We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Would live there if we could!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of THE COACH HOUSE

The Main House - The Grange. Plenty of parking on driveway
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Main House - The Grange. Plenty of parking on driveway
Front Door Galley kitchen. Combi Microwave/Oven, gas hob, kettle, toaster and washing machine.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
The Main House - The Grange. Plenty of parking on driveway
Front Door
Galley kitchen. Combi Microwave/Oven, gas hob, kettle, toaster and washing machine.
At Chiristmas. Sofa Bed out in living area.
Gate leading through to the Coach House
Dining area. Seating for 6
Living/Dining area
Living/Dining area
Bathroom. Bath with overhead shower. Excellent water pressure!
Double bedroom
Single Bedroom with Gustavian single bed.
Double set of French Doors. Nice to have open in the summer
Single Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Tring, Hertfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Steve B
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would live there if we could!”
Reviewed February 5, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I am so confused as to how I can write our honest feelings and experience at this beautiful restored "Coach House" (even its name is true in its description) without sounding like it is not genuine. BUT...we could not fault the Coach House, the location of Tring nor the Harwood family who were our hosts. Everything was simply perfect.

The booking process...to be fair...we were a little high maintenance in our requirements, but Daniela was so prompt, courteous and helpful and months before we left Australia for the UK, we felt at ease with our holiday choice.

We selected the Coach House because it looked cosy, quaint and very well presented. But nothing can prepare you for that first impression as you walk through the door. There is so much available to you that is not even included in the promotional description. Not only is there excellent wifi (FREE), but cable TV, Sky channel, Netflix and access to other movie channels (all for free as well as Virgin Movies).

The heating was excellent. There was plenty of room, and the garden was simply wonderful. We stayed for 12 nights in December and over Christmas. There were even Christmas decorations in the cottage for us to feel at home.

On arrival, Daniela and her family invited us into their home for welcome drinks and also on the day we left they all made sure they were there to say good bye. To ensure we weren't feeling lonely, we were invited over for a Christmas drink but we were busy seeing family. Instead, we were invited into their home on Christmas morning for a celebratory drink with their extended family before we headed off for our festivities.

Having said that....the bonus of the Coach House is that you have all the privacy and space you need with your own private entrance (very secure) yet, Daniela is literally next door if you need assistance but was never intrusive. It was like having a self contained cottage with concierge on call :) (Handy as we locked ourselves out one night in error, but Daniela was quick to the rescue).

Located in Tring which is a delightful village come small town. It was literally just over 30 minutes drive to Baker Street underground station where you could get secure undercover parking for 15 pounds for 24 hours because it was on the border of the congestion tax zone. So popping into London was a breeze. (There is a train station also in town). Tring had a great Tesco's. Farm Shop, its own brewery, a M&S food hall and a wonderful park for lovely country walks only 5-10 minutes walk away.

I can't say enough about this place. LOOK NO FURTHER. And as the title of this review says...if we could...it would be the ideal place to live with wonderful people as neighbours.

Thank you Daniela and family for a memorable stay and we look forward to a new found friendship :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage was perfect in every and owners were delightful hosts
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2016
Steve, Sarah and Katie,
Thank you for being such perfect guests and so much fun too. A lovely review and so glad you enjoyed your stay and we loved learning more about you, life in Oz and your onward holiday adventures up north. Look forward to seeing your news on FB and hopefully we shall see you again before not too long. Best wishes Daniela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mayjor
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem of a place”
Reviewed November 23, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Booked the coach house for my traditional pre birthday break with my school friend. Unfortunately family illness meant she couldn't come so, I thought I would go on my own. I could not have wished for a more relaxing, peaceful stay. Daniela and family are the perfect hosts. The coach house had everything even cereal which was needed on Sunday (handy hint never leave your blanched peanuts in Greek yoghurt overnight yuk!) Obviously I missed my hubby and son but I could not have felt more comfortable and secure and slept like a log in a bed with the best pillows. Tring has plenty of eating places and some Nicky Nacky shops. I also visited waddesden manor which is stunning highly recommend a visit. Families are well catered for here the toys were fab even a roll of drawing paper same as my dad used to get me many years ago! All in all a lovely stay in a lovely place owned by lovely people. Thank you so much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bed and the attention to detail
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2015
Jayne
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Guests like you are an absolute delight to have! Glad all was ok for you in the Coach House and do so hope you are able to visit again with your friend soon. Hope you have a great birthday celebrating with your boys!! Best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneD4040
Oswestry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely accommodation”
Reviewed November 3, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Had a lovely stay. Very clean. Nice not to have to bring towels etc. Even left us some biscuits and chocolates!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janton130
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation with lots of attention to detail”
Reviewed April 27, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

very friendly, helpful and attentive owners who made every effort to make our stay comfortable. Lots of attention to detail such as fresh flowers, crisp white bed linen and soft towels. Would definitely recommend this accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely finishing touches
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzie L
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“All you need for a relaxing stay”
Reviewed April 7, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a beautiful annex to a wonderful property. Access is via a separate entrance and you are not disturbed by the owners of the property at all - apart form a lovely welcome in the form of a bottle of bubbly and some chocolates.
The apartment is very well resourced with all amenities and lots of home comforts. The furniture is modern and clean - all mainly sourced from IKEA.
It is situated just a short walk from Tring - which is a quaint small town with an M+S and gift shops as well as the famous Tring Museum of stuffed animals as well as Tring Park.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2015
So glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to recharge your batteries! Look forward to possibly hosting you again. Krgds Daniela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda1201...
bath
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent choice!”
Reviewed March 18, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Our host Daniela was there to welcome us, and is a very friendly person. The Coach House matched the pictures and was a great place to stay - warm and comfortable with all the mod cons. I liked the fact that she had thought of the guest and provided cereal, teas coffee, milk etc. It was like staying in a good 4* hotel - but so much better!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything provided from food to shampoo
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland B
King's Lynn, null, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed February 26, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is the Coach House to The Grange, on the main road through Tring.
Surprisingly warm and comfortable, with lots of careful forethought on the part of the pleasant, welcoming, owner.
Well stocked for coffee, tea, and all initial requirements. Well stocked for bathroom etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing