnetbuffy – Thank you. So glad that you enjoyed your visit, I’m particularly pleased to read your observation’s regarding your meal experiences and of your massage. As ever your kind remarks regarding my “friendly” colleagues are appreciated by all.
Thank you – hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend during a friend's 40th birthday party nearby - the same weekend as an RAF ball!! Our room was comfortable but in need of serious updating - upon opening the cupboard, a 1980s tv lurched forward and nearly knocked over the trouser press! There is no mini bar/fridge. Nevertheless, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our party was very professionally dealt with by Lana in the Shakespeare bar on the Saturday night, in the face of adversity (the RAF crowd on the Saturday night and a grumpy ignorant regular guest on the sunday night). Our reservation went without a hitch, Krisztina was friendly and efficient The breakfast was good with attentive staff, the pool and jacuzzi were immaculate. A special mention for Carolina too from the restaurant who was welcoming and lively, a credit to the establishment.
The Peacock room enticed us newspaper in hand to linger over cups of coffee and admire the peacocks.

Room Tip: Other reviewers have suggested asking for updated rooms - I wasnt aware of this and would ask for on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Cath34980, Thanks for posting your comments, feedback from our guests is quite invaluable to me in assessing areas which need attention so as to further improve our guest’s experiences. Whilst I am glad you found your room to be comfortable. I am conscious that some of our bedroom stock would benefit from upgrading, a project that is currently being developed.
I am of course pleased that you enjoyed your visit, and much appreciate your recognition of my colleagues – I will be sure to pass on your remarks to all three ladies. Occasionally we do encounter a guest who may be just a little grumpy, but faced with those three not many remain grumpy for long!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tring
22.3 km away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
19.1 km away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,682 reviews
4.0 km away
Premier Inn Tring Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 km away
De Vere Hunton Park
De Vere Hunton Park
#1 of 1 in Hunton Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
14.6 km away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
33.4 km away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 3 in Letchworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pendley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pendley Manor Hotel

Property: Pendley Manor Hotel
Address: Cow Lane, Tring HP23 5NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Tring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pendley Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pendley Manor is a Victorian Country Manor House, site in 35 acres of beautifully landscaped and wooded parkland; and is the perfect country retreat for leisure breaks, weddings and conferences. Our conference and banqueting facilities are suitable for up to 250 people, including outside catered events for up to 200 guests. Our newly refurbished rooms are offering a spacious modern style, ample natural light and in-room climate control. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pendley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pendley Manor Tring
Hotel Pendley Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing