We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced And Tacky Or "Faulty Towers" As Quoted By The Manager”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #14 of 16 Ryde B&B and Inns
Welwyn Garden City
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Overpriced And Tacky Or "Faulty Towers" As Quoted By The Manager”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

When you arrive and look at the outside it looks nice and clean with a fresh coat of paint tables and chairs on the patio.

Then we walked inside we had to book room 9 a family room for 1 night as the doubles where fully booked then the other 3 nights we stay in room 3 a double room.

Room 9 – Decoration was awful cobwebs in the ceiling carpet really dirty no lamp shades on lights, no head board and dirty marks on wall, no mirror anywhere in room. The plus side it did have a electric shower which is more than I can say for room 3.

When moving rooms the next morning the manager made a passing comment that the hotel was like faulty towers. I couldn’t agree more.

Room 3 – 1st impression better than room 9 had a mirror and headboard then we tried to open the window only to find you have to put something in the gap as there is no locks to hold it open see picture. There were a few marks on the floor and it could do with a coat of paint but the worst bit was yet to come. The shower or a drip would be a better word for it 3 days we struggled with a shower that had no pressure at all see picture why in 2012 is a hotel not using electric showers in all the rooms amazes me.

The bar downstairs was nice not much entertainment but the regulars seem a nice bunch good place to watch sport cant comment on the food as we didn’t eat in there after seeing the cleanliness of the hotel.

Hotel has potential just needs some effort put into it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    29
    20
    17
    15
See reviews for
17
23
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Mattress cheap & lumpy, bed very low. Room basic, but carpet filthy. Room warm and a central location, but parking can be difficult and room backed on to pub garden - but quiet after 11pm. Cheap, but felt like it and no breakfast included.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ryde hotels

Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The b and b is in a great central location. The bar is great with widescreen tvs howin the sport. Staff are polite and welcoming. Our room was a little disapointing, however only paying 25 pound each for one night we werent expecting much. Everything seemed clean enough but there were no spoons for our morning coffee. There is a lot of junk in hallways. We woulds consider staying again for a cheap nights stay but may on the other hand fork out a little more for a more 'grand' place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MossyJoAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altnaharra, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Was lucky enoght to find this gem slap bang in centre of town, a functioning pub, Hotel & food to boot! The ritz it aint but at the prices charged its clean & comfortable, nicely located, suitable for business stop over, small parties, weekend stop overs to enjoy the scenics of the isle of wight, & best of all when i breezed in to Town the Chef was having 'Curry & A Pint night' Tuesdays, what could be better, warmed the cockles of me heart accompanied with some lively conversation with other bar patrons, big thumbs up!

Room Tip: if stopping weekends get a room at back of the premises away fromthe high street, but not that major...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShogunJerrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Nice bar with tvs to watch sports but the main bar waitress is moody. They cook nice food and the pub is generally nice.

The rooms aren't very big and also the shower doesn't run hot water and there is no lock on the toilet door!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Lovely place and friendly staff, but PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE install electric power showers. If you're unfortunate enough to be in the shower when another guest in the Hotel uses the hot water tap, you will be left high & dry! Apart from that, nice traditional sports bar. :-)

Room Tip: If you are sensative to to people drinking and making noise, get a room away from the bar, they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAVE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We decided to have a two week Vacation in the Uk and to Visit Queen Victorias Home on the Isle of Wight when we found this gem called the Crown Hotel in a Town called Ryde .
We had read some bad reviews on TA about the place but as we were keeping the cost of our trip down we decided to give it a shot and oh boy are we glad we did.

First its not really a Hotel and to be honest if you read the Web Site it does say this, its what the Brits call a Inn so no fancy stuff in the rooms but they were clean, roomy good TV and free wifi for getting e-mails back home.
There was a good restraunt where a English breakfast was less than $3 dollars and on the Sunday we tried there Carvery which was less than $8 dollars ,as a beef eater I have to say it was really tasty Their Menu is really varied and good value.
Its location in the centre of the town is great and their selection of beers and largers is the best weve seen.
We had a great time, good room, good food,and found the staff more than helpful for getting around the Isle of wight ,so would we reccomend it ,sure we would, at $75 bucks a night for two in a en-suite room ive paid more for a bad motel in the US.

Room Tip: Our room was 6 at the rear very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margret s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
0.4 km away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
0.5 km away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.1 km away
Yelf's Hotel
Yelf's Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ryde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Parkbury Hotel
Parkbury Hotel
#14 of 29 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.4 km away
Dorset Hotel
Dorset Hotel
#2 of 16 in Ryde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.3 km away
Kasbah
Kasbah
#6 of 16 in Ryde
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: 10 St. Thomas Square, Ryde PO33 2PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel is a old building that was built in 1849 and is now a large Public House with accommodation above. It is family run with a 5 star kitchen award plus a Silver award for Best Bar None, in May the Hotel was awarded the Punch Taverns Quality award then in June 2012 it was awarded the Cask Mark. It is famous in Ryde for its English Breakfast and lunch menu. All Rooms have been upgraded including new carpets,beds and furniture, Tea & coffee, flat screen TVs with free view and Sky Sports are also included. Wifi is also provided free of charge. En-suite rooms hsve power showers . Breakfast is not included in the cost but can be purchased in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing