We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, lovely hotel”
Review of Priory Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Priory Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Seaview
Woking
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, lovely hotel”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Priory Bay Hotel. The hotel is situated in large, beautiful grounds, including a large private beach approx. 5 minutes' walk through the grounds. Our room was fine and the bathroom was large. Breakfasts and dinners good. Staff helpful and friendly.
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    77
    62
    56
    31
See reviews for
135
172
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Have just returned after a mini break at this hotel. It really is a hidden treasure! Fantastic setting just a short walk from the hotel's private beach. Our newly decorated rooms were very comfortable and stylish, although the shower was a little weak. Both service and food were very good, and the staff so friendly, helpful and informative about the history of the hotel. This was our second stay and we will definitely return again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1mel20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed in on of the beachfront yurts for our wedding anniversary and couldn't fault it! They were super luxury, the staff were fantastic and did everything they could to make our stay wonderful. We stayed one night in may 2012 and were so lucky with the weather. The yurts are really spacious, gorgeous bathroom and terrace with a view of a lovely private beach! We will definitely be returning to the yurts!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a beachfront one for the sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Rooms reserved online with some reservations! Some online reviews had been critical but now it is difficult to see why. Each of our three rooms were splendid, service unobtrusive but fun, professional and efficient.Food so much better than some reviews had suggested..in fact really very good by any standard. Beautiful grounds, private beach, relaxing resident's areas, Priory Bay exceeded even our higher hopes and expectations.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed in one of the luxury yurts at the Priory Bay Hotel that are put up in the summer and can thoroughly recommend it. Spent the evening sat on the yurt's deck over looking the sea, watching red squirrels run around the trees. The staff were really welcoming and on hand if we needed anything, but otherwise left us to enjoy the quirky, fun, romantic escape.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We stayed at the Priory Bay Hotel for two nights earlier this week. Despite feeling like we might have lowered the average age of the clientele by a couple of decades we had a brilliant time. We stayed in the yurt that overlooked the hotel's own private beach. Beautifully decorated room, lovely bathroom with a roll-top bath, little balcony that was perfect for sipping champagne on in the afternoon... the ladies who run the yurts were really friendly. We watched red squirrels playing in the trees, played croquet and boules on the main hotel lawn, and decided the eat in the hotel restaurant (Priory Oyster Bar & Grill) as the food and service were excellent (decor in there so-so, but food more than made up for it). Breakfasts were great too - good selection on the help-yourself table and full English breakfasts available. Obviously it helped that the weather was absolutely beautiful, but we will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We lunched there with some friends of ours who live on the island. We didn't go to the Priory as our first choice but were very pleasantly surprised . At first sight the dining room seemed a bit tired but the food and service was excellent. The risotto was excellent and my husband's salmon fishcake probably the best fishcake he has ever eaten. We just had one course each and it was just right. We then went into the drawing room for coffee. This is a fabulous room - as other reviewers have said it is just the place to curl up with a book. There were excellent magazines on offer and we could all have wiled away the afternoon. The afternoon tea menu looked excellent and we plan on going back soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Intrepidtravellers_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaview
1.3 km away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
447 reviews
14.9 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
849 reviews
10.7 km away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
14.2 km away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
455 reviews
14.9 km away
North House
North House
#2 of 5 in Cowes
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priory Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Bay Hotel

Property: Priory Bay Hotel
Address: Priory Croft Priory Road, Seaview PO34 5BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Seaview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Seaview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Priory Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Priory Bay is the Isle of Wight's leading country house hotel. Set within a 60-acre estate, it's period buildings have spectacular views out to sea, with gardens and woodland running down to the bay. It inspires our chefs to use the finest seasonal ingredients, whether foraged, farmed or fished we are passionate about local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Priory Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Bay Seaview
Hotel Priory Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing