We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Priory Bay Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaview Hotel(Seaview)
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Esplanade Hotel(Ryde)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$69
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Yelf's Hotel(Ryde)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$95
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    US$87
    US$85
    Travelocity
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Savings alert! 21% below average rates

    The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$107/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    US$105
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Savings alert! 10% below average rates

    The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$117/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    US$94
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Best Western Royal Beach Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
    US$64
    US$54
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Savings alert! 19% below average rates

    The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$67/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    Reviews (426)
    Filter reviews
    426 results
    Traveller rating
    199
    77
    62
    56
    32
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    199
    77
    62
    56
    32
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsgolf courseisle of wighttennis courtsevening mealislandseapathwoodlandlawns
    Filter
    Updating list...
    318 - 323 of 426 reviews
    Reviewed December 8, 2011

    The Priory Bay hotel is in a stunning location, with views across the Solent and extensive grounds. We stayed in room 4, which was spacious and very comfortable. Dinner was delicious, we chose the 3 course a la carte, but a 5 course 'tasting' menu is also available. From the moment we arrived, staff were friendly and courteous and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Service was faultless.
    The furnishings and seating arrangements in the lounges and bar area were comfortable and well set out, giving a cosy feel, complete with log fire.
    We were locals enjoying a special night out, but the Priory Bay attracts many visitors from the mainland, who enjoy its exclusivity and seclusion. It is even possible to arrive by helicopter or boat!
    A substantive, tasty breakfast was taken overlooking the huge garden and we were entertained by red squirrels feeding and scampering among the trees.
    This was a lovely stay and I can wholeheartedly recommend this hotel. We shall be back!

    Room Tip: Room 4 is very spacious, yet comfortable with excellent views through 5 large windows
    • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank SandyIsleofWight
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed November 21, 2011

    We went to the Priory Bay Hotel in October, out of school holiday season, and it was our first trip to the Isle of Wight. We stayed in a room with views in five different directions (work that one out!) and we loved watching the lights of the ships out at sea at night. I have to admit that five windows made the room feel a bit like a goldfish bowl, but we put the shutters over the unusual octagonal one (that had had a huge bird strike) and felt a bit less exposed. There was a very ornate carved wooden panel above the bed, which could have done with some dusting, but generally we were very pleased with the size of the room and the bathroom. Being out of season the hotel and restaurants felt a bit empty, but that's not their fault. The staff we found to be all very friendly, smiley and helpful, without exception, one even going out of her way to help us find the tourist information room and give us useful tips on what to visit. We also appreciated the fact that the hotel gives one or two young, inexperienced people a chance to work, under supervision - everyone has to get experience somehow!

    • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Anna T
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed November 17, 2011

    this is the most amazing building in an amazing position but that is where it ends. We stayed 2 nights in room 4, supposedly the best in the hotel, although from the outset it is a beautiful room with fantastic views, once you start looking at the details it goes downhill. Tatty decor, cheap linen, plastic flowers and a leather travel trunk that looks as though it wouldnt make it out the door let alone off the island.
    On arrival we ordered drinks to be brought up to the room, after 45 mns we called recpetion to be told they were forgotten, i assume that if the older chap on reception cant remember to bring his smile or personality to work then why should he remember our drinks! 30 minutes more and the wrong drinks arrived with The Kitchen Porter(?), no english so no point in requesting anything different.
    Dinner was OK, the hype they make about the Island Room is not worth it, ok food, tatty walls, floor, chairs and curtains, dire service and pricey. The only saving grace is the french (we think) restaurant manager - good humor and wine knowledge.
    The Breakfast chef needs a gold medal as this was one of the best ever but again tatty walls, floor, tables and chairs. on a sunny morning breakfast on the terrace would be stunning with the distant sea views - BUT, youre not allowed to eat outside!
    The receptionist on departure has the same problem with remembering his smile but maybe he is too embarrased about the state of his place of work to smile while taking nearly £800 from me.
    I dont know who owns the dogs that seem to live on site but if i wanted to walk in dog poo and have them poke thier nose in while in the garden, drawing room, car park, i would have bought my own.
    This place has so much potential that with just a bit of cash spending on everything, the staff might smile and the place would be bussier and then maybe worth the price tag.

    Room Tip: 4 is ok, aparantly 12 is good.
    • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    5  Thank Garth M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed November 2, 2011

    We had a lovely weekend break at Priory Bay. We have two very lively small children and stayed in a beautiful converted tithe barn next to the main hotel so could relax despite all the shouting and general hurly-burly. The food was great and they went to great lengths to come up with food that my very fussy four year old would eat. I felt the staff were exceptionally kind and warm to us and it helped me relax. It was expensive but I felt that the price was not excessive given the level of care and attention that was taken. They also referred us to an excellent baby sitting service and the nanny that looked after the children both evenings was really wonderful. I'm planning on going back - possible to try 'glamping' in one of their yurts next summer, if they do them again. Also, a wonderful beach, and a great falconry display.

    • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Rachel Y
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed October 14, 2011

    Stayed for three nights and enjoyed two large bedrooms 17 and 19 in the old part of the manor. A maximum of six steps for invalid father to negotiate but staff very helpful with assistance. Character building and beautiful setting and walk down to wide beach. Golf course has some way to go before adequately maintained. Breakfast and oyster restaurant menu good.

    • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank John G
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews